We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Service-bad gym”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora
Ranked #169 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2009

My wife and I stayed in Rome after being in Venice and Florence. We were greeted by Allesandro who could not have treated us any better. He was pleasant, helpful and gave great recommendations. The location of the hotel is perfect, being right at the entrance to the Borghese Gardens and near the metro stop. We were given a great room with a view of the park. We used Marriot points, but since it was a Category 8 hotel, we used a lot of them. The breakfast buffet outside on the roof was very good and the view was spectacular. The only problem, which seems to be the same everywhere is that the fitness are offered very little.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbm12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,171 - 1,177 of 1,505 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2009

We stayed for a week at the Flora. The location is terrific. You can walk to a lot of the attractions. (albeit a long walk). Right outside the hotel is a portal for the 1800 year old Aurelian Wall. Across the street is the Villa Borghese.

The staff throught the hotel provided excellent and friendly service. There are tons of sidewalk restaurants in the area.

One tip - Across the street you will find an escalator down to an underground level. Actually, it is two escalators. If you take that and walk a couple of hundred yards, you will find a complete supermarket underground. This is a great place to get some snacks , water and even a bottle of vino for your room.

We found the rooms to be decent. The bathroom was a bit small in our first room but part of that is due to the bidet. Breakfast on the rooftop is a great experience. You can see the vatican and other landmarks (bring binoculars if you can)

When we were leaving, our flight had to return for an emergency landing due to a cracked windshield. The airline tried to put us up in what they claimed was a four star hotel in Ostia. that place was a dump. We called the Flora and they confirmed they had a room available. Unfortunately, the limo service they use didn't have any available cars but we were able to find a limo on our own.

Summary. If we go back to Rome, we will most likely make the Flora our first choice.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmendla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2009

We were given a room on the first floor, and it was noisy beyond tolerable levels.

Hot water did not run in the late morning (around 10 a.m.) when I took showers on the first two days we were there.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SingaporePete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2009

3rd stay at Marriott since 2000. Rooms not really updated since then, getting a little tired. Room are smallish, required by hotel to get 3 rooms for family of six. Location is fantastic, easy walk to Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, Pantheon and short cab rides to all other major sites. Front Desk very helpful. Breakfast so so for price, go around corner of hotel on left side to first street, go 25 feet to cafeon right there for great coffee, pastries, lite lunch and geltato. Hotel now allows limited point award stay which compared to $ US 450 per night is way to go. Concierege dinner recommnedations usually overpriced busts.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miasig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2009

We arrived from the train station and were very happy to see that the Grand Flora was on such a beautiful tree lined street (be careful of the "fees" that the cabbie might try to push on you) . We informed the Grand Flora that we were on our honeymoon and within an hour of us getting into the room, we had a bottle of "bubbly' and chocolates sent to the room.

It should be noted that we used points for the room, and if it wasn't for trip advisor we would have never stayed here. I tried to get the room through Marriott on points but was told it was not available. When I read I should call the hotel directly, I was informed that I could use the points and literally saved us a few thousand......please call them directly and try it this way.

The Grand Flora is in a beautiful location and we were given a room looking out onto the Borghese gardens. The rooms might need a new layer of wall papering but besides this we found the room to be just fine. Wifi was excellent and included in the room rate....something not found at other places on our vacation.

The staff including the concierge and receptuion were excellent. One particular woman( her name might have been Sonia or Sonya) at the front desk was very helpful as she explained the rules and laws for taxi's in the city.

The rooftop breakfast is a bit expensive, but worth the view of the St. Peter's and other sights throughout the city. Plenty of great restaurants within walking distance and you are only an 8 Euro ride to the vatican. Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garth1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and loved the location and the service. My husband is platinum with marriott and we stayed here on points. It is pretty pricey but worth it for me since I am somewhat of a hotel snob.

The breakfast at the rooftop terrace was amazing. The choice were good but the view was marvelous.

The hotel is within walking distance to a lot of sights. You can walk to Spanish steps (I highly recommend walking there, it's just lively and beautiful), Borghese gardens are just next door and the Trevi fountain is not a bad walk eiher.

The hop on hop off tour left accross from the Savoy hotel which is also a block away.

There were many places to eat but our favorite was San Marco, a local joint that the Conceirge recommended. It was friendly, casual and great food.

We also took a day trip to Capri and a trip to the Vatican that the Conceirge helped with and that was great as well.

Overall Rome is really really beautiful and the people I found very friendly and most people spoke good English.

I highly recommend the hotel if you can get a room there on points (it's actually pretty hard to get room there on points) or if you can afford to pay the high price. To me it's worth the money when you are there for a short time and are looking for a nice hotel in a great location .

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Papad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2009

This was our first trip to Rome and we wanted to stay someplace nice. Marriott Grand Flora is very nice. We stayed using points and were upgraded to a Jr. Suite - very, very nice.
Hotel is in great upscale location. Plenty to do within walking distance. Good selection of restaurants in area. Metro station not too far.
The Jr. Suite was a good size bedroom and comfortable living/sitting room.
Roof restaurant for breakfast was closed, but looked like a great place to start the day. You can see the Vatican from the roof.
Doorman was very helpful with directions, taxis, etc.
Internet service provided free.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobReno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Palace
Grand Hotel Palace
#203 of 1,271 in Rome
470 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
#131 of 1,271 in Rome
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Raphael - Relais Chateaux
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#56 of 1,271 in Rome
1,429 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#109 of 1,271 in Rome
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora

Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 191, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in Rome
#101 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#114 Family Hotel in Rome
#117 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £200 - £402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora - il cuore di Via Veneto batte in altoImmerse in your personal "Dolce Vita" at the Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora, right on top of the noble Via Veneto and next door to the Villa Borghese gardens.This gracious edifice with the stylish decor capturing the grandeur of Neoclassicism is exclusively designed for those looking for refined luxury in an atmosphere of sophistication and the highest level of welcoming hospitality anticipating every need of today's business or leisure traveller.Just sink back in the timeless elegance of the superbly appointed rooms and relax, or delight in the culinary highlights of the Mediterranean cuisine at the restaurant The Cabiria. The adjoining bar is the ideal place to meet, to see, or be seen, or to take in the flamboyant atmosphere of Via Veneto.The rooftop Ailanto is the perfect setting for wedding receptions and exclusive celebrations, or simply for admiring the enchanting view over the roofs of the Eternal city.Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora - right on the top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Grand Flora Hotel Rome
Marriott Hotel Rome
Marriott Hotel Grand Flora
Marriott Rome
Rome Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing