We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home”
Review of Hotel Lord Byron

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Lord Byron
Ranked #53 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2010

We arrived late at night around midnight,after our flight was diverted to Rome because of the volcanic ash crisis. We were hungry and tired and luckily the hotel had a room. On arrival, they told us that the kitchens were closed but the charming and sweet doorman told us he would arrange for some food to be brought up to our room. And only 10-15 minutes later, delightful tea and cheese sandwiches were brought up on a silver platter. What more could you ask for?!
Throughout our stay, the reception were extremely helpful. The rooms were magnificent, very romantic. Breakfast was a dream and I honestly cannot say one bad thing about this hotel! Fantastic!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sweety9London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (670)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

454 - 460 of 670 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2010

The Lord Byron is a hotel you will remember forever. The rooms are luxurious and large, with balconies overlooking the Borghese Gardens. The neighborhood is quiet and elegant, more residential than city. Many museums are withing walking distance, the Modern and Etruscan are virtually around the corner, while the Borghese Gallery, considered by many to be among the best, is a lovely 20-minute walk through the Borghese Gardens. The hotel has an excellent restaurant serving lunch and dinner, with an adjacent, fantastic wine bar, and is also used to serve the exceptional daily breakfast. Luxury amenities are abundant and graciously provided, including turndown service. Best of all is the service. Because of the hotel's small size, the concierge, who is absolutely excellent in every respect, is never pressed to rush you, and in our case recommended an excellent guide for both the Borghese and the Vatican Museum, as well as several very good restaurants within walking distance. Most memorable however, was the ubiquitous presence of the owners, who sat across from us at dinner our first night and greeted us daily thereafter with genuine warmth, as one would greet honored guests. It's a bit of a walk, but doable, to the nearest sights, such as the Spanish Steps and the Via Veneto, but the Piazza Populo, where there is a Metro stop, is about 15 minutes through the park. A cab stand however is only down the block, and a cab will be at the hotel if called in less than a minute. In sum, a luxurious, romantic, and charming stay.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldenoughtoknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2010

We could not have picked a better hotel to celebrate our 25th anniversary while we were in Rome. A friend recommended it and it easily exceeded everything we could have expected. Excellent accommodations. First class services and amenities. Great breakfast - just what we need to survive the streets of Rome until lunch. The area was quiet and a great place to settle in after a busy and noisy day touring the sites.
The staff out did it self and handled every request we have from dinner recommendation and reservations to setting up tour guides and transportation. Andrea Lacetera, the
Head Concierge was great and always ready to help. He answered very question we had before and after we arrived. I would go back in a heart beat. On our 2nd day we returned to our hotel and were greeted by an excellent bottle of champagne. A complimentary touch I will always remember.
Hats off to Lord Byron…a wonderful addition to a beautiful.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank themahr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2010

This is a beautiful hotel! Service at it's best. It was a perfect stay by the Spanish Steps!

Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank jetprincess01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2010

Just returned from a six day trip to Rome with my husband and loved our stay at The Lord Byron! The hotel is a beautiful five story art deco mansion with magnificently decorated public spaces (lobby, bar/lounge and restaurant) and an elevator. Our room was on the 3rd floor with a small balcony facing the front of the hotel (#306). It was also beautifully decorated but felt a bit tired (some chipped furniture and tears in the wallpaper), however, it was spacious and very clean. The hotel has very thick glass on the windows as well as mechanical metal shades to keep your room dark and extremely quiet. The pillows are somewhat firm however, we found the bed and pillows perfect for us and slept very well. The bathroom was also a good size with both a tub and shower combination with great water pressure. Nice bath products provided also.
Breakfast in the restaurant was beautiful and delicious - great choices each morning and the best cappuccino made by Fabrizio! The staff is wonderful - very gracious, friendly and very informative regarding getting around the city and recommendations for dinners. The only negative comment we have is that the location was farther away than expected. The hotel is in a very beautiful, residential, quiet and safe neighborhood, however, it is about 20-30 minutes away from the center of Rome on foot. You don't want to start your day tired and at the end of each day of wandering the city you are quite tired and we had to take taxis. There are some good local restaurants (Blokk was delicious!) but you can't just wander out of the hotel and find a gem as you can in Trastevere.
Overall, the Lord Byron Hotel was a wonderful, elegant stay...

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizabar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amedeo_Ottaviani, Proprietario at Hotel Lord Byron, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2010

Dear Guests,

We are pleased to know you have spent a lovely time at Hotel Lord Byron, Rome, THANK YOU!

Please consider Hotel Lord Byron your Home away from Home and we will hopefully have the pleasure to welcome you back in the future!

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2010

Mr. Amedeo Ottaviani has lived his passion in developing the premier botique hotel in Rome. At the most desirable location in the City, he has created an Art Deco masterpiece combined with an unequaled staff committed to your enjoyable stay. This was our second stay at the Lord Byron and it certainly will not be our last.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MooreTampa_FLUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2010

The Lord Byron is a great little hotel - we were on the top floor with a view across the roof tops - no roof tops of note but a view nonetheless. The staff without exception were excellent - without a doubt made the breakfast times special with their smiles and attention to detail. Breakfasts could not faulted and when you realise the prices of food in the city centre - makes you appreciate even more!
Do not stay at this hotel if you want to be in amongst the action. The location made us switch priorities furing our five nights ie had long days and then relaxing evenings back at the hotel. If you want to have the day and then back into town in the evening it will mean taxis. For us the morning walk through the park to the over look was one of the highlights of the day - just depends what your priorities are.
Negatives:- no work station to do airline check in. 'You can hire a lap top' - really after the price we have just paid for the room. Not a good last impression.
The reception suggested restaurant around the corner (loose phrase) Ambasciata d'brutto - the rudest most arrogant waiter we have had the misfortune of coming across. Soon as he realised we weren't going to have five courses and two bottles of wine we obviously took on the appearance of something he had trodden in. Presmably becasue he saw his tip shrinking - well he got that bit right.
The tip instead goes to hotel:- be sure of what you recommend - as it reflects on you.
Finally - hotel pillows ........all I can say is just do not have a pillow fight - hit the wall by mistake and you will take out the building.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amedeo_Ottaviani, Proprietario at Hotel Lord Byron, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2010

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your suggestions!
We always strive to improve our hotel services and we therefore make treasure of your most kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#54 of 1,271 in Rome
1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Esquilino
NH Collection Roma Palazzo Cinquecento
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
#132 of 1,271 in Rome
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lord Byron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lord Byron

Address: Via Giuseppe de Notaris 5, 00197 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#74 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#161 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £136 - £344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Lord Byron 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the luxurious Villa Borghese and the chic shopping of Via Veneto, the exclusive Hotel Lord Byron, once a patrician villa, provides the best of both worlds: vicinity to the bustling Eternal City's main attractions and the opportunity to relax in a secluded environment surrounded by the staff's attentive and discrete attention. The property is a proud member of "Small Luxury Hotels of the World". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Lord Byron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Byron Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing