We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, nice hotel but NOT 5 stars!!!”
Review of Hotel Lord Byron

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Lord Byron
Ranked #75 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quiet, nice hotel but NOT 5 stars!!!”
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We stayed here during the first week of July for 4 nights. The hotel is nice but somewhat dated. The location is a bit tough if you like walking to any place in Rome-- we tried walking the first day but then took taxis for the rest of the trip. We really expected the service to be better considering this was a 5 star hotel. There was only one person working at the desk upon check in and several guests were waiting to either check in or check out, which took up to 30 minutes. The front desk was not too familiar with the area and thus did not give any good recommendations for restaurants. The hotel restaurant felt very tired. The morning breakfast the worst of our entire trip (we stayed at 5 different hotels). There was only one person working in the breakfast area and he did not seem to care about cleaning the tables, thus plates were stacked on top of one another if you went back for other food from the buffet. Overall we did not have a good experience despite staying 4 nights and we would not recommend this hotel for anyone under the age of 40 years old.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cvn219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    140
    50
    15
    7
See reviews for
96
377
23
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Merseyside
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

This hotel must be one of the most luxurious small hotels in the world, never mind Rome, surpassing the Savoy in London and the Waldorf in New York where we have previously stayed. The location is a quiet with gardens nearby, yet a short taxi ride from the tourist and shopping areas. Both the public areas and the bedroom we had were impeccably furnished and prepared, and every member of staff we encountered made us feel personally welcome, and wanted to help make our stay memorable, which it was. Royalty would feel at home here.....................EXCEPT......................
for the food.
Breakfast was the standard help yourself buffet.
Our one dinner was the worst hotel meal we've had in 50 years of travelling. As our main course we selected baked lamb described as a traditional dish prepared with potatoes, herbs and vegetables. What came were 4 tough as boots chops obviously grilled on a griddle (you could see the stripes) with a dollop of spinach and a few asparagus shoots, swimming in the water the spinach had been boiled in but not properly drained. Our complaint regarding the absence of potatoes resulted in the arrival of 2 small spuds which had been hastily sliced and fried!
Flamboyantly described desert turned out to be ice cream with pieces of croissant.
Wine by the glass was charged @ 9 Euros for a 120 ml measure, an indication of how outrageously expensive the meal was for what was provided.
So. We recommend you stay here, but eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kfandeaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Great Service...clean and accomodating. We stayed here for 3 nights. About 20 minutes walk away from central sites but in a nice boutique part of Rome near National theatre. A little pricey but if you want piece of mind especially with kids it is fantastic. Knowlegable staff and great restuarant.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Traveller007_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We stayed here during a two-day Rome stop before the flight home. The hotel is lovely and the service is impeccable. Parioli is quiet and attractive. I'm not sure I would recommend the neighborhood to a first timer in Rome, but for me Parioli will be the choice from here on out. Whether it's the long walk through the Borghese or a cab ride, getting there is a pleasure. Once you arrive, there's a pleasant neighborhood feel and some good restaurants.
One of us met the owners, Mr. and Mrs. Ottaviani, in the lounge. They were welcoming and gracious and took the time to show and explain the hotel's art collection. What more can I say?

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuillermoAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

In the hustle bustle of Rome, it was very nice to escape it and stay at the beautiful boutique Hotel Lord Byron. Situated in an upscale residental area of the Borgese Gardens, walking through the Gardens daily gave us an opportunity to walk off the food and wine we consumed in Rome. The Hotel's food & service was first class, 5 stars. The hotel has 32 rooms, and unless we went to breakfast, we didn't know anyone else was staying there. If you love privacy, special service & food, you will love The Hotel Lord Bryon!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LovingItaly51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON, ENGLAND
Level Contributor
164 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Rome is a great city to visit; the sights are incomparable, restaurants and atmosphere unique, but the hotels are often a disappointment and usually very expensive for their grade. Picking the right hotel is, I suggest – one of the hardest travel choices in Europe.
The Lord Byron is a boutique 5 star and almost unique in this city. It’s in a quiet area north of the Borghese Park, so it’s a taxi ride to anything from here. Money may not be an issue to you but taking 4 taxis a day is very time consuming and inconvenient, if you do daytime sight-seeing followed by an evening outing. There is nothing within walking distance except the art gallery and the park, which is very big.
The hotel has rooms and suites for all desires ranging from expensive to really expensive. Anywhere else it would be over-priced, but in Rome you can’t say that, as expensive takes on new heights.
We took the B&B rate, and enjoyed the buffet breakfast in the small basement restaurant. There is a small bar and fine dining is served in the restaurant in the evenings. We didn’t eat in, so cannot comment.
The only other public room is a lounge area behind reception, furnished with sofas, art and mirrors, with many books. The idea is that it should be like staying in a private villa.
The decor will please some and turn-off others; it’s ornate and arty baroque style in the public rooms and rather retro 80s style plush in the bedrooms. Modernists will dislike it. Traditionalists may love it. Free mini-bar soft drinks, fruit and excellent air-conditioning, together with a large if firm bed, made for comfortable accommodation. Internet Wi-Fi worked well, but was slightly annoying that it required new password cards every day.
A surprisingly absent element is the lack of any outside space at all. There is no garden or place to spend time outside, save for a small seating area beside the front steps. I think this is a significant issue and disadvantage.
I found the service fast, friendly and helpful in every respect. In the restaurant and at the reception the staff did their very best to help and did it well.
All in all it was a luxurious but somewhat unusual experience. I personally wouldn’t return as I like space and external public areas in a 5 star hotel; also the location meant just too many taxis for my liking to get to anywhere.
But if what you really desire is a luxurious private room or suite set away from it all, with excellent service on tap, then the Byron could well be for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor so you get a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Toofastcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

A colleague of mine and I were again in Rome in May and as usual stayed at the Lord Byron. We also had been to Florence prior to arriving in Rome and stayed at the Lord Byron's sister hotel, The Regency. Both were, as always, "incredible" places. My wife and I are returning to Rome in July and will of course stay at the Lord Byron. I am always welcomed and made to feel as if the hotel is truly my home. I recommend Mr. Ottaviani's establishments to all of my colleagues in the US.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fraschillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#57 of 1,257 in Rome
1,343 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
#124 of 1,257 in Rome
917 reviews
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lord Byron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lord Byron

Property: Hotel Lord Byron
Address: Via Giuseppe de Notaris 5, 00197 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#74 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#118 Family Hotel in Rome
#161 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Lord Byron 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the luxurious Villa Borghese and the chic shopping of Via Veneto, the exclusive Hotel Lord Byron, once a patrician villa, provides the best of both worlds: vicinity to the bustling Eternal City's main attractions and the opportunity to relax in a secluded environment surrounded by the staff's attentive and discrete attention. The property is a proud member of "Small Luxury Hotels of the World". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Lord Byron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Byron Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing