We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply wonderful.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parco dei Principi Grand Hotel & SPA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parco dei Principi Grand Hotel & SPA
Ranked #161 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Wonderfully beautiful, clean, friendly. Everything you can expect or want from a fabulous hotel in the heart of Rome. Excellent service 24 hours a day. Location is great for sightseeing and close enough if you like to walk.

Room Tip: Junior Suite overlooking the park is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamApples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    552
    369
    160
    69
    57
See reviews for
261
462
45
253
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cartagena, Spain
Level Contributor
64 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

I took my future wife here for our first romantic weekend away in Rome,
We paid for a driver to pick us up at the airport and act as our guide. He could not have been better and, compared to the taxis, it was good value.
Unlike some of the reviews here, we found the staff excellent and courteous and ready to help and advise.
We had a fantastic lunch at their sister hotel and an evening meal to die for. The wine waiter was retiring and was happy to let us try some lovely wines for free.
Moving to the lounge, we had a great night of entertainment with Gabrielle, the resident pianist.
My wife, being a professional singer was allowed to sing a few numbers which turned into entertaining both guests and staff.
Our suite was expensive but truly 5 star. The location is just far enough away for the city to be away from all the noise but near enough to walk to.
The swimming pool, spa and grounds are beautiful.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lolmaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed here for a week in July 2013. It was a fantastic week, and we had a suite overlooking the park and pool. What was good: Nice room, great views over Rome, very comfortable bed, and kingsize does mean kingsize. Helpful staff, great breakfast and terrace to eat it on with some archaeological remains to look at! The spa in the basement is beautiful, and works wonders after a long day of sightseeing. The outdoor pool is also lovely. What was not so good: The room we had was a bit worn, but nothing major. The price of every add on was excessive...8 euro for a half size can of Coke Light from the mini bar, etc. We sent some clothes to the laundry, we should have just bought new for the price. The AC worked very well, but we couldn't adjust it, so it was either on or off. Overall : A very nice hotel, close enough to the sights to hop in a taxi for not much money. We would stay again. In my opinion, this is not a 5* hotel, but it is a good 4*, and lunch and drinks by the pool are highly recommended, if very expensive!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MYHOLIDAYFUN2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

I stayed at this hotel last summer in 2012, it was luxurious and elegant. The staff was not my favorite but it was definitely well put together and I would return here if I was ever in Rome again. It has one of the most beautiful spas I've ever seen and it is in a good location.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler_8897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

We were both looking forward to this holiday, but came away very disappointed! The reception area was lovely but some of the staff were a little distant! The Junior Suite we had was nothing special, we had a sink that we could not use as the plunger did not work even the maintenance staff could not fix it.
Price wise drinks were fine and the bar staff were very good, breakfast was very disappointing for a 5 Star Hotel you should be served a pot of coffee not self service!! quality of breakfast average, the staff wanted to take your plate before you had finished!!
Dinner in the restaurant was ok but same menu for Lunch!
Overall we would not return which says a lot

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in October, which was at the end of a trip to London and Paris. We only wish that we had booked more time here in Rome! The hotel is gorgeous and luxurious, and the spa and indoor pool were nice too. There is also an outdoor pool, but I believe it may have been closed for the season. Unfortunately, I sought out the indoor pool and spa close to closing time (10 PM), and only had a few minutes to enjoy, but my husband had enjoyed the amenities on previous days. This hotel is situated outside of the hustle and bustle of Rome, near a beautiful city park and upscale city residences, but this is a good thing. Getting into the midst of the city is easy, either by foot through the park, or by cab. The only downside to this hotel were the quality of the sheets. They were rough and had pilling. This is unacceptable for a hotel of this caliber. The sheets should definitely be changed out for higher grade linen. Everything else was great, including the wonderful breakfasts every morning. We hope to come back to Rome and to other parts of Italy on another more extended trip next time!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYGA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
165 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Looked gorgeous from the moment you walked inside. Great reception areas, and the bedroom was the nicest we had in Italy - spacious and well laid-out. Shower was disappointing though.

Dinner in the restaurant was A1, the best meal and service we had in 14 days in Italy while service at breakfast was chaotic. The totally variable service we attribute to the Italian attitude, eg the driver of the courtesy vehicle discourages you from using it.

Lovely to have a park across the road and our colleagues reported the spa was state of the art.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Finona68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
Hotel Lord Byron
Hotel Lord Byron
#94 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Parioli
Aldrovandi Residence City Suites
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#56 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parco dei Principi Grand Hotel & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parco dei Principi Grand Hotel & SPA

Property: Parco dei Principi Grand Hotel & SPA
Address: Via G Frescobaldi 5, 00198 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Rome
#66 Business Hotel in Rome
#94 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#198 Family Hotel in Rome
#233 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Parco dei Principi Grand Hotel & SPA 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Parco dei Principiis superbly located on the border of the historic Borghese Gardens. The hotel has been painstakingly refurbished, recreating the opulence and richness of the patrician villas owned by Rome's nobility in the late 17th century. Beautiful wood paneling in the lobby, precious stuccoes and fabrics, valuable furniture pieces and classic artwork combine to make this a fabulous Roman hotel. The delighful guestrooms offer spelendid views over the city and Borghese Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Parco dei Principi Grand Hotel & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rome
Grand Parco Dei Principi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing