We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great hotel!”
Review of Hotel Lord Byron

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Lord Byron
Ranked #75 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Marlton, NJ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“What a great hotel!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed at the Lord Byron for 4 nights in July. What a fabulous hotel. The accomodations are beautiful. My husband and I were traveling with our 2 children. We were put in 2 rooms that were next to each other but had an outside door that made the 2 rooms into a suite. We were able to leave the actual doors to the rooms open and still have our privacy. The rooms are elegant and clean. The bathrooms are beautiful with large towels. The hotel is a luxury boutique hotel. The people at the front desk were so accomadating. They made all our dinner reservations and we had immediate taxi service. The breakfast was delicious and there were plenty of choices. We had lunch in the lounge and it was delicious in a beautiful setting. The art collection in the hotel is beautiful. My only complaint would be that the hotel is not in the main stream. You can take a 30 minute walk into the heart of Rome but in the heat of July we opted for taxis. There are a couple of museums in the immediate vicinity of the hotel and the surroundings are beautiful and it did make for a very quiet stay. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    140
    50
    15
    7
See reviews for
96
377
23
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

After a lot of research we picked this hotel for a three night family stay in Rome on the way to Umbria.
We are so glad we did!
The reservation staff were terrific and actioned our room requests. That's always a good sign. The concierge seamlessly arranged a hire car for us that was delivered to the hotel at the end of the stay. All the restaurant recommendations were excellent.
The hotel is located in a very quiet area yet you can walk through the Borghese Gardens and be in your first major Piazza in about fifteen minutes. The Vatican or The Colosseum are about a ten euro taxi ride away. The museum of modern art is a five minute walk and definitely worth a visit. Free on Sundays I gather.
We had one Jr. Suite and one standard room. Both had excellent bathrooms with nice toiletries. Housekeeping was very good.
Breakfast was excellent. Fruit, pastries, eggs, juice, tea, coffee, cereals. All you needed and served in a nice bright room.
Staff were great. All spoke good English and nothing was too much trouble.
Recommended and would definitely go back.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank DdB1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This hotel was recommended by my very dear friend as a piece of heaven in the middle of wonderful Rome , and boy was she right !
Arrived 10.30 am and was upgraded to a suite .
Beautiful, spacious , marble bathroom and 2 balconies , couldn't have asked for more.
We had breakfast every day and lunch and dinner in the hotel twice. Food and service top class .
Everyone in the hotel bend over backwards to help you and nothing is too much trouble .
It's about a 20 min walk to the city, but it's though Villa Borghese gardens and that is very lovely.
10 min to the tram for the Vatican and 10 mins to the metro for the colosseum and then a gentle walk back through all the wonderful streets stopping for a gelato or two !
Highly recommend this Hotel .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This Hotel exceeded our high expectations in every way. Beautiful,Spacious Rooms. Outstanding professional staff, Great breakfast buffet. Fantastic Neighborhood which is out of the Tourist Center, Yet conveinent to it and close to Prominent Parioli Neighborhood with its excellent authentic Roman Cuisine. Tremendous value in this hidden jem of a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aspenjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I booked this hotel through the SLH hotel group. For holidays I prefer a small hotel rather than a high rise.
Lord Byron didn't disappoint. The Art Deco furnishings were beautiful.
Hotel room was a good size with a very comfortable bed. Bathroom was spacious.
Breakfast buffet excellent in a very comfortable breakfast room.
Front desk recommended various restaurants and all were excellent.
The hotel is approx 20 minute walk to the Spanish steps.
We found the location of The Lord Byron to be excellent in a very nice,quiet area of Rome.
If we needed a taxi one was there within a few minutes.
We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 2nd floor with a small balcony. It's a really quiet area so absolutely no pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Great little hotel. We unfortunately were stuck in what I call a basement, since it was 2 floors down from the lobby. Also Wifi didn't work there, but it wasn't all that bad. We went to the lobby and got it. Rooms were very clean and staff was also very polite and helpful. I think Lord Byron himself was there when we went and he was always smiling and brought a nice positive vibe to the hotel. Bathrooms looked like there came from a palace. All nice marble and fancy. The room we were given was very big for what we expected and we even had our windows open up to a private terrace, were was filled with little fruit trees.

We decided to walk to the main center of Rome and it was one heck of a walk, but the city was so nice that we didn't mind. It was cold and rainy, but nothing we couldn't handle.

We would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonesh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
182 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 772 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed at the Lord Byron for 3 days while in Rome on business.

Situated just a short 5 minutes walk from the Borghese gardens in the exquisite Parioli neighborhood, one of my favorite areas of the city to stay. Just enough outside the maddening rush of the city but within easy access of all the sights and sounds of Rome that one would want to take in if on holiday.

Stayed in a suite and it was nicely furnished but is starting to show signs of its age could use a bit of TLC but not terrible by any means. Breakfast served daily is a great way to get you started if you're on business or holiday a wide array of items to suit everyones tastes and needs and will fill you as you start your day.

The common areas of the hotel are immaculately clean and well maintained from the lobby rooms to the other sitting areas to outside garden area everywhere seems to create a feeling of relaxation.

The staff overall does a great job of making you feel at home all are professional and gracious giving a real feel of warmth and welcome.

The negative aspects would be that the amenities for such an outstanding property I found to be a little mid range not matching the overall level of such a nice property. Additionally if there on business and you need reliable fast solid internet service it is a bit slow and often spotty.

Bottom line if in Rome the Lord Byron is a good solid choice for your stay I would recommend it.

Room Tip: A suite offers you a wonderful balcony to take in the morning sun and look out over the wonderful ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SEBESZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#57 of 1,257 in Rome
1,343 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
#124 of 1,257 in Rome
917 reviews
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lord Byron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lord Byron

Property: Hotel Lord Byron
Address: Via Giuseppe de Notaris 5, 00197 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#74 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#118 Family Hotel in Rome
#161 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Lord Byron 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the luxurious Villa Borghese and the chic shopping of Via Veneto, the exclusive Hotel Lord Byron, once a patrician villa, provides the best of both worlds: vicinity to the bustling Eternal City's main attractions and the opportunity to relax in a secluded environment surrounded by the staff's attentive and discrete attention. The property is a proud member of "Small Luxury Hotels of the World". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Lord Byron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Byron Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing