We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Little Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Parco dei Principi Grand Hotel & SPA
Ranked #150 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Little Disappointed”
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Stayed for 1 night of our visit to Rome and after the initial WOW factor on arrival at appearances I was actually a little disappointed with my stay here. The concierge and reception staff were very efficient on arrival and the room was lovely. Very comfortable and very clean and absolutely beautiful as was the entire hotel. The bar staff here were lovely, very friendly and attentive and made an amazing G&T!
We visited the SPA attached which in itself was fabulous, had every facility you could think of and in a very relaxing environment. We did not book the Spa with the room as we did not know if we'd use it. Online it was advertised at 12euro per person for the stay, on the day it cost us 35euro per person per visit and then a mandatory 5euro each for a little swimming hat. We felt a bit ripped off at this point considering we were staying at the hotel and knew what the actual resident offer was. The staff were a little frosty as well.
We were expecting great things at breakfast however the hot choice was in fact cold, the pastries ran out and the service was slow.
My overall thought was that we paid for the setting as opposed to the service. I cant say I'd visit again.

Room Tip: Book the Spa in advance if you think you may use it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zoe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    578
    377
    167
    70
    57
See reviews for
270
475
45
265
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We had a really big conference in this hotel and of course we expected top-notch service. This was not the case! Where to start, why not with them calling us on the week of the conference to tell us they overbooked and needed to move 20 of our guests to another hotel. The usual excuse was given, which everyone who ever worked in the hotel industry knows is utter rubbish! On arrival to the hotel, we were made to wait for at least 30 minutes for the promised help with our boxes, etc., and their lovely, friendly doorman (note the sarcasm please), arrogantly told us to get out of the way and made us feel as so welcome (again sarcasm)!
For most travellers, it's the little things that matter like being able to press your clothes because you want to be well-presented in front of business colleagues..what a shocker, 5 star hotel, no ironing facilities either in the room or anywhere in the hotel for that matter. Have to pay over the odds to be presentable.
Room service? well what do you expect, time service, not going to happen here. Might as well go down to breakfast, where you can enjoy average standard food and highly unfriendly service.
If you want to book a meeting here, make sure that when you take your breaks, take all your materials and belongings with you because you will come back to find an empty table and all your stuff thrown in a bin and is miraculously disappeared forever.
Don't even ask about the internet, which as anyone know is free in most fast food chains...in this 5-star hotel, €22 per day per device! No internet or mobile phone connection in the meeting rooms either. Welcome back to the middle ages!
To top off this really wonderful experience, we found out during the last day of our stay that they bumped off our rooms to make way for AC Milan football team! Way to make business people and decision-makers feel welcome!
So...if you want to pay for an expensive, totally unfriendly hotel, this is definitely the place for you.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Billie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Just perfect - lovely hotel, wonderful rooms, I had the pleasure of a room on 7th floor with balcony and a beautiful view of Rome. Enjoyed so much sitting there in the mornings and evenings.
The lovely parc, Villa Borghese is next to the hotel, perfect for jogging and relaxing.
You can walk down to Piazza di Spagna in 10 min, from there you can catch the metro or continue your walk to the rest of Rome.
There is also a bus connection not far from the hotel.

Room Tip: 7th floor with balcony was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigbury-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Some reviews have indicated some discomfort with the "service ethic" here.If you don't have any Italian,cannot smile during conversation and treat those delivering service with lack of respect or enthusiasm - then don't stay here.It is fantastically comfortable -has one of the best spas around -is close to a beautiful park and the villa borghese.You can walk to the Spanish Steps in fifteen minutes(underground) and Harry's Bar in seven.Drink the prosecco,enjoy the exquisite breakfast and think yourself lucky - you will not find better...........Tony

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tony d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

My daughter and I stayed just two nights, what a treat! Our room was quiet, luxurious and blessedly cool - the air conditioning worked great! The 'spa' pool was crazy fun with various sections portioned off with massage jets shooting straight up through our feet and 'chairs' to sit in right in the water with hot water jets aimed all over the body - we left that pool feeling very relaxed and restored which was exactly what was needed after a frenzied day exploring in Rome. The outdoor pool is beautiful and when you are floating in it, you are surrounded by palm trees and flowers and it's almost impossible to believe you are right in the middle of one of the world's most bustling cities. We had a delicious dinner looking out over the quiet gardens, excellent service. Overall, I would have been very happy to just live there for a while...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergamo, Italy
Level Contributor
129 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Location: north side of Villa Borghese, will take 15 min walk to the beginning of Via Veneto, then again 15 to proper downtown. No tube around the area. Parioli is an elegant residential area with few dinner options (La pariolina reccomended). The hotel looks very luxurious but in a modern building this old style baroque is a bad mix to my taste. Anyway, my corner room was clean and big enough. Bathroom a bit small, no window. I had no issue with staff, kind enough. AC a bit noisy.
Bad points: WIFI very erratic in my room, up and down at 9 euro/day. At the bar, I got a standard tea bag in cheap tea cup, no lemon, no plate to put the used bag for 7 euro ... Make me pay 10 but give a proper first class tea. That was a train station' bar tea ... Breakfast: " industrial" cakes and croissant, if i don't get a fresh croissant in a five star italian hotel.... Tourists didn't seem to bother much, as Italian, i'd rather go to an average bar but get a proper cappuccino with a fresh croissant.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bridgerobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

This is a 5 Star hotel, beautifully furnished but compeletely lacking any service ethic. The hotel was very busy with conferences and had no interest in tourists. This may be a very good hotel for business users but for general tourism the location is not good and the attitudes at reception are more 2 Star than 5 Star. The breakfast buffet had a good selection of cold food including the hot food which was cold!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
Hotel Lord Byron
Hotel Lord Byron
#66 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Parioli
Aldrovandi Residence City Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parco dei Principi Grand Hotel & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parco dei Principi Grand Hotel & SPA

Property: Parco dei Principi Grand Hotel & SPA
Address: Via G Frescobaldi 5, 00198 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Rome
#66 Business Hotel in Rome
#91 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#198 Family Hotel in Rome
#233 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Parco dei Principi Grand Hotel & SPA 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Parco dei Principiis superbly located on the border of the historic Borghese Gardens. The hotel has been painstakingly refurbished, recreating the opulence and richness of the patrician villas owned by Rome's nobility in the late 17th century. Beautiful wood paneling in the lobby, precious stuccoes and fabrics, valuable furniture pieces and classic artwork combine to make this a fabulous Roman hotel. The delighful guestrooms offer spelendid views over the city and Borghese Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Parco dei Principi Grand Hotel & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rome
Grand Parco Dei Principi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing