We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The rooftop view is perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora
Ranked #165 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This hotel is great , great service , nice rooms , and great location near villa Borghese and on via Veneto . The biggest draw was having breakfast on the roof top with the view of the Vatican . I would have given it 5 stars but the wireless internet was poor and cumbersome to use .

Room Tip: higher floors are nicer
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ronald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,473)
There are newer reviews for Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

592 - 598 of 1,473 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

We were at the Marriott Grand Hotel Flora for 10 days. We were unimpressed. Given the beautiful location of the breakfast, you were already well disposed, but only to be disappointed.
The room was tiny; the bathroom towel-heater was stuck in the On position. The Concierge and the reception staff were good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank USExpatsThe3Cs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina L, Front Office Manager at Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your loyalty to Marriott Hotels. We will share your comments with our Executive Team.

Please contact me directly for any further reservations.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again at our Hotel.

Sincerely

Yolanda Wyss
Front-Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My colleague and I added two days to a business trip in Rome and stayed at the Marriott Grand Flora. The room was spacious, comfortable and beautifully appointed. The rooftop terrace offers a wonderful panoramic view. Breakfast buffet was fabulous. Everything delicious and lovely presentation. Staff in all areas were friendly and helpful. The location is very convenient for walking to many of the city's attractions. If you have a chance to stay here, by all means try to!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank WheelzUpGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This hotel has an excellent location in Rome. It sits right outside one of the main entrances of the Villa Borghese gardens which is the Central Park of Rome and is across the street from the famous Harry's Bar. It is also on the Via Veneto which has many high end hotels and restaurants, high end shopping and the American Embassy. It is fairly close to the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain and Pantheon and it is walkable although a long walk to the Colosseum and Forum (the underground is close by if needed). The hotel provides a complimentary breakfast for Platinum members only, so if you are like my husband and I who both have elite status with Marriott but he is platinum and I am gold, book your reservation under the platinum member. The best thing about the breakfast (food is very mediocre) is the roof top terrace that it is served on. The views of Rome are stunning from there. The rooms at this hotel are fine although it’s getting close to renovation time as things have started to show some wear. I believe we got an upgrade so our room was a decent size by European standards and did have a view of the Villa Borghese gardens. We did not spend much time in our room since we were only in Rome a short time and were anxious to see the many sites. The nearby (easy walk through the park) Borghese Gallery in the Borghese gardens is the best collection of sculpture we have ever seen if you are in to that kind of thing. This museum is not huge and does require a reservation but it is well worth it. Overall our stay at this hotel was pleasant although it is quite expensive (we used points --it’s a category 8) and I would probably try the Marriott Autograph collection Boscolo Palace that is just down the Via Veneto a few blocks closer to the city center next time if I were to stay in this area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MrsWinenaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Enjoyed our recent visit here......we had to wait a while to check in but my recommendation would be to book Rome Cab, and get their tour of Rome before you check in, it will be time well spent. And it will be relatively inexpensive 100 Euros.....for the two of us or even more people if your party is bigger. Private driver in a Mercedes....... meanwhile even when we did that and arrived here after noon time, our room was not ready, but we had asked for a room with a balcony.....we are needing fresh air, the rooms are small in Italy, so we waited and it was worth the wait. We were welcomed by Chiara, she was truly professional, and friendly......very accommodating, and offered us another room, but said, quietly, wait for the room you want! So we did and were quite satisfied! Meanwhile she recommended a place nearby to have lunch, which we enjoyed, ( ok not totally a gourmet experience, but we were tired, after a very long day/night/day, and it was satisfying. ) WE waited until late afternoon for our room, even though we requested an early check in. Our room was delightful. Very clean and our service every day was very good. A king bed and a balcony overlooking Via Veneto, and the Roman Wall.......small room, ok, the bath very small, and the closet large, in the closet was a place to store our belongings, there was no "bureau" as we know of it in the States......limited storage, but I have to say, we only brought carry on bags so no complaints......our only suggestion would be for more hangers in the closet.....we had a refrigerator stocked with their nice accouterments however we removed them and placed them in the storage area under the tv, and went to the nearby market, under the tunnel to the right of Harry's Bar ( do not go there.......read my review a horrible experience).......but the market has wonderful cheeses, olives, and various cuts of ham, proscuitto, etc, all delicious, and the wine............for $10 Euros or less, the best to be had on that wonderful balcony overlooking the Via Veneto and the Roman Wall!!! So that having been said, we had wonderful lunches in town, and retreated to our balcony for dinner/snacks, a buffet of treats! and wine! This hotel is located in our opinion, a perfect spot.....It is quiet, overlooking Borghese Gardens, and the ancient wall, yet in a hubbub of activity if you so desire....We did not desire.....we enjoyed the proximity of the local metro nearby and we walked most places. This was our second trip to Rome so we knew the places we still needed to visit, and those we did not need to re visit. There are still many places we still would return to see. As for the food at the Marriott.......the breakfast upstairs overlooking the scenic Rome......the best view in the city as far as we were concerned, our service there was welcoming, we are Marriott owners but our breakfast was not included , however we were given vouchers for buy one get one free......and it was well worth it....we took advantage not every day, but most days. If you do not get to do that, just go up there and take some pictures......a beautiful experience! We would go up there and just sit and read during the mid day as it was HOT and we needed to relax and re group. So happy to do that, and the terrace we had to ourselves most times. The dinner at the Marriot we would not recommend. We got their special, for two, cannot recall the price, but it was intriguing, and we were tired.......it included wine, appetizer, main course and dessert. It was not a good meal, the service was OUTSTANDING Giulia, was awesome, however, but the food, mediocre......at best....however we found that our food in Rome in general was not outstanding at all.........even through trip advisor.......so we would absolutely recommend doing a cooking school, or class at Cooking Classes in Rome with Chef Andrea........the best time we had and the best food overall in Rome that we encountered! We would return without a doubt to Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora, our final night we returned after going to Siena, and Tuscany, and had a room on the 6th floor, even a better view! The staff, the location, all wonderful, and we were also helped with an internet connection that was difficult on our I pad, but they spent time with us and worked it out........Very helpful, kind and courteous service. Thank you to the staff..........if there were any thing to improve it might be coffee in the room in the morning although on our last day we found a place in a hallway that had a machine that was courteously supplied ( most mornings before the upstairs buffet opened I would walk around the corner for a couple of coffees for about $ 8 euros.......) wish we had known about that...but in the room that would have been a nice feature. the other suggestion would be if there could be some chairs to have on the balcony, and a small table that would be nice, we had to take the ones from the room, and bring them outside, and they are upholstered, so we were thinking something without upholstery would be more versatile . Thanks so much to all!! We loved it there!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony, there are not chairs to place there, you have to put chairs from the...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caspersengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Loved this hotel. The location is great, rooms are clean and comfortable. Bathroom is fully equipped. Rooftop restaurant for breakfast is awesome and food is good. Concierge staff is excellent, booked us tours and gave great restaurant recommendations. Great bar on the main level with terrific service and snacks. Plan to stay here again next visit to Rome.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

As long time platinum Marriott members we were very disappointed with this property. The workflows and service are clunky at best and resulted in unnecessary time wasted by us dealing with it. We've shared our feedback with corporate Marriott who have been very good at addressing our concerns and took our feedback seriously. Some examples: clunky communication, outdated rooms, front desk staff unhelpful or unknowlegdeable.

Here are some of the details to help understand what happened:


When we arrived, we got appologies for the room not yet being ready (which is completely fine - we realize this is part of any hotel check-in process and aren't upset about that at all), and confusion around when it would be ready, if we could leave our bags with them, and how the breakfast and/or afternoon happy hour reception worked. One front desk person explained the breakfast process to us, then left the front desk for a few minutes to only come back and tell us something different. To be fair, you were implementing a new breakfast workflow at the hotel, and this was the first time this person had to explain the new process to anyone, so it makes sense it was a little clunky. The rest of the confusion, however, had little excuse. We were told that champaign would be served in the afternoons, but then someone else told us that that specific hotel didn't offer any concierge lounge with complimentary drinks and snacks. Given our experience, we know that some Marriotts do offer that and others do not, but we couldn't get a straight answer and left confused, having to figure it out on our own later that day.

Shortly after this we had to ask the front desk staff if we could leave our bags somewhere secure while our room was being cleaned so we could walk arond the city without our bags.

Question:
Why did WE have to ask the front desk this question? One would think a standard check-in workflow would include the front desk staff volunteering this information and helping the guest before the room was ready. Apparently not at this hotel.

After walking around for a bit we sat down at a table in the hotel bar and played some cards. After an hour or so, Sarah went to ask the front desk if our room was ready yet. The first person she asked said, "No, check in is 3:00" (or something close to that). Another front desk person overheard this and said, "Actually, your room is ready" and handed Sarah the keys to room 412.

Question:
Why would the first front desk person give Sarah and generic answer instead of looking first? Had the second person not overheard the conversation, we would have been waiting, unncessarily, for another hour or two until we asked again.

The first few hours at the hotel, and the first few interactions with the staff at the front desk left us feeling confused and frustrated.

Later this day the doorbell rang and Tim had to put on clothes to answer it. A man on staff at the hotel handed him an envelope and walked away. He opened it to find a receipt for 220 Euros, but no explanation of what it was for. Tim then put more clothes on and went to ask the front desk. It turns out they delievered the receipt to the wrong room.

Later this day we had another note under our door in an envelope. The letter read something close to, "Dear Mr. Kubichek, Please be so kind to contact the Front Desk at your earliest convenience."

We called the front desk and they let us know that we needed to decide if we wanted to have breakfast included, or if we wanted the supplemental Marriott points instead. We let the person know that we had already talked through that when checking in, and we had the breakfast coupons that we would present to the staff at the hotel before eating breakfast.

After hanging up, we got an alert on the television that said we needed to call the front desk as well. We ignored that since we just had spoke with them.

Later this same day, we got yet another envelope under the door that asked us to call the front desk. And, surprise, we got yet another notification on the television that we had to click through, wasting more time, to clear.

We called the front desk and the person told us that we needed to have the correct pieces of paper with us to present to the staff at breakfast. We knew this already, and we recommunicated that we already had these pieces of paper and would present them at breakfast.

Over the course of the next 4 or 5 days we had a daily envelope slid under our door asking us to call the front desk. Each time we would do so, and they let us know that they didn't clean the room because we had the Do Not Disturb sign hanging on the door. We let them know that we were aware that they didn't clean the room, and that they didn't need to seal a piece of paper in an envelope each day requesting us to call the front desk to hear this repeated message. We let them know that if we wanted service in the room, we would remove the sign and they could clean the room per the normal housekeeping process.

Alas, we still got the envelope all but one of the days we had the Do Not Disturb sign hanging, and each time we had to waste our time calling the front desk and having the same conversation with them.

Question:
Why could they not understand this?

The process we've seen time and time again at other hotels (Marriott and other chains) is that housekeeping will slip a note under the door that says something close to, "To respect the Do Not Disturb sign on your door, we did not enter the room to do daily housekeeping. If you'd like us to clean the room, please call the front desk and let us know. Thank you for staying with us, and have a great day!"

This would be WONDERFUL to have had here. We can easily read the message, understand what it was you wanted to communicate, and the next step was on us IF we wanted housekeeping. Your current workflow is disruptive to us as we have to open an envelope then call the front desk and wait while they research why we got the note under our door. It takes time we shouldn't have to spend. Guests at a hotel, whether traveling for work or pleasure, shouldn't ever have to take time out of their day to retreive messages of unimportance from the front desk. It's horribly ineffective to tell us you want to tell us something. If you want to tell us something, tell us with the first communication and allow us the freedom to call or not.

9. Upon checking out we had a small package that we wanted mailed back to the US. The person at the front desk didn't know if the hotel could do it or not, and said we would have to wait until 7am for an answer. The issue was that we needed to leave for our flight this morning at 6:45, so this wasn't a practical answer. Because of this persons lack of knowledge at the Grand Hotel Flora, we're now traveling with an extra package from Europe to Thailand, increasing our travel weight and delaying the delivery of this package to the recipeint.

It's a small thing, but after all the other annoyances throughout the week, it's just yet another hiccup shining a light on the inadequacies of the staff at the Grand Hotel Flora.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristina L, Front Office Manager at Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Guest,

You indicated in your comment that your stay was unsatisfactory. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. Unfortunately we did not meet your expectations.

You're a valued customer, everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience.

Please allow us to regain your rust and hope to serve you again in the future. Please contact our General Manager personally in case of any further travel plans to Italy in order to make your next stay a real memorable one.

Sincerely

Yolanda Wyss
Front-Office Manager

On behalf of

Michele Buono
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
#141 of 1,267 in Rome
939 reviews
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rome Marriott Park Hotel
#357 of 1,267 in Rome
2,012 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#60 of 1,267 in Rome
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora

Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 191, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in Rome
#99 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#114 Family Hotel in Rome
#117 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £210 - £521 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora - il cuore di Via Veneto batte in altoImmerse in your personal "Dolce Vita" at the Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora, right on top of the noble Via Veneto and next door to the Villa Borghese gardens.This gracious edifice with the stylish decor capturing the grandeur of Neoclassicism is exclusively designed for those looking for refined luxury in an atmosphere of sophistication and the highest level of welcoming hospitality anticipating every need of today's business or leisure traveller.Just sink back in the timeless elegance of the superbly appointed rooms and relax, or delight in the culinary highlights of the Mediterranean cuisine at the restaurant The Cabiria. The adjoining bar is the ideal place to meet, to see, or be seen, or to take in the flamboyant atmosphere of Via Veneto.The rooftop Ailanto is the perfect setting for wedding receptions and exclusive celebrations, or simply for admiring the enchanting view over the roofs of the Eternal city.Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora - right on the top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Flora Hotel Rome
Marriott Hotel Rome
Marriott Hotel Grand Flora
Marriott Rome
Rome Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing