We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel for Rome but the worst most uncomfortable sheets ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parco dei Principi Grand Hotel & SPA
Ranked #140 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

The word I would use to describe this hotel would be "fine". Nothing stands out about it other than the view if you have a room high enough to see over the park and the swimming pool area is nice, otherwise it's pretty standard. Service is average and at times (namely front desk) a bit aggressive. With extra charges for shower caps that they make you use in the indoor pool area (if you require us to wear one, then PROVIDE IT!) extra chatges for WIFI and by far the most uncomfortable sheets I've ever slept on, this is definitely not proper 5 star.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CTMAC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

451 - 457 of 1,356 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013

Hotels in the centre of Rome do not have a decent outdoor pool and gym so this lovely hotel meets that need but the downside is it is a bit too far from the centre. We used the bus and tram, both close to the hotel, but the service in the evenings is infrequent and you have to have bought a travel pass before as none are available to buy at the hotel. Taxis are readily available which we tended to use but of course bump up your costs.
The restaurant and bar are expensive so we ate out on each of evening of a 5 night stay. However the price we paid for an excellent 5 star hotel was great value and included a very good breakfast.
The gym was awesome and there is a lovely outdoor pool and garden.

Room Tip: Don't have a room over looking the busy road as noisy and poor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1mcp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Hotel itself is beautiful. Bed is super comfortable and our room was nice. They need to fix shower so water doesn't spray on the floor by removing partial glass door and putting in shower curtain. Hotel is outside of downtown Rome so it is not in a convenient location if you are a tourist. Also 6 euro for a coca cola and 14 euro for a gin and tonic is absurd! Also I went to check in for my flight and used one of the computers the front desk pointed to. I couldn't get the website for the flight up and went to front desk after about two minutes to see if they could help. It ended up costing me 9 euro for two minutes on the computer. Ridiculous! Most hotels I have stayed at allow you to check into your flight for free. I felt ripped off at this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gizmo980767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Stayed here with my husband and children for 4 nights in early June. Beautiful hotel overlooking the Borghese Park. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Beautifully decorated and lovely gardens. The outside pool area was fantastic, unfortunately weather wasn't great. The indoor spa was spacious and amazing, the children loved it. The main attractions were a 15 or 20 minute walk away through the park so slightly out of it though the park and walk was lovely. Only issue was it was a very residential area and really lacked in shops and cafes/restaurants in the evening but not a huge issue. Would definitely stay here again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gallusslass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We choose this hotel because of its location. After a day of touring and walking this incredible busy city it is a pleasure to spend some quiet time in this hotel . Walking thru the parc and still close enough to Via Veneto is a plus. The staff was extrely helpfull and the room perfect.
We had one problem and it was fixed immediately .
We are not big breakfast eater so we choose a friendly cafe two blocks away.
We had dinner at the hotel and it was excellent .

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcegap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights while visiting Rome, the hotel and service was excellent in every sense. This is a five star hotel and you do pay for it, but the service and staff where outstanding. It is not located near the city center so be prepared to take the tram or taxi.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank m1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed three nights and thoroughly enjoyed this Hotel, though it is some distance from the heart of Rome, but luckily our transport was provided. It read as a superior first class hotel and from our experience we agree wholeheartedly. Breakfast on the Terrace was most enjoyable, with a varied menu to suit. The swimming pool bar, set in picturesque gardens was disappointing, as drinks understandably were served in plastic cups, but prices were very expensive! It was a once off visit for us! All staff were very efficient, and were keen to please and at all times we were acknowledged, which was appreciated.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandykperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Trastevere
Gran Melia Rome
Gran Melia Rome
#89 of 1,270 in Rome
1,483 reviews
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
#135 of 1,270 in Rome
971 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parco dei Principi Grand Hotel & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parco dei Principi Grand Hotel & SPA

Address: Via G. Frescobaldi, 5, 00198 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Rome
#66 Business Hotel in Rome
#84 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#130 Family Hotel in Rome
#233 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £166 - £312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Parco dei Principi Grand Hotel & SPA 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Parco dei Principiis superbly located on the border of the historic Borghese Gardens. The hotel has been painstakingly refurbished, recreating the opulence and richness of the patrician villas owned by Rome's nobility in the late 17th century. Beautiful wood paneling in the lobby, precious stuccoes and fabrics, valuable furniture pieces and classic artwork combine to make this a fabulous Roman hotel. The delighful guestrooms offer spelendid views over the city and Borghese Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Parco dei Principi Grand Hotel & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rome
Grand Parco Dei Principi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing