We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,382)
Filter reviews
2,382 results
Traveller rating
1,520
722
112
17
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,520
722
112
17
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews best western canada around the corner free nibbles castro pretoria train station castro pretorio bar prices hotel bar excellent hotel pastries close to termini breakfast room room was large breakfast was excellent three star convenient location every evening
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 2,382 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2019

Our travel agent recommended staying at a BW Premier property and we were thrilled with our stay. We got an excellent rate by reserving through the US site many months out. Key for us was getting a quad room with 2 twin beds for our teen son and daughter, who understandably want their own beds. Our room was great -well appointed and roomy. The breakfast was not included but was great value at 6Euro per person - and so much delicious food. All of the staff were welcoming and friendly. The location is near the train station so not the most high end neighborhood, but we had no issues walking on the main streets at night. The hotel is around the corner from a Metro stop that easily takes you to the center of Rome - we usually took it in the morning and walked back averaging 9-10 miles walking daily. We would stay here again or try another BW Premier property in Rome or other places in Europe.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Regina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silviaPPPP, Proprietario at BW Premier Collection Hotel Canada - Roma, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2019

Dear Ms Regina G,

We would like to thank you for the nice review.
We're happy you appreciated the quadruple room we chose for you, the breakfast and our location.
We are pleased to inform you that our property is part of Best Western Premium Collection. It is a soft brand composed by exclusive properties all around the world. Best Western recently invited us to join this brand due to our 18th century building and our way of representing the classic Italian style.

We thank you again and we look forward to your next family stay with us!

Yours sincerely,

Pucci Family
HOTEL CANADA ROMA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2018

The furnishing were old but in wonderful condition. New bathroom fixtures. Great elevator!! The staff was excellent from housekeeping to the barman with the hot afternoon snacks. Great location for the train and bus station and for the hop on and off bus. Would definitely return.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank debmarkpradine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silviaPPPP, Proprietario at BW Premier Collection Hotel Canada - Roma, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2019

Dear Mr/Ms debmarkpradine,

We would like to thank you for the nice review you wrote.
We're glad you appreciated our location and the fantastic Staff. They definitely are our best value.
We couldn't be happier you enjoyed your Roman holidays.

We thank you again and we look forward to your next stay in the Eternal City.

Kind regards,

Pucci Family
HOTEL CANADA ROMA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2018

The story goes that the owner came to Canada, made lots of money, returned to Rome and through a program with Government built the hotel to its present state. He did it well Named after the country he did well in, this 72 room hotel is centrally located, just 10 minutes from Rome's main train, bus and metro station. The staff are all friendly and helpful. The lounge off the lobby is large with a bar. The rooms are comfortable and reached by an old time elevator which is worth the ride just for the experience. Breakfast is continental but bacon and eggs are on the menu. Lots of restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. With the Termini just minutes away it is still good advise to take a taxi to the hotel instead of walking especially if you have heavy luggage. Taxi will cost you between 7-8 euros. As a Canadian proud to have this fine establishment named after my country.

Date of stay: October 2018
1  Thank brian p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silviaPPPP, Proprietario at BW Premier Collection Hotel Canada - Roma, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2019

Dear Mr brian p,

We would like to thank you for your unique review.
We couldn't be prouder and happier you told part of our family's story. We are pleased to inform you that Mr and Mrs Pucci lived in Montréal for almost fifteen years of their life running a bistrot there. Once they came back to Rome (they missed the Eternal City too much!), they opened the Hotel Canada, in 1962. At the beginning, it counted only a few rooms, and then, year after year, they managed to grow and to have the entire building with 72 rooms.
The elevator you mentioned is the original one of the building. With lots of maintenance works, we try to keep its original charm.
We're extremely happy you enjoyed your experience in our Hotel.

We thank you again and we look forward to meeting you soon during your next stay in Rome.

Kind regards,

Pucci Family
HOTEL CANADA ROMA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2018 via mobile

After a comically long trip (why did we think flying Tucson to LAX to Heathrow to Fiumicino was a good idea!) we showed up here smelling like bridgetrolls and feeling like death warmed over- also, not mentally sharp. The reception was LOVELY. Professional, pleasant, helpful, and fast.

The location was perfect for anyone traveling by train- an easy walk from the train station. We had booked a very basic room as we were only here for one night, and the room was gorgeous- well beyond expectations. The bed was very comfortable and we both slept really, especially for being jet lagged. The double paned windows kept out all of the street noise. The shower was perfect- tall enough for my 6’9” husband to shower comfortably, excellent water pressure, no issues with water temperature.

I didn’t notice the bar (which given my level of enthusiasm for a drink and a nibble is a sign of how exhausted I was) but the breakfast buffet was beyond wonderful. A screaming deal at 6€, with plenty of fruit and veg, fresh rolls and breads, lovely coffee- just great.

I would stay in this hotel again in a heartbeat, and for longer. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank sybil_unrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silviaPPPP, Proprietario at BW Premier Collection Hotel Canada - Roma, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2019

Dear Ms sybil_unrest,

We would like to thank you for the excellent review you wrote.
We're glad you appreciated the room we chose for your one -day and jet lagged stay and our location.
Above all, we're happy you mentioned the professionalism and the kindness of our Staff. They do an hard daily work in order to make our guests' stays the best possible. And they definitely are our best value.

We thank you again and we look forward to your next stay (..during which you should try our Canadian Bar!)

Yours sincerely,

Pucci Family
HOTEL CANADA ROMA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2018 via mobile

I arrived late for an overnight stop. The staff were really very courteous and helpful. The room was beautifully old fashioned but in an elegant way, but is modern at the same time with connectivity and modern lighting. What really struck me was the cleanliness. It really was remarkable. There were beautiful frescos on the ceiling and a 4 poster bed in the room that really didn’t look out of place. The hotel is very close to the Termini main train station. The staff offered to hold my bags while I go out to work. Will definitely come here with the family for a weekend.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Clive1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silviaPPPP, Proprietario at BW Premier Collection Hotel Canada - Roma, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2019

Dear Mr Clive1974,

We would like to thank you for the fantastic review you wrote.
We're extremely happy you appreciated the classic Italian style room we chose for you and the commitment of our Staff.
We're glad you mentioned the cleanliness of the rooms. It allows us to show our gratitude for our housekeeping Staff, who works hard every day in order to make our guests' stays the best possible.
Since 1962, our mission has always been the same: make our guests feel like at home.

We thank you again and we hope to meet you soon again (..maybe during your holiday time!)

Kind regards,

Pucci Family
HOTEL CANADA ROMA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews