We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful small hotel”
Review of Hotel Lord Byron

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Lord Byron
Ranked #66 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, VA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful small hotel”
Reviewed 2 July 2008

The Lord Byron is a wonderful small hotel conveniently located but in a quieter neighborhood than Rome's other five star hotels. The restuarant is great. The rooms are large and comfortable. It is mostly frequented by Brits so you'll have no trouble speaking English with the staff. Excellent service. I left a piece of my baggage there and they hed it sent to me via fed Ex within two days.

  • Stayed November 2003, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GKGAlexandria_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    416
    142
    50
    15
    7
See reviews for
96
384
23
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, TN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2008

We stayed at the Lord Byron for 3 days at the end of May 2008. It is a lovely hotel with warm, welcoming service. The only negative is its distance to anything you want to visit. According to the hotel fact sheet: HOTEL SERVICES AND FACILITIES, include:

* Courtesy shuttle service to the city centre/via Veneto, Piazza del Popolo, Spanish Steps & via Condotti

We were informed upon arrival that this service had been discontinued. For some this would not matter; however, for my husband who has arthritis in his foot and ankle this was a major problem.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kathyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Free Union, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2008

I agree completely with what others have said about the Lord Byron. The service is truly top notch and could not be better. But some of the rooms leave something to be desired. Our first room was very small, tacky, had a mediocre view and was overall underwhelming. My husband talked to the front desk and we moved to a different room that was much much better.

We ate dinner there one evening as well. The food was ok but the wine selection was excellent and very reasonable.

  • Liked — The service
  • Disliked — The room
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2008

Very nice luxury hotel in a leafy section of Rome far from the crowds. Check in staff was very friendly and the room was comfortable and stylish.The breakfast buffet was pretty good.coffee was not hot, but cappucinos were included, although they were a little weak. I was disapponted with the hotels recommendation for dinner.I asked the concierge to recommend a trendy ,glamorous,hot restaurant in Rome. He sent us to a nice,local family restaurant. To my consternation,we met other guests of the restaurant there who came with their strollers and babies. We told him we were in Rome a short time and we really wanted the right place.obviously he sends everyone to the same restaurant no matter what you ask for.He is probably getting a kickback. I was very annoyed.
Other things to keep in mind if you are thinking of staying here:
This hotel is NOT near the Spanish steps and the tourists sites of Rome. It is a long walk .most people take cabs.You may find it hard to get a cab to take you back to the hotel and after a long day of sightseeing ,you may not feel like walking so far back.
Also, this is a luxury hotel but there are no additional services like a fitness center.There are only 2 English language channels on TV, no pay per view movies.you may not care about this,but if you feel like relaxing and watching TV after a long day of touring, your choices are limited.They have no DVD players or Ipod docks either.So bring a book.
Allow all, a very nice ,quiet small luxury hotel,far from the hubub of Rome.if that is what you seek, this is a good choice.

  • Liked — Art deco hotel and lovely room
  • Disliked — Far from tourist sites
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ewe35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IRELAND
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2008

Brilliant Hotel. Great food in the restaurant. Beds a bit on the hard side but still had a goods nights sleep. Staff all very kind all helpfull. I would go for a bigger room the next time I go.
A bit of a walk to the city but not too bad.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank PRESCENG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2008

We had a wonderful 3 nights at the Lord Byron and would certainly recommend this hotel. It would suit anyone looking for an elegant yet quiet boutique hotel outside of the hustle and bustle of the city (20 minute gentle walk to the Spanish Steps.)

After a days exploring in the city it was a delight to return to the peace of the Lord Byron - would would stay again.

  • Liked — The service.The bar and lounge area. The peace
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cshaw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannes
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2007

Really a great place to stay in Roma. You want to be in a home sweet home after a walking day. This hotel is the good place.

Near the famous villa Borghese in the north center, the hotel is calm, clean and the service above average (a dream : smile & service).

10 minutes from the center of the city in taxi (8-9 €) or 25 minutes walk through the Villa Borghese Park.

Choose the luxe room or the suite if you can, the classic is a little bit old fashioned...

Choose the Byron Hotel and have a wonderfull trip in the most beautiful antic city.

  • Liked — The tradition of the service
  • Disliked — The quality of some elements in the classic doubleroom : television, decoration, view.
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zepelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#67 of 1,258 in Rome
1,352 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#111 of 1,258 in Rome
1,095 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lord Byron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lord Byron

Property: Hotel Lord Byron
Address: Via Giuseppe de Notaris 5, 00197 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#74 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#118 Family Hotel in Rome
#161 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Lord Byron 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the luxurious Villa Borghese and the chic shopping of Via Veneto, the exclusive Hotel Lord Byron, once a patrician villa, provides the best of both worlds: vicinity to the bustling Eternal City's main attractions and the opportunity to relax in a secluded environment surrounded by the staff's attentive and discrete attention. The property is a proud member of "Small Luxury Hotels of the World". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Lord Byron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Byron Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing