We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel but needs to be cleaned up” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora
Ranked #143 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but needs to be cleaned up”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel is in a great location. It's in a row with a lot of other classy hotels and lots of nice restaurants down the street. It definitely has a classy feel to it but there are some serious shortcomings considering it runs at over 300 Euro per night. Our bathroom was not cleaned properly. Upon arrival there was someone else's hair in the bathtub. The door of the bathroom was filthy and there was a dead fly on the dresser. Also it amazes me that this level of hotel continues to charge for wifi.

Room Tip: We faced the city wall which was quiet. If you pull the shutters (outside) across it helps keep it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrequentFlier1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    696
    428
    156
    50
    18
See reviews for
268
672
33
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Beautiful old hotel in the via Veneto, excellent location. Staff friendly and helpful, always with a smile, only compliments for them, however, on arrival was assigned a room on the first floor.
The room was small and dark, needed the lights on. Faced an inner courtyard, didn't mind at first as I was staying only one night, for work, and happy to have a quiet room, but when I tried to make a phone call with my gsm there was no signal, neither with my iPad, so I went up to the hall and my phone was working perfectly. Asked to have my room changed and they accomodated me immediately, and when I explained the lack of phone signal and told them my room number they immediately moved me to the third floor. Room spacious, quiet and sunny. Another world, like climbing out of the bowels of the earth, and the phone worked fine.
Bathroom ok, not many bath products but enough, no slippers no bathrobe which I would have expected for 293€ a night.
Breakfast the next morning was a buffet on the roof terrace with a spectacular view of Rome. Buffet sadly disappointing. A great variety of food but all sub standard. Fresh fruit was two kinds of melon and pineapple,without flavour, and peaches, apricots and prunes in syrup plus a fruit salad out of a tin. This is Italy, in July, when fresh peaches, plums, apricots, cherries and what have you are all available, why the standard commonplace melons? No cereals or muesli. Moving on to the hot dishes: greasy supermarket bacon, doubtful frankfurters, scrambled eggs and omelettes all obviously made with powdered eggs, inedible to my taste. Didn't try the waffles or the pancakes as they didn't look inviting. Cold cuts: cheap boiled ham, the reconstituted kind that comes in a block, prosciutto and mortadella of the same level, and slices of three kinds of processed cheese, in a region famous for its pecorino Romano, ricotta, not to mmension the delicious buffalo mozzarella's from nearby Campania and other cheese products. What happened to 'shop local'? Or is that only a European concept?Fruit juices were concentrated, no freshly pressed orange juice. Three industrial looking cakes and cornetti that you could get in any cafè down the street. Having a bottle of cheap champagne on the buffet close to the neon pink smolked salmon is no compensation, but then, I'm a breakfast junkie, so maybe I'm too fussy.
Dreadful piped music, had to ask the waitress to turn it down as there was no escaping it, not even on the terrace, and no one wants a heavy beat resonating before the first caffeine shot.
The tea was good, and when I asked the waitress to put the tea in the pot and add the boiling water instead of bringing the usual pot of tepid water with a selection of tea bags on the side, she looked a bit worried, asked me if English Breakfast was ok then served me with a smile, and the espresso was excellent. Didn't try the so called american coffee.
Come on guys, you can do better than this, this is Rome after all, and surely you want Europeans to stay here too?
Oh, wifi costs 9€ a day. As if one intended to spend the day inside the hotel surfing the web. A bit steep, considering that in Italy even most B&B's will supply free wifi. After all, we just want to check our emails then go out on the town.

Room Tip: As for a Room above the first floor and avoid room 158 like the plague
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Theresa55051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina L, Front Office Manager at Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your experience with Marriott Grand Hotel Flora.

I apologize that your breakfast experience was not satisfactory and appreciate your feedback. Your note has been forwarded to our Food and Beverage Manager.

I would like to inform you that the Internet charge is 9.00 Euro per stay and complimentary for our Gold and Platinum Members.

We are looking forward to your future visit and do not hesitate to contact me personally during your next stay.

Sincerely,

Yolanda Wyss
Front-Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

This is a wonderful hotel in Rome. It is right next to the Borghese gardens. The staff is extremely attentive and helpful. The concierge was extremely helpful with tips on the best way to visit the key sites in Rome.

The only area for improvement is the breakfast. But what a great place to have breakfast! On the roof top of the building with wonderful views of the entire city.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Truly enjoyed our stay here. I'm not sure if it is because it is competing with, well, ROME, or what, but I did leave with a bit of indifference. Nothing major stood out as far as service was concerned; this is not a bad thing but I wish it wasn't the case. The same for the accommodations themselves, food and beverage offerings, etc... I think there could be more "wow" put into this experience. However, we would recommend the property and did enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bethany R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwood, South Carolina
Level Contributor
358 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We enjoyed a very brief stay that this beautiful Marriott on Via Veneto. From Massimo, the concierge and Allesandra at the reception desk, to the doormen, to those in the piano bar and ristorante . . . it was just perfect. We highly recommend this hotel and will certainly stay at the Grand Flora again when we return to Rome!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RW P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
158 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

As dual Marriott gold members, we've stayed in more than a few dozen Marriotts with few good or bad surprises. The Grand Flora had good surprises. They work hard to balance Marriott comforts with Rome personality. Breakfast is served with champagne and mimosas on a terrace with a 300 degree view of Rome rooftops and seven hills. Hotel is located at the end of the famous Via Veneto at the city wall. This is at the entrance to the Borghese Gardens. Also an easy walk to Spanish steps. Classic building with subtle, but interesting, outside architecture. Beautiful marble bath. We overlooked Via Veneto with great views for people watching. Concierge was very helpful regarding restaurants, transportation and translation -- even telling me where my husband was when I came down at breakfast time. Bar is quiet zone with calming pianist at end of long, but enjoyable day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RAPJJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We used Marriott reward points to stay here. We had to book two rooms because room is limited to two people when you use points. Our stay included breakfast which was very disappointing. The staff was very nice and most spoke English well. Some of the 6th floor rooms have balconies which we really enjoyed looking out onto the city from. The views from the hotel top floor were great too if you don't get the 6th floor. There's a free telescope that you can use up there. Its about a 5-10 minute walk to the subway. There's a Hard Rock Cafe down the street as well as many pizza, pasta, & gelato restaurants within walking distance. We tried many pizza places in the area. I really liked Alice's pizza and it was very reasonable. If you walk across the street towards Harry's Bar & go down the escalator you will find a grocery store where you can buy waters, sodas and snack to save on some of the ridiculous prices the gift shops charge.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ultra-travelpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rome Marriott Park Hotel
#397 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
#172 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#56 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora

Property: Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora
Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 191, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in Rome
#83 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#114 Family Hotel in Rome
#117 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora - il cuore di Via Veneto batte in altoImmerse in your personal "Dolce Vita" at the Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora, right on top of the noble Via Veneto and next door to the Villa Borghese gardens.This gracious edifice with the stylish decor capturing the grandeur of Neoclassicism is exclusively designed for those looking for refined luxury in an atmosphere of sophistication and the highest level of welcoming hospitality anticipating every need of today's business or leisure traveller.Just sink back in the timeless elegance of the superbly appointed rooms and relax, or delight in the culinary highlights of the Mediterranean cuisine at the restaurant The Cabiria. The adjoining bar is the ideal place to meet, to see, or be seen, or to take in the flamboyant atmosphere of Via Veneto.The rooftop Ailanto is the perfect setting for wedding receptions and exclusive celebrations, or simply for admiring the enchanting view over the roofs of the Eternal city.Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora - right on the top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Flora Hotel Rome
Marriott Hotel Rome
Marriott Hotel Grand Flora
Marriott Rome
Rome Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing