We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Interesting Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora
Ranked #165 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora is located in the heart of Rome, within the historic city walls and on the ritzy Via Veneto. Unknown to me prior to our trip is the fact that this area is one of the most expensive areas of Rome. As a result, there are a lot of overpriced restaurants on the street, as well as high-end retailers. The US Embassy is also on the street, and is about a 5 minute walk away. The nearest metro station is a 10-15 minute walk away, while both the Trevi Fountain and Spanish Steps are about a 15 minute walk away as well.

Anyway, back to the property. The Flora is located in a historic building built in 1909. The decor of the property is decidedly on the historic side as well. Despite the historic decor, though, the property does have updated technology, including wireless and wired high-speed internet access and flatscreen HDTVs. Despite this, however, the climate control system is, unfortunately, antiquated. You are unable to set your own temperature; the system is centralized with a central control. You can, however, alter the temperature slightly by +/- 2 degrees and are able to control the fan speed.

Beyond the technology, the room is pretty old looking. I'm not talking about the historic feeling either. The furniture, carpet, and drapes throughout the property looked tired and worn. A refresh is long overdue. Otherwise, the rooms are nice and have a good amount of features. In my one stay here, I had a Jr Suite. Unfortunately, the room was facing the interior courtyard and thus had no view. However, the room did have a separate living room, separate bedroom with king bed and a decent sized bathroom with shower/tub combo. Despite having a single vanity, the bathroom did have a towel warming rack in the shower/tub combo and a bidet. Next to the bathroom is a decent sized closet with the safe and some drawers. Note: the in-room safes in this hotel aren't large enough to lockup a 15" laptop. Oh, and watch out for those towel heaters! Nearly burned myself once or twice! There's also no drying line in the bathroom incase you need to wash something. Another interesting note is the lack of unoccupied electrical outlets in the room. And those that were available often stopped supplying power when the lights were turned off... good thing there's a door between the bedroom and living room so we could leave the lights on in there and let the phones/cameras charge while we slept!

Service wise, this property is a mixed bag. The front desk staff was pretty unfriendly when we checked in, but changed their attitude towards us later in our stay. The doormen were mixed, some being friendly and others not. The maids, though, are very friendly, and for our room, we received daily housekeeping AND turndown service. Turndown service also came with amazing chocolates made by none other than Italian chocolatier Venchi! The turndown service wasn't so much a turndown as a secondary room cleaning, but that's ok.

Perhaps what was most odd about this property was the food service. The whole property seems to revolve around their restaurant, the Cabiria. In fact, when you turn on your TV for the first time, it will say the Cabiria Restaurant welcomes you! The restaurant is opened for lunch and dinner and closes between the two services, though we didn't try. The menu is rather limited (in my opinion) and while they say they are Michelin rated (though not starred), I couldn't find them in the 2013 guide. I also felt it was overpriced, but again, I didn't try it for myself.

So what about breakfast? Well this property has no Concierge Lounge, though Platinums (not sure about Golds) do get complimentary breakfast daily at the rooftop dining facility. Getting to breakfast, though, can be a challenge, as there are no instructions on how to get there and the staff didn’t inform us of how to get there either. That being said, to get to the rooftop dining facility you’ll need to either take the stairs, or the elevator. However, the property has 3, tiny elevators; 1 bank of 2 and a single elevator on the opposite side of the building. Only the single elevator will take you to the 10th floor rooftop, the other 2 elevators don’t go that high. Once you get to the rooftop, you’ll have to track down a staff member to get a table. They’ll also ask you for your room number for billing purposes. If it isn’t too cold, I’d sit outside and enjoy the gorgeous view!

The view, however, is where to good ends. Service (for me anyway) was really indifferent to poor. Once the employee sat us and then sat someone else on our table when we were getting food, though I made it obvious that the table was taken. Their response? “You need table?!” Nice… The food, unfortunately, doesn’t fare much better. All egg dishes are overcooked and dry, the waffles & pancakes are dry and/or burned, the bacon is often partially raw and partially crisp, fruits tended to be unripe, etc. The positive, though, was the presence of a mimosa bar! Also included is tea or coffee service. Oh, and don’t bother with the smoked salmon. It was quite fishy! Sweet items were also VERY sweet. By far, this was the worst breakfast service I had on my entire trip, which was disappointing from what is supposed to be a rather upscale, palatial property. So if you aren’t an Elite that qualifies for free breakfast, don’t bother. It isn’t worth the 20Euro/person fee.

Would I stay here again? I'm not sure. The property is such a mixed bag, but the only other Marriott in the city is even worst. Perhaps if I ever return, I should try a boutique hotel instead.

Room Tip: Interior facing rooms are quieter than exterior facing rooms.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kharada46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina L, Assistant to GM at Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear kharada46,


Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora. Our Management personally verified your remarks.

We are very sorry to hear that during your recent stay you did not enjoy our morning breakfast on our roof top terrace with breath-taking view at the 7th floor. We are pleased to inform you that complimentary breakfast is extended to all our Platinum and Gold members .

Please note that the electrical items, the climate control system and the safe size comply with the Marriott standards. All the electrical items inside the rooms can be put and kept in operation simply inserting and leaving the room key card into the slot, with no need to leave the lights on.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you have experienced with our devices and facilities which did not make you feel completely comfortable during your stay.
Customer’s feedback is taken very seriously and guest satisfaction is our highest priority.

For any further visit, please do not hesitate to contact our General Manager at the contact details provided below. We will do our utmost to make your next stay a real memorable one.

Thanking you once again for giving your preference to Grand Hotel Flora, I send you

My best regards,

Cristina Loiaconi
Assistant to General Manager
Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora | Via V. Veneto, 191 | Rome
Tel: +39 (0)6 489929 | Fax: +39 (0)6 4820359 info@grandhotelflora.net marriott.com/romdt| grandhotelflora.net | snghotels.it facebook.com/pages/Rome-Marriott-Grand-Hotel-Flora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,473)
There are newer reviews for Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

645 - 651 of 1,473 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

The Flora Rome Hotel is very well located, away from the crowds, but not to far from spanish steps, Villa Borghese and Fontana di Trevi. The staff is very lovely and try to please you all the time. The room is good - although it could be bigger. The bathroom is well equiped, but the shower needs to be refurbished. The breakfast is good, but I´ve been in other Marriotts before and I´m sure they could make lots of improvement in this area. Overall, I think it´s a very nice option when ir Rome: no suprises and a friendly staff. But do not expect so much from the breakfast, except the view.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMVoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

What a great hotel. We had a wonderful time in Rome made very special because of this fine hotel. Breakfast in the beautiful roof top location with views of Rome and amazing food and service started each day off on the right foot. We highly recommend the Marriott Grand Hotel Flora to anyone wanting an exceptional experience.

Lynne Nelson

Room Tip: Rooms were smallish but very elegant.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 694LynneN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed five nights at the Grand Flora just as spring arrived. The staff upgraded us to a junior suite on the 1st floor (really the 2nd) facing the Via Veneto. The thick walls and double paned glass made the room peaceful while being at tree top level, so we could watch the "beautiful people, crazy drivers, and the Borghese Gardens without being disturbed.
Bernardo and the front desk staff were helpful and unfailingly courteous even when I asked them to book and rebook a dinner reservation at a restaurant known to be a difficult table to get. There were several college trainees that were working in various jobs around the hotel that proved the value of Marriott's training as they jumped to research any request I had they didn't already know the answer to.
The roof garden/ breakfast room is worth a visit on its own just for the spectacular view of the gardens, St Peters and the Aurelian Wall!
We loved it!

Lisa & Joe

Room Tip: We were in 109. Generous space, although the furniture was dated. Quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elisabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

From the moment we walked in till the time we left we felt so very welcomed! Bernardo, Andrea, Chiara, Antonio, Giovanni, in fact all of the personnel made us feel like we were old friends. They recommended the best gelato store as well as very accessible restaurants. Our room was a delight! We had a corner room overlooking world famous tree trimmed Via Veneto as well as the side street, the bed super comfortable and clean, the bathroom excellent in every way. The breakfast buffet as well as the roof top view of Rome breathtaking. Fortunately the weather was the best we could ask for, when we returned to the hotel in the evenings they had the fireplace going and we sat there to relax and comment of our days adventures. Overall our stay at this superb hotel was everything we had hoped for and more!

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor, at first I thought it would not have a nice view, I was pleasantly...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Hotel staff is possibly the best in Rome. This is my 3rd stay at this hotel and I feel like I am visiting family. If you need anything Massimo has it covered. I was very impressed with the way in which he values the customer needs before his own. Room was pretty nicely sized and very clean. Most importantly the air conditioning works well and the bed is super comfortable. Easy walk to Spanish steps and Villa Borghese and fast access to the subway and bus stops. Via Veneto is very safe and English is spoken well. Roof top breakfast can be breath taking, Giovanni has things well run up there. Do not under estimate The Cabiria restaurant the food is excellent and Gianni is a top notch bartender. They will serve you well and show you the best of Rome.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the park are quiet and some are larger than the standard rooms
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CVworldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very nice with an excellent view from the rooftop breakfast site. It is also open in the evening for relaxing but no service.

The breakfast is a diverse layout as you might expect from a hotel with the clientele they have.

Our room was a bit small, but other than that first rate. They have an interesting art exhibit going on now.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Breach21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
#141 of 1,267 in Rome
938 reviews
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rome Marriott Park Hotel
#357 of 1,267 in Rome
2,012 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#60 of 1,267 in Rome
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora

Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 191, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in Rome
#99 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#114 Family Hotel in Rome
#117 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £210 - £521 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora - il cuore di Via Veneto batte in altoImmerse in your personal "Dolce Vita" at the Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora, right on top of the noble Via Veneto and next door to the Villa Borghese gardens.This gracious edifice with the stylish decor capturing the grandeur of Neoclassicism is exclusively designed for those looking for refined luxury in an atmosphere of sophistication and the highest level of welcoming hospitality anticipating every need of today's business or leisure traveller.Just sink back in the timeless elegance of the superbly appointed rooms and relax, or delight in the culinary highlights of the Mediterranean cuisine at the restaurant The Cabiria. The adjoining bar is the ideal place to meet, to see, or be seen, or to take in the flamboyant atmosphere of Via Veneto.The rooftop Ailanto is the perfect setting for wedding receptions and exclusive celebrations, or simply for admiring the enchanting view over the roofs of the Eternal city.Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora - right on the top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Flora Hotel Rome
Marriott Hotel Rome
Marriott Hotel Grand Flora
Marriott Rome
Rome Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing