We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace in a busy city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parco dei Principi Grand Hotel & SPA
Ranked #140 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2014

So a great hotel with excellent staff and easily the best indoor pool/spa complex I have ever been to. You must try that out and yes you have to pay 5 euros for a swim hat but is that really that much of an expense and certainly 'normal' in a spa environment in Europe.
Decor a bit 'old fashioned' as my teenage children mentioned but rooms large enough and beds super comfy. We had two rooms overlooking the pool and park and certainly worth it. Try and get a higher floor to see over the trees if possible.Never used the outdoor pool as only here a few days so walked into town to explore. We did park our hire car in the garage for 3 nights but expected the cost so that was ok. We were on a tour of Italy so needed the car.
Its a pleasant 20 minute stroll through the park into the tourist trail and was a welcome reprieve to do it after a days sightseeing. We bought a city tour bus ticket for 48 hours to use to get to the major sights and this was adequate so never used taxis. Had a private tour of St Peters Basilica Dome and got some great shots and history tour of the Vatican from up there, well recommended.
In all a great hotel, decent location and friendly staff. They recommended a couple of nearby restaurants to try whilst we were there in the evening and one of the two was fantastic in terms of food and atmosphere and the other (although pricey) served perhaps the best steak we had ever eaten.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor with park/pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mstraxs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

394 - 400 of 1,369 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

I cannot say enough about this hotel. Amazing in every aspect. The service was incredible. The place is beautiful. You must see the indoor pool even if you do not intend on swimming. It is nothing I have ever seen before!!!! We have a family of six and for 50 euros a night more, they upgraded us to the presidential suite - well worth the money. It was beautiful. The breakfast was a true American breakfast, lunch by the pool was great as well. If I ever visit Rome again, this is the only hotel I would stay at. It is a bit away from the attractions so we had to use cab services, but a very tiny price to pay fpr this luxurious hotel.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for an upgrade -even paying a bit more, it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mtbellini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights and whilst it is a lovely hotel that was enough for me. I prefer smaller, more personal hotels and i felt that this hotel lacked that personal touch. Service was ok but i found the staff on the front desk quite rude. Somebody else mentioned the poor service around the pool, this was true however indo think this wasnmainly due to the fact it was extremely busy. On both evenings the pool closed early which was a shame as it was so hot but to be fair there was a notice up explaining this the day before.
The rooms were lovely and immaculate and the beds were very comfy indeed, i could not fault it. The decor is very classic in style which is not to everyones taste however it suited Rome.
Breakfast was good if a little hectic but again i would put this down to travelling in july.
The garden and pool area is really lovely, i would recommend having a drink outside in the late evening and it has a lovely ambience.
The hotel seems quite far from rhe city centre when you first look at a map but it is walkable through the lovely park, just make sure you wear comfy shoes. If you take this route it brings you out near the Spanish Steps in about 20 minutes.
I'm not sure i would return as it lacked that personal touch i really look for in acommadation however we did have an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: A pool view would be nice, we were on the opposite side overlooking some buildings which was not unp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lp23egg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

What a great hotel! Parco dei Principi was a great escape from the busy city. The staff were always very curteous and very helpful. The rooms were comfortable and clean. Our entire family loved the hotel. If we go back to Rome, we would definitely stay at Parco dei Principi again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My husband and I plus our 2 children in their 20s stayed for 4 nights at this hotel to celebrate a special birthday. Our stay surpassed our wildest expectations. Before we arrived I was a little worried that it was going to be too far away from the centre and that to take trips out to explore the centre and eat out would become a chore. The reverse was true. It was only a short taxi ride away and in the heat of the summer it was bliss to escape to the beautiful tree-lined streets with the backdrop of the Borghese gardens to the calm and serenity of the hotel.The decor is beautiful and the rooms comfortable. The concierge in particular was charming and went out of his way to be helpful and nothing was ever too much trouble even when we changed our minds.. The food both in the restaurant and by the pool was excellent and the outside pool and spa wonderful and a real bonus. All in all, it was a perfect stay and I would return tomorrow in a shot if offered!

Room Tip: Views are better from higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cdlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We spent 3 nights at this hotel, we were impressed with our stay, the staff were friendly, the concierge showed us to our room, which was luxurious, very clean and smelt fresh. The indoor swimming pool is amazing, lots of jacuzzi jets, the only downsize is that you have to purchase and wear a swim cap which costs 5 euros. The breakfast buffet was a good variety of cakes, fruit, and bacon, egg etc. the mini bar is very expensive, it was 8.50 euro just for a can of coke! You can buy these in the city centre for 1 euro. The zoo is next to the hotel which is very good. When we checked out we were told we had to pay a city tax of 6 euro per night, we were not told about this on arrival. So apart from the hidden costs, the overall stay was very pleasant. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 101Shaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We booked Parco dei Principi because it was located close to ventral Rome and had a pool. Frankly we were not expecting anything more than an adequate place with a good location. We more than completely surprised by the hotel. It is a beautifully appointed hotel with terrific and friendly staff. The place is really a luxury hotel. Location, being right next to Villa Borghese park, was very good. It is far enough away from Centro Storico that it is quite but close enough that most of the attractions are within a 15 min cab ride. If one likes to walk a stroll through Villa Borghese park is very pleasant.

Room Tip: Get a room looking over the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bitbanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Trastevere
Gran Melia Rome
Gran Melia Rome
#87 of 1,272 in Rome
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
The Westin Excelsior, Rome
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#50 of 1,272 in Rome
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parco dei Principi Grand Hotel & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parco dei Principi Grand Hotel & SPA

Address: Via G. Frescobaldi, 5, 00198 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Rome
#66 Business Hotel in Rome
#86 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#130 Family Hotel in Rome
#233 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £176 - £332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Parco dei Principi Grand Hotel & SPA 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Parco dei Principiis superbly located on the border of the historic Borghese Gardens. The hotel has been painstakingly refurbished, recreating the opulence and richness of the patrician villas owned by Rome's nobility in the late 17th century. Beautiful wood paneling in the lobby, precious stuccoes and fabrics, valuable furniture pieces and classic artwork combine to make this a fabulous Roman hotel. The delighful guestrooms offer spelendid views over the city and Borghese Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Parco dei Principi Grand Hotel & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rome
Grand Parco Dei Principi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing