We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Swimming pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Parco dei Principi Grand Hotel & SPA
Ranked #149 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Pros: beatiful indoor and outdoor pool, breakfast ok but not excellent, rooms clean but to much "Baroque style"; in the green.

Cons: no walking distance from city centre (especially the night);

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paolo1974Milano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,317)
There are newer reviews for Parco dei Principi Grand Hotel & SPA
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

560 - 566 of 1,317 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2012

Where do I start - I hate writing negative reviews but have to. This was a one night stay at the end of a lovely luxurious cruise and we wanted to stay somewhere nice on our last night in Rome. The price was mega expensive and so we expected the best. The room itself was okay but my husband stubbed his toe on the television cabinet which was decorated with elaborate and sharp metalwork at ground level - blood everywhere. I had a shower and it ended up with a small river in the bathroom - could not understand it, so husband had a bath and same problem. The maintenance of the seal around the bath was very bad and this seemed to cause the water to seep out from under the bath somehow. Not what you would expect for 5 star. Breakfast was enough to send my calm husband into a rage - the Head Waiter kind of yelled at us as we walked in, saying that there was no room in the nice breakfast area, we were asked to sit in the inside dining area and had to trot in and out to get food and tea. There were tables free but they needed to be made up and this was obviously too much trouble (except for some guests it would seem). There were small serving dishes which meant the food kept running out. The Head Waiter said they were very busy - we could not belive it - there were so few people - how they cope with more than 20 guests I do not know. We asked on check in if we could have a late check out as we had a late flight and were told to check after breakfast - we did and were told - after we had queued for about 20 minutes - that they were fully booked and we had to check out at normal time....so much for customer service. My husband rang to ask about the shuttle bus mentioned in the hotel information in our room to be told the information was wrong and it did not run on a saturday! The problem seemed to be one of arrogance - 5 star - we don't have to try too hard! Don't bother - we have stayed in nicer B&Bs in Rome for a fraction of the price and that is what we will do next time.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank RaymondsofWoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We stayed at the Parco for 5 nights and it was worth it. The hotel is truly luxury. We stayed in the deluxe rooms and they were spacious, clean and had there own balconies. The bathroom is top notch as well. There is literally no problem with this hotel except the distance from the city centre. Its not that much but you do have to shell out for the taxi, we were ok with it so it wasn't a problem for us. The location does have some very nice restaurants at walking distance plus a super market. Would highly recommend to people you like to stay in quite places away from all the hustle and bustle and to those who don't mind spending at least 15 euros per taxi ride.

Room Tip: Get a room higher up for a view of the garden.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ushmey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

My wife enjoys swimming so we selected our hotel on centre location and swimming pool. To start with the latter: the outside pool is just great. Open May until October 1. Around the pool hangs the lovely smell of Jasmin. Area is clean and well supervised. The hotel itself is good, not great. Fine friendly staff, good beds, breakfast is complete - ask for cappucino, they do not offer! Spa (and indoor pool) was better than we expected. They tried hard to make it really nice. The lifeguard takes himself a bit to serious though. I continue to lobby for free WiFi in all (5 star) hotels!
We enjoyed the location. When we felt ready for it we walked from the hotel through Villa Borghese to the Spanish Steps into the city. On the last day we asked for a late check out, they served us as much as possible and we could continue to make use of pool and spa after check-out which was nice. We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robbie_P0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We stayed here 2 nights recently and enjoyed the stay. The room was comfortable and well appointed. We had a balcony and beautiful view of St Peter's. We were surprised at the relatively good (for hotel) food. Luxurious bathroom; sheets strangely rough and pillows small.
Need to insert room key inside room entry to access lighting - a sign and instructions would be nice. Beautiful pool and spa. Only small drawback is that there is not much within walking distance as far as restaurants and shopping are concerned. However, it was wonderfully quiet and free from traffic noise. It is close to Villa Borghese and gardens and zoo but we unfortunately did not have time to partake. Another big plus was the lack of smoking. Beautiful landscape and grounds.

Room Tip: Higher up (3 or >) on side facing pool; 5th floor was wonderful. Remember - only 3 very tiny el...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank surfsup777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Hotel has a warm Edwardian feel. Plenty of comfortable chairs in the bar/lobby. The piano player is a bit of a distraction if you want to talk business in the evening. Room well appointed. about 15 channels on TV including 5 English - CNN, Bloomberg, CNBC, BBC and Sky.
Breakfast reasonable but not exceptional. Staff friendly.

Location ideal for my business. Not good for sightseeing. However, I felt quite safe walking to and from the city during both day and night. 20-25 minute walk to Piazza della Reppublica and Via Veneto.

Internet expensive at 22 euros a day.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JimS48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of a transatlantic cruise. The hotel was chosen by the cruise line.

The hotel itself is excellent and definitely 5 star. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with all the amenities you would expect in a top hotel. The staff is very helpful and were always available to order cabs or provide directions. The breakfast, which was included in our plan, was excellent and there was a very large variety of items to choose from.

The location of the hotel is the "good news - bad news". It is set in a lovely residential district just north of the Borghese Gardens. In fact it butts right up against the gardens. This along with the fact that the hotel itself has a lovely garden in the back, gives you a very tranquil setting and a great place to escape from the hustle and bustle of Rome. The bad news is that it is not close to walk to things such as restaurants or tourist places. As example, it is about a 25 minute walk to the Spanish Steps. Since we are older and have knee problems, that meant we had to take a lot of cabs, which cost on average 12 Euros per trip. With several cabs a day, it got very expensive.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Trastevere
Gran Melia Rome
Gran Melia Rome
#98 of 1,267 in Rome
1,435 reviews
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
#134 of 1,267 in Rome
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parco dei Principi Grand Hotel & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parco dei Principi Grand Hotel & SPA

Address: Via G. Frescobaldi, 5, 00198 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Rome
#66 Business Hotel in Rome
#89 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#198 Family Hotel in Rome
#233 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £178 - £482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Parco dei Principi Grand Hotel & SPA 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Parco dei Principiis superbly located on the border of the historic Borghese Gardens. The hotel has been painstakingly refurbished, recreating the opulence and richness of the patrician villas owned by Rome's nobility in the late 17th century. Beautiful wood paneling in the lobby, precious stuccoes and fabrics, valuable furniture pieces and classic artwork combine to make this a fabulous Roman hotel. The delighful guestrooms offer spelendid views over the city and Borghese Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parco dei Principi Grand Hotel & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rome
Grand Parco Dei Principi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing