We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Lord Byron

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Lord Byron
Ranked #65 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2011

We recently stayed four nights at the Lord Byron and I would definitely recommend it. We had a triple room and my mum a double room both which were a good size. There were toiletries and a free soft drinks mini bar included. At night the beds were turned down, slippers laid out for you and the electric shutters put down. The breakfast was adequate but lacked much choice. The staff could not have been more helpful, nothing was to much trouble. The hotel is a little way out of Rome, a taxi costing between 7-12 euros to the city. We had a private terrace off our room which was lovely to relax on in the evenings. The hotel was what a would call boutique style.

Room Tip: Eat at the nearby Trattoria
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chez68blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    138
    50
    13
    7
See reviews for
90
368
23
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eu, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2011

My family and I just returned from a long weekend in Rome and we stayed at the Lord Byron in a suite. I travel a lot for work and leisure and I have never posted on Trip Advisor because our trips usually are great. However, I felt that it was necessary to post our experience at this hotel so that other families with young children are aware of it.

After reading the great reviews of this 5 star, we were excited about the trip. When I booked the room in December, I communicated in writing that I would need 2 baby cribs. A week before our arrival, I wrote to the hotel to reconfirm and the resident manager told me that a crib or a rollaway would be an option for our older child. I explicitly told her that I wanted 2 cribs. She said fine. When we arrived, I was told that only one crib was available. I informed the front desk that this was not acceptable given my original communication and my correspondence with the manager last week. We went up to the suite and found that the hotel had already pulled out the couch and made it up as a bed. This irritated me even more. Forty-five minutes later, the front desk called me and said that they had another crib. When the crib arrived, I was not impressed. It looked like a small wooden crate with bars around it with a mattress as thick as a sponge. This is not 5 star service. To put things into perspective, the Four Seasons has beautiful brass cribs decorated with colorful buntings, beautiful bed linens, a stuffed animal and a welcome gift for children.

Later at breakfast, we were told that there was only 1 high chair in the restaurant. I could not believe it. The poor other family with a young child had no high chair to use at all.

Some of the other reviewers wrote about how it was lovely to walk through the park to get to the city sites. This is true if you don't have a stroller with 25 kilos of kids in them. The hotel is situated on top of a hill. To get to the sites, one must walk down a big hill, then walk up a big hill and then down again and then of course, up, down, up on the way back. It takes about 15-20 minutes to get to the closest site, about 1.5 hours to get to the Colosseum. We like to walk a lot but it is hard to avoid taking cab at all if you stay at this hotel. Again, if you don't have young children, that is fine. If you do and have to drive without car seats in a taxi, it's not exactly safe.

My advice to the hotel is to invest in some basic baby equipment: comfortable cribs and more high chairs if you want to accommodate families with young children. Families with young children may want to stay closer to the center to avoid the long hilly walk to the sites.

Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Jardinier2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2011

We got married in Rome on March 31st and stayed six nights at the Lord Byron Hotel with our children and parents. The staff speeks excellent English and I was very satisfied with our choice of hotel. The rooms are elegant, quite large and cleaned every time you leave your key at the reception. The concierge service was polite, efficient and helpful with all our requests, such as providing a babysitter, hairdresser, wedding bouquet, restaurant recommandations etc. Genuine hospitality and friendlyness seems to be their trademark.

Room Tip: Call the hotel and get personal service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristinm25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
188 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2011

If you like smaller hotels (32 rooms) you will like this one. Very good staff, reasonable cost, and good food as well. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minsk, Belarus
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2011

I stayed in this hotel with my husband at the beginning of March. The location of the hotel was excellent, in a quiet and green place.

The rooms were cosy and it felt more like visiting a friend than staying in a hotel. The staff were extremely friendly and helped us to make the most of our visit to Rome with helpful advice and help with booking museum tickets etc.

I would definitely stay there again and recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryna_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2011

We stayed at The Lord Byron for 4 nights and were thoroughly impressed with everything connected to this beautifully art-deco furnished hotel. The hotel is a short walk from the centre of Rome, but you can either take a taxi (which were always instantly available) or walk through the Borghese Gardens to get there.

The staff are extremely service minded, very polite, and the general service level is second to none. The whole hotel is decorated in an art-deco style and is casual elegant. It feels like a home away from home. Everything is kept spotlessly clean and serviced throughout the day.

The bar provides excellent drinks and dinner at the restaurant was superb. The breakfast buffet is also worth complimenting.

This is definitely our choice of hotel the next time we are in Rome and will also use their partner hotel in Florence when we go there.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2011

We stayed at The Lord Byron for a long weekend and were delighted in all aspects of this beautifully furnished and managed hotel. Although a short walk from the centre of Rome the bonus is that you can walk through the Borghese Park to get there - an added bonus as the park was beautiful.


From the time we arived until we left all of the staff were nothing but friendly, polite and extremely helpful Service was quietly efficient but totally unassuming and the decor was beautiful and reflected the luxury of the hotel. We loved the wardrobes in the bedroom - you must go there to witness them and the bedroom was kept spotlessly clean and serviced throughout the day. If I had any "complaint" with a very small "c" it would be the lack ot tea and coffee making facilities in the bedroom.

Although we didn't dine in tthe hotel braekfast was superb and as with everything with this hotel nothing was too much trouble. We will certainly return if we come back to Rome or we will use their partner hotel in Florence.

Another good choice thanks to Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Midge13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amedeo_Ottaviani, Proprietario at Hotel Lord Byron, responded to this review, 16 March 2011
Dear Guests,
We thank you for your feedback and for your nice review. Regarding the tea & coffee facilities we remind you that you have the possibility to order your tea or coffee through our Room Service. We look forward to welcome you again in the near future! Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#105 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
#149 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lord Byron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lord Byron

Property: Hotel Lord Byron
Address: Via Giuseppe de Notaris 5, 00197 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#74 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#118 Family Hotel in Rome
#161 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Lord Byron 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the luxurious Villa Borghese and the chic shopping of Via Veneto, the exclusive Hotel Lord Byron, once a patrician villa, provides the best of both worlds: vicinity to the bustling Eternal City's main attractions and the opportunity to relax in a secluded environment surrounded by the staff's attentive and discrete attention. The property is a proud member of "Small Luxury Hotels of the World". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lord Byron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Byron Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing