We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regular bolt hole in Rome”
Review of Hotel Lord Byron

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Lord Byron
Ranked #58 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Regular bolt hole in Rome”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We have been staying at the Lord Byron for many years and it never ever disappoints.
If you are looking for Shrager edgy, then this is not the place for you. If, however, you prefer art deco glamour, comfort and perfect service, then look no further.

Set in a calm location yet near to many 'must visit' places e.g. Villa Giulia, the Modern Art Gallery, Borghese Gallery and the Parco della Musica if you fancy a concert, a 20 minute walk through the Borghese Gardens gets you to Piazza Popolo.

At the end of a hard days slog, returning to the Lord Byron is a great pleasure, and a trip to the glamorous bar before going out in the evening is a must . Rooms are well equipped and comfortable with large beds and top quality bed linen. Rooms are serviced twice daily. Some rooms, not sure how many, have outside space.

The thing that makes this hotel outstanding, however, is the quality of the service. Everyone, just seems to want to ensure all guests are not only happy, but exquisitely happy. It takes many years of team building and great staff to be able to deliver this kind of service. An example of this was a waiter at breakfast who deftly jumped in to help serve a young guest who was about to grab a handful of food from a bowl on the buffet. It was the kind of service that was absent in a hotel in which we recently stayed, where young children trailed their hands all over the breakfast stuff every morning.

The fact that this hotel has been an is still all been overseen by the 'proprieter manager' must be this hotel's secret.

Room Tip: Some rooms have an outside space which is a great bonus in a city hotel. Ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kd100_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    143
    50
    15
    7
See reviews for
99
388
23
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We have stayed in Rome several times, and this was the best. The Lord Byron Hotel was beautiful, in a quiet, beautiful part of Rome. It was easy to walk or taxi to our favorite places, but we really enjoyed ending the day at the Lord Byron. The staff was amazing, arranging for tickets to the Borghese Gallery, reservations to restaurants, as well as arranging for our transportation from and back to the airport. We enjoyed the beautiful bar, and actually dined there one evening. Our dinner was wonderful, and very recommended. We also dined at an incredible restaurant within walking distance, Pagaroma, and, once again, would give this a high recommendation. Our room was so lovely, with a patio outside. We really could not have asked for a better end to our trip to Italy. We would love to return to Rome and the Lord Byron Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MFSSantaBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We loved everything about this hotel. The only drawback could be the location - it's a little far north of most of the attactions. But it you're not afraid to walk or take the city bus it's pefect. It's in a high end neighborhood so you can eat at restaurants where the locals eat - away from the tourists. The rooms were impeccable and the staff extremely helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alekna626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This hotel is truly a charm. Up the most charming cobble stone street is the most beautiful villa known as the LBH –Lord Byron Hotel (indeed fit for an aristocrat) where we found impeccable service, stunning art deco interiors and best of all it is situated right on the Villa Borghese gardens. You can get up in the morning, have your complimentary bottled water and fresh fruit, walk or jog the beautiful gardens which now act as a modern day park, and then enjoy a lovely complimentary breakfast at the hotel. Or, wake up, enjoy your breakfast, then walk off your breakfast through the gardens to the city centre and enjoy a guilt-free day in Rome full of sight-seeing or shopping. You get a true taste of what it is like living as a local in Rome, as this beautiful hotel is situated in one of Rome’s most sought-after neighbourhoods. It is charming, peaceful and is truly your ‘home away from home’ just like they say at LBH. Check out our full review here: www.princesswithabackpack.com

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjakea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

We found this hotel on jetsetter.com and it did not disappoint. The hotel was beautiful and well kept, our room was very spacious and the staff was outstanding. Our room had a patio with a seating area, which was a pleasant touch. Also, the breakfast spared was by far one of the best I've ever had.

The hotel is located in a quiet area which we enjoyed and only about a 15-20 minute walk from the Spanish Steps. There is a tram stop right down the road if you prefer public trans. The staff was great, they were extremely accommodating and more than helpful with restaurant recommendations, calling taxis and helping us get from point A to point B.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

We just returned from 4 nights in Rome and we loved lord byron hotel, staff were so helpful and friendly, the room was really good, clean and spacious. The location is very quiet but the city is very close, 20 min walk or 5 min tram ride. We would certainly stay here again and also plan to try the sister hotel in florance in the future.

Helpful?
Thank Kaye H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel during the first leg of our trip for three nights. It was a great boutique hotel and offered excellent service. It's a little removed from the city's center but we liked that and welcomed the exercise after those heavy Roman meals. They were really helpful with recommendations and the rooms were Beautiful. They served the best breakfast of our trip. They often have deals off of Jetsetter so check it out.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#60 of 1,261 in Rome
1,364 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
#132 of 1,261 in Rome
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Esquilino
NH Collection Roma Palazzo Cinquecento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lord Byron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lord Byron

Property: Hotel Lord Byron
Address: Via Giuseppe de Notaris 5, 00197 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#74 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#118 Family Hotel in Rome
#161 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Lord Byron 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the luxurious Villa Borghese and the chic shopping of Via Veneto, the exclusive Hotel Lord Byron, once a patrician villa, provides the best of both worlds: vicinity to the bustling Eternal City's main attractions and the opportunity to relax in a secluded environment surrounded by the staff's attentive and discrete attention. The property is a proud member of "Small Luxury Hotels of the World". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Lord Byron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Byron Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing