We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our home in Italy!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora
Ranked #144 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Our home in Italy!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

As travelers to Europe, most ask us why we always stay at American hotels. The Grand Flora is the reason on the gorgeous Via Veneto! We have been back to Rome 5 times in the last 8 years and each year we choose the Marriott Grand Flora because of its wonderful location, fabulous staff and as all of the reviewers mention, the most gorgeous rooftop view for breakfast one could wish for! Our family feels as if we fell in love with Rome one breakfast morning as we could see every direction of Rome from this rooftop restaurant that has both inside and outside tables. Not only is the Grand Flora a gorgeous hotel with a staff that couldn't be more wonderful, it is perfectly located to bus lines, the metro, and neighborhood grocery stores, and wonderful neighborhood restaurants and gelato!!! This property has really made our visit to Rome, our home away from home, plus super fast internet which is always a plus for American travelers that can't ever be "disconnected" from the office! And this year, since we have done most of the tourist sites, we combined some of the more tourist sites with sending our 18 and 22 year old daughters to Italian cooking school, went outside of the city limits to visit an old convention hotel my husbands parents stayed at years ago and also attended an outdoor opera at the Baths of Caracalla which was unbelievably fabulous! Honestly, there is nothing that the Grand Flora lacks and you will not be disappointed if you choose this most wonderful of properties!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTSBMTSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    722
    435
    163
    52
    19
See reviews for
283
685
35
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley Lake, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Beautiful unique hotel with a great location. Best breakfast on top of the hotel with a fantastic view of the city. Located within walking distance of restaurants and other historic landmarks. Very charming place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frederick, maryland
Level Contributor
658 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 547 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a week and this hotel was excellent. As Marriott Platinum members we also felt the "Marriott love" with an automatic upgrade to a room with our own patio. We also had complimentary rooftop breakfast, with spectacular views of Rome. The suite was very comfortable (with good air conditioning etc.). Internet service was generally good. The hotel staff could not have been more helpful and attended to every need with rapid service. The concierge gave us great suggestions, made reservations for us at the Borghese Gallery (which is a beautiful short walk from the hotel), and even took care of mailing postcards for us (no small feat to find the right tobacco shop that has stamps - 15 attempts, all failed - and then to find a mail box!). The hotel is at the upper end of the Via Veneto, across the street from Harry's (featured in "La Dolce Vita"), up the street from the US Embassy (in their own historic buildings), and next to the Roman wall and portico that leads into one of the major parks. We very much enjoyed our stay at this hotel and the nice attention of the very helpful and professional staff. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fred200099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This Marriott is beautifully done with large rooms, comfortable beds and nice bathrooms. The breakfast area is the most beautiful location as it is situated on the roof of the hotel. You can see all over Rome while sitting either inside or outside. A telescope allows a direct view over to Vatican City. The breakfast was American and European fare, which included everything from eggs to meats to breads and yogurt. It is located right outside a large park and within walking distance of many landmarks and across the street from the subway. I would definitely stay there again. Thank you for the lovely stay!

Room Tip: I was on the first floor and it was quiet and overlooking the street. No complaints at all. I susp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Valerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel is in a great location. It's in a row with a lot of other classy hotels and lots of nice restaurants down the street. It definitely has a classy feel to it but there are some serious shortcomings considering it runs at over 300 Euro per night. Our bathroom was not cleaned properly. Upon arrival there was someone else's hair in the bathtub. The door of the bathroom was filthy and there was a dead fly on the dresser. Also it amazes me that this level of hotel continues to charge for wifi.

Room Tip: We faced the city wall which was quiet. If you pull the shutters (outside) across it helps keep it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrequentFlier1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Beautiful old hotel in the via Veneto, excellent location. Staff friendly and helpful, always with a smile, only compliments for them, however, on arrival was assigned a room on the first floor.
The room was small and dark, needed the lights on. Faced an inner courtyard, didn't mind at first as I was staying only one night, for work, and happy to have a quiet room, but when I tried to make a phone call with my gsm there was no signal, neither with my iPad, so I went up to the hall and my phone was working perfectly. Asked to have my room changed and they accomodated me immediately, and when I explained the lack of phone signal and told them my room number they immediately moved me to the third floor. Room spacious, quiet and sunny. Another world, like climbing out of the bowels of the earth, and the phone worked fine.
Bathroom ok, not many bath products but enough, no slippers no bathrobe which I would have expected for 293€ a night.
Breakfast the next morning was a buffet on the roof terrace with a spectacular view of Rome. Buffet sadly disappointing. A great variety of food but all sub standard. Fresh fruit was two kinds of melon and pineapple,without flavour, and peaches, apricots and prunes in syrup plus a fruit salad out of a tin. This is Italy, in July, when fresh peaches, plums, apricots, cherries and what have you are all available, why the standard commonplace melons? No cereals or muesli. Moving on to the hot dishes: greasy supermarket bacon, doubtful frankfurters, scrambled eggs and omelettes all obviously made with powdered eggs, inedible to my taste. Didn't try the waffles or the pancakes as they didn't look inviting. Cold cuts: cheap boiled ham, the reconstituted kind that comes in a block, prosciutto and mortadella of the same level, and slices of three kinds of processed cheese, in a region famous for its pecorino Romano, ricotta, not to mmension the delicious buffalo mozzarella's from nearby Campania and other cheese products. What happened to 'shop local'? Or is that only a European concept?Fruit juices were concentrated, no freshly pressed orange juice. Three industrial looking cakes and cornetti that you could get in any cafè down the street. Having a bottle of cheap champagne on the buffet close to the neon pink smolked salmon is no compensation, but then, I'm a breakfast junkie, so maybe I'm too fussy.
Dreadful piped music, had to ask the waitress to turn it down as there was no escaping it, not even on the terrace, and no one wants a heavy beat resonating before the first caffeine shot.
The tea was good, and when I asked the waitress to put the tea in the pot and add the boiling water instead of bringing the usual pot of tepid water with a selection of tea bags on the side, she looked a bit worried, asked me if English Breakfast was ok then served me with a smile, and the espresso was excellent. Didn't try the so called american coffee.
Come on guys, you can do better than this, this is Rome after all, and surely you want Europeans to stay here too?
Oh, wifi costs 9€ a day. As if one intended to spend the day inside the hotel surfing the web. A bit steep, considering that in Italy even most B&B's will supply free wifi. After all, we just want to check our emails then go out on the town.

Room Tip: As for a Room above the first floor and avoid room 158 like the plague
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Theresa55051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina L, Front Office Manager at Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your experience with Marriott Grand Hotel Flora.

I apologize that your breakfast experience was not satisfactory and appreciate your feedback. Your note has been forwarded to our Food and Beverage Manager.

I would like to inform you that the Internet charge is 9.00 Euro per stay and complimentary for our Gold and Platinum Members.

We are looking forward to your future visit and do not hesitate to contact me personally during your next stay.

Sincerely,

Yolanda Wyss
Front-Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This is a wonderful hotel in Rome. It is right next to the Borghese gardens. The staff is extremely attentive and helpful. The concierge was extremely helpful with tips on the best way to visit the key sites in Rome.

The only area for improvement is the breakfast. But what a great place to have breakfast! On the roof top of the building with wonderful views of the entire city.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rome Marriott Park Hotel
#376 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,891 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
#127 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#111 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora

Property: Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora
Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 191, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in Rome
#87 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#114 Family Hotel in Rome
#117 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora - il cuore di Via Veneto batte in altoImmerse in your personal "Dolce Vita" at the Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora, right on top of the noble Via Veneto and next door to the Villa Borghese gardens.This gracious edifice with the stylish decor capturing the grandeur of Neoclassicism is exclusively designed for those looking for refined luxury in an atmosphere of sophistication and the highest level of welcoming hospitality anticipating every need of today's business or leisure traveller.Just sink back in the timeless elegance of the superbly appointed rooms and relax, or delight in the culinary highlights of the Mediterranean cuisine at the restaurant The Cabiria. The adjoining bar is the ideal place to meet, to see, or be seen, or to take in the flamboyant atmosphere of Via Veneto.The rooftop Ailanto is the perfect setting for wedding receptions and exclusive celebrations, or simply for admiring the enchanting view over the roofs of the Eternal city.Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora - right on the top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Marriott, TravelUp, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Flora Hotel Rome
Marriott Hotel Rome
Marriott Hotel Grand Flora
Marriott Rome
Rome Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing