We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem of a Hotel”
Review of Hotel Lord Byron

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Lord Byron
Ranked #42 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Our 4-night stay at the Lord Byron was outstanding in every respect. The room was large, even by American standards, and luxuriously appointed. The walk-in closet was a pleasant surprise. The all-marble bathroom met every need. Service is consistently outstanding - from the front desk to housekeeping, room-service and restaurant. The restaurant provided a gourmet dining experience that remains one of the highlights of our trip. The hotel is located in a quiet, upscale residential neighborhood of Rome, a few kilometers from city center. Taxis are readily available.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RM_Maryland_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (692)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

333 - 339 of 692 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2013

A week ago I stayed with my mother at Hotel Lord Byron in Rome. It was a magnificent experience. The hotel's location first of all was nothing less than perfect. It was in a neighborhood which was very serene and quiet. The distance from the hotel to downtown Rome was five minutes by taxi and you could walk through villa bourghese, which is a breathtaking garden. The whole staff was extremely friendly. The hotel's ambience and atmosphere was heart warming and very home-like. We loved how the staff greeted us and told us good bye every time we came in or went out. The rooms were very cosy, clean and elegant. My balcony overlooked a few buildings in the neighborhood with the gardens and it was just incredible. It made me feel like I was living in Rome rather than being a tourist at a hotel. We could not have asked for more.

Room Tip: We recommended our rooms to have different furnishing than red. It was simply our reference. I'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maisoun a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Just back from 5 outstanding nights spent at this wonderful hotel. Gorgeous, authentic décor, with impressive attention to the smallest detail, is present everywhere in the common areas: reception, hallways, sitting rooms, lounge and restaurant. The service is irreproachable – helpful, attentive, discreet. Great location: just outside of the city center, yet close enough by walk or a quick taxi ride. It really does feel like home away from home. The breakfast buffet included in the price of the room is comprehensive, with eggs, fruit, cheeses, cold cuts, salmon, jams, cereals, cakes, pastries, selection of coffees (...not sure what certain of the previous reviewers had to complain about ?!). Yet, there is something missing, for it to be a true 5 star hotel, and it has to do with the rooms. They are, indeed, in need of freshening up, like other reviewers also mentioned: old carpets with missing bits, tired curtains in need of change, the décor sometimes questionable, the occasional peeling wallpaper (also in some places in the hallways). It seems like the rooms are not necessarily maintained to the same standards as the common areas are, and this is a pity, because it would not take much to keep everything at the 5-star level. This said, I definitely recommend the hotel, and would consider it a top choice when back in Rome.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Florins11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

First time to Rome, so we were a little worried about where to stay. This hotel was out of the way but was worth the short taxi rides for the safety & peace of mind there. The rooms are stunning, all marble, soft furnishings, we had a terrace. Breakfast was great & we had drinks at the bar late in the day. It is a small luxury hotel & we'll be back.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

First, the pros: Several members of the hotel demonstrated excellent service (I.e., front desk and breakfast), good value for 5-star hotel, great proximity to the park, and breakfast, which was included in rate, was decent.

Now for the cons: The hotel rooms were small, outdated, and worn-down. Edges of the wallpaper in the bathroom were peeling noticeably. Service was not consistent. Some members of staff were extremely attentive and friendly (I.e., most front desk personnel), while others were unfriendly and unattentive (there was an older gentleman that ran the hotel bar one night who was taciturn when he was around, but was nowhere to be found most of the evening; a night reception staffer was unaccommodating when we asked if we could pack some breakfast items to go the next morning since our taxi left for the airport at 7:00am and breakfast opened at 7:00am). The hotel really was quite far outside the city center, though we knew that when we booked so no fault to the hotel.

Overall, we were non-plussed and will stay elsewhere next time we are in Rome.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kmrmpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amedeo_Ottaviani, Proprietario at Hotel Lord Byron, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Dear Guest,

we thank you for your comment and we appreciate the positive ones on our team.
All our efforts are made to make our Guest’s stay pleasant and memorable; we will continue to improve our standards in terms of staff and hospitality.

Regarding the rooms, we refresh them regularly to assure our valued Customers high standards. Please note that the property is an Art Déco style hotel and many antiques pieces are displayed all around . Kindly note that there is no wallpaper in our bathrooms.

We are in the exclusive area of Parioli, just a few steps from Villa Borghese: a calm and beautiful area only a few minutes away from the historical centre!

We really hope to welcome you again soon and show you our “vintage” hospitality.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

On our return to Italy this May we again stayed at our favorite hotel in Rome, The Lord Byron. As usual we were greeted with the same wonderful hospitality that would be afforded to an old friend or family member. On this trip, we brought friends from Ohio who agreed with us that this was truly a special place. We plan to return in the fall and again enjoy this great "home away from home." As in the past, I recommend the Lord Byron to anyone who enjoys a quiet beautiful space with exceptional service.

Room Tip: Simply contact Linda, the interim reservations manager. Often she can help you with a vacancy that y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fraschillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

PROS: This is a lovely hotel in a quiet neighborhood away from the hustle and bustle of the city center. This cuts both ways. You don't have to deal with the noise or the hoards of tourists. The rooms are large for Rome standards, beautifully appointed bathroom, elegant breakfast room. The staff are very pleasant. The continental buffet breakfast was not very good, but it was acceptable. the only thing that would have made it better was if the had a choice of breads and well cooked eggs, or even made to order omelets. The pastries are yummy, there is an assortment of cereal. It would have been nice to offer fresh fruit, rather than fruit cocktail type fruits, but that is a personal preference.

CONS: The hotel is located far away from the sights and more importantly, it is not convenient to go back to the hotel to stop and rest or whatever. If you find a competitive rate, you want to consider the 20euro it will cost you per day for a taxi (round trip). This is about a 10 minute drive. It really is not convenient to cut through the park.

I found a great rate which included breakfast which was very important as the price of hotels in Rome are very high. Again the breakfast was just ok, but since it was part of the cost of the hotel, it was acceptable. I would stay here again because the hotel really is lovely. This was our first time in Rome and this hotel may be better for those on repeat journeys, but nevertheless, I found it charming and it was the perfect end to every evening in Rome.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travlbug555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#50 of 1,271 in Rome
1,453 reviews
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Campo Marzio
The First Roma
The First Roma
#31 of 1,271 in Rome
877 reviews
Esquilino
NH Collection Roma Palazzo Cinquecento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lord Byron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lord Byron

Address: Via Giuseppe de Notaris 5, 00197 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#74 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#161 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £148 - £338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Lord Byron 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the luxurious Villa Borghese and the chic shopping of Via Veneto, the exclusive Hotel Lord Byron, once a patrician villa, provides the best of both worlds: vicinity to the bustling Eternal City's main attractions and the opportunity to relax in a secluded environment surrounded by the staff's attentive and discrete attention. The property is a proud member of "Small Luxury Hotels of the World". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Lord Byron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Byron Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing