We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay at the Grand Flora”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora
Ranked #175 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2008

My wife and I recently stayed at the Flora on a short stop-over in Rome to elsewhere in Italy. The room was very nice and large by European standards, overlooking a large park. The bathroom and public areas were exceptionally nice. We stayed on hotel loyalty points and were upgraded to the executive level. Breakfast on the top level overlooked the city and the view, food, and service were all tremendous. The staff was very polite and helpful in resolving a luggage issue with our airline. This is not the most convenient location in Rome, but it is in a very attractive area that is quieter than a lot of the city. I would very much recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DesMoines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,523)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,217 - 1,223 of 1,523 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2008

Stayed here in Feb. 2008. The rooms are not a typical Marriott room. They are worn but still nice. The staff was helpful. Great location. It was in walking distance of all of the main sites. Lobby was nice. Hotel bar was great and the bartender was fantastic.
We had the free breakfast buffet. I would not pay for it but since it was free we ate at it a couple times during our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zeta185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2008

My husband and I spent a month traveling around Italy for our honeymoon and stayed in Rome for one week at the end of the trip. Rome was our last stop and we were more than pleased with the Grand Flora. It is located on a very prestigious street with many other 5-star hotels. We thought the Grand Flora was located in a perfect spot just across from the Borghese Park and within walking distance to most everything. It is a cab ride to the Ancient City and Vatican but neither were very pricey (less than 10 euros). We were upgraded to a VERY large room (the size of some peoples homes) with a beautiful view of the Borghese Park and St. Peter's Dome. They serve breakfast every morning on their rooftop with sweeping views of Rome. The breakfast was amazing, they had the largest spread of any hotel we stayed at while on the trip. It was delicious with spectacular views. We had turndown service every night with some great chocolates as well. They do offer free internet which was nice so we could catch up on the news and stay in touch with family. The staff was very helpful (espcially the bell men).

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank cmsvt97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2008

My wife and I spent 3 night at Grand Flora at the head of Via Veneto and thoroughly enjoyed it. The location was in an exciting part of town with many shops, restaurants and points of interest within walking distance.

The hotel was very nicely appointed and was very clean throughout. Our room was a little dated but nice sized, clean, comfortable and most importantly, quiet.

Among the many things we liked, the two that stood out were the staff and the rooftop restaurant. The staff couldn't do enough for us. Every member (and there were MANY) seemed to have been selected for personality and poise. If the young lady who spent 20 minutes helping me get my cell phone going is reading, again I say gracie mille!

Along the same lines, a wonderful complimentary breakfast was served in a rooftop restaurant that was bright, well appointed and had the most sumtuous assortments of foods one could imagine. It also has an outdoor patio that looks West and North with views of the city, the beautiful Borgese gardens and park. Again, the entire staff in the restaurant was very anxious to help in any way that they could.

While there are less expensive addresses and hotels in which to stay in Rome, I would definetly recommend the Grand Flora for a full, enriching experience.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MileMarkerMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2008

We went to Rome and Venice for our 25th anniversary and although this hotel is a bit expensive, it was totally worth it! It is pretty centrally located and you truly feel safe walking the streets at night around it. We ventured down several side streets and found several great places to eat, some even reasonably priced!

The hotel itself is beautiful and the views and ambiance from the rooftop are fantastic. The staff was fluent in English and made us feel quite welcome there. Great place!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank tusculum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2008

We are just back from a 6 day stay at the Grand Flora and we had a wonderful time. The Grand Flora is a beautiful, clean hotel with very nice views from the rooftop restaurant and they provided excellent service. We felt very safe in the hotel and surrounding neighborhood. The metro is a 10 minute walk to the Piazza Barberini, or 15 minute walk underground (safe/well-traveled) to the Piazza Spagna. It is also a short, but challenging walk to the Piazza della Popolo through the Borghese Gardens.

We had a standard room with a queen size bed. It was very small. We asked to have the luggage rack at the end of our bed removed and that improved the situation, but the space still felt a little claustrophobic . We faced onto an inner courtyard and found the A/C in excellent working order and the room was quiet and sunny.

We did not ask to change rooms because we arrived at the hotel after a 10 hour flight at 7am and were permitted to check in immediately, despite the early hour. We were very grateful and neither of us spent a lot of time in the room anyway.

The bathroom was also very small, with no storage space for toiletries, but it was beautifully appointed. Everything was marble and the amenities included a bidet and hair dryer . The hot water was plentiful and the water pressure was excellent.

The breakfast buffet, which was included with our room price (60euro for two if it is not--yikes!), was excellent and left little to the imagination. There was a nice selection of cheeses, pastries, meats, etc. The eggs were a little dry, but they are hard to do well buffet-style. We had the option of dining indoors or out, which was nice as Rome was in the midst of a heat wave during our stay and we did choose the A/C of the dining room a few of the days. Breakfast was served from 6:30am-10:30am and they even permitted us to partake immediately upon our super-early check in. We very much appreciated that consideration.

The bartender is an artist with a dry martini. The small sidewalk cafe is an excellent place to enjoy a beverage and snack, and is a great place to people-watch on the Via Veneto. The staff here, as at breakfast, is attentive and friendly. We did not dine in the hotel as there are too many wonderful trattorias to explore in the city. We did not order room service, though we were told we could order breakfast in rather than go up to the restaurant for no extra charge. Again, the small quarters made dining en suite an unattractive option.

On check in we were provided with a cable for internet connection, but the speeds were pretty slow nonetheless. I don't recall if there was a fee for service.

Overall, we had a great time and would consider staying here again on a return trip to Rome, if we got a good rate. It is a very pricey hotel, but elegant and well-located.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank bilo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Grand Flora in May of 2007. From a roof top restaurant offering a breakfast view of St. Peters dome, a ‘La dolce vita’ address and close proximity to the Rome Metro and Villa Borghese the location is priceless.
As platinum Marriott members we expect to be treated well but the Flora staff has exceeded and reset our expectations. The Concierge desk helped us get great tickets to local events, helped me catch up from 20 years absence from Roma and recommended us to a wonderful restaurant around the corner. The entire staff seemed committed to anticipating our desires and satisfying them.
Our room was comfortable and spotless. We enjoyed the gourmet chocolates on our bed; these were not your usual hotel good night chocolate.
If you are taking a cab from the airport or train station ask to be taken to the Hotel Flora. This property has been the Hotel Flora for many years but only recently a Marriott property. We found that asking to be driven to the Marriott often yielded blank looks from cab drivers but mentioning the Flora seemed to work without fail.
On our last visit my wife talked me into leaving my computer at home. Never again! The Flora’s ‘business center’ has a single internet connected computer and was monopolized by young adults in the evenings. Internet connectivity is free in the rooms, remember to bring your computer!
I should mention that this is an expensive hotel but you really get your money’s worth in terms of quality service, property and location. La dolce vita!
Roma will be a more frequent destination just so we can enjoy a few days at this fine hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sonoma-geek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Palace
Grand Hotel Palace
#198 of 1,272 in Rome
487 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#54 of 1,272 in Rome
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,272 in Rome
7,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora

Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 191, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in Rome
#80 Family Hotel in Rome
#108 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#117 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £162 - £437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora - il cuore di Via Veneto batte in altoImmerse in your personal "Dolce Vita" at the Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora, right on top of the noble Via Veneto and next door to the Villa Borghese gardens.This gracious edifice with the stylish decor capturing the grandeur of Neoclassicism is exclusively designed for those looking for refined luxury in an atmosphere of sophistication and the highest level of welcoming hospitality anticipating every need of today's business or leisure traveller.Just sink back in the timeless elegance of the superbly appointed rooms and relax, or delight in the culinary highlights of the Mediterranean cuisine at the restaurant The Cabiria. The adjoining bar is the ideal place to meet, to see, or be seen, or to take in the flamboyant atmosphere of Via Veneto.The rooftop Ailanto is the perfect setting for wedding receptions and exclusive celebrations, or simply for admiring the enchanting view over the roofs of the Eternal city.Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora - right on the top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Flora Hotel Rome
Marriott Hotel Rome
Marriott Hotel Grand Flora
Marriott Rome
Rome Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing