We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE PERFECT HOTEL EXPERIENCE”
Review of Hotel Lord Byron

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Lord Byron
Ranked #72 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Cranbury, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“THE PERFECT HOTEL EXPERIENCE”
Reviewed 29 December 2010

Our stay at the Lord Byron Hotel was excellent in every way. It is beautiful, the breakfast and restaurant are excellent, the staff is outstanding, it is spotless and complete comfort. Much care is given to every detail of the beautifully presented Art deco style. It is convenient - for walking, using buses, or taxis. I would choose this hotel before any other!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kajunqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    140
    50
    15
    7
See reviews for
96
377
23
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2010

I chose this hotel for a recent visit to Rome with my Italian husband. My husband is an ex hotelier / restauranteur & like many who understand the trade, is difficult to please. This hotel exceeded expectation on all levels, from the quiet friendliness of the staff, to the lovely period furnishings & decor. The hotel is not in the City Centre - but this was not a problem to us - but an advantage - as it was a quiet (& most civilized) retreat after a busy day exploring. The City is a short cab ride away through the Villa Borghese, and wherever you pick to stay, there is always a trip to some of the sights of this massive City. Our room was always clean, and there was a turn down service every evening - but we never saw the housekeeping staff at all & were never disturbed. The owners of this hotel actually live here & there was much evidence of the continuing care & attention of the proprietors throughout.
The restaurant (Sapori) is excellent by any standards - service is personal and of a type so rarely found these days. All in all an excellent small hotel which I would have no hesitation in recommending.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nijinsky53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2010

This was a fantastic place to stay. While it was a short walk from all the historical sites, my partner and I didn't mind at all. We could come back to our room after an exhausting day and enjoy the quiet luxury of The Lord Byron.

Our room's bathtub was enormous - yay! - the bed was super comfortable, and the staff couldn't have been more accommodating and friendly. We especially enjoyed the automatic shade, which completely blackened the room and helped us get over that jet lag much more quickly.

I encourage you to explore restaurants in this neighborhood - they were far superior to the touristy joints in the historic center. And less expensive, believe it or not!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisaomalleyca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 December 2010

We visited Rome to celebrate my husband's birthday, and we wanted a special hotel. Lord Byron Hotel is everything we could have hoped for - it is small, stylish, quiet, and the service is outstanding. The breakfast was delicious with a larger selection than usual in European hotels, and beautifully presented. Our room was spotless and it had a wrap-around balcony. It was completely quiet - you can truly rest here. The common area, or salon, is relaxing and inviting if you want to sit and read, or have a drink. Most of all, we can not compliment enough the concierge, Mr. Andrea Lacetera. He is a treasure! Andrea greets you every day with a smile and there is nothing he wants more than for you to be happy at his hotel! He assisted us with several reservations and everything was seamless. Thank you for a wonderful stay - we would surely go to this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiriO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2010

This was a great hotel. The staff could not have been any more helpful. The hotel is clean, attentive, and reasonably priced. In fact, it was one of the few high points on my recent trip to Rome.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TombRaider55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2010

The hotel Lord Byron is great if you want a luxury quiet hotel, but be aware: it is expensive, and you will find yourself taking cabs to anywhere you want to go. It is located in a mainly residential area, and there are no restaurants or shops within about 4 blocks, but bellmen or front desk are able to call a cab within seconds. They are also good at arranging private cars and guides, which is a great way to see the sights of Rome. The restaurant is excellent, but again, expensive. Also, like almost every hotel in Europe, they charge exorbitantly for wireless service.
I probably would not stay at the Lord Byron again due to the inconvenience of the location, as one of the joys of any city in Italy is walking around to find shops, restaurants, pasticceria (pastry shops) and gelateria (ice cream shops). Just too out-of-the-way.
Prospective visitors to Italy should be forewarned of the difficulty in changing US dollars to Euros; only a few banks will change dollars, and they are limiting the amounts they will change at one time, and they are charging more to change dollars. Hotels will change dollars, but the exchange ratio is too high against the dollar.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank contray_mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amedeo_Ottaviani, Proprietario at Hotel Lord Byron, responded to this review, 2 November 2010
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comment. Yes, the Lord Byron is not located in the city center of Rome but it is the ideal location for those wishing to relax in the nice and quite ambiance after a busy day.
We are improving the WI-FI service and we are sure you will find this service available and free during your next visit to Rome.
Thank you again and kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2010

Tired as we were of overpriced hotels with tiny rooms and dubious air conditioners that - no matter how noisy - could not mask the noisy streets outside, on this trip to Rome we selected the Lord Byron, and could not have made a better choice. With the Borghese grounds separating us from the Piazza Populo and other tourist haunts, this delightful quiet hotel is 20 quiet minutes' walk from the bustling heart of the City.

Our Superior Room, although not large, was more than adequate, was very nicely appointed and warmed with interesting art-deco designs. And so quiet!

The hotel staff were friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. On our first day my wife defeated any risk of jet lag by sleeping in until 11:00 a.m., well past the closing of the breakfast room. No worries. The bar steward provided her with coffee and rolls in the bar once she surfaced! The staff gave us good suggesrtions for local dining, and I would particularly recommend the Ristaurante Ambasciata d'Abruz, a short 10-minute walk from the hotel.

Our only "hiccup" on the stay was that we arranged for pick-up by hotel car on our arrivgal at the airport. When a car finally arrived thanks to some persistent calling by a helpful competitor, the driver had difficulty finding the hotel despite our providing address and general direction. If the first step of the visit was thus not perfect, I hasten to add that everything thereafter was.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eztraveller72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Parioli
Aldrovandi Villa Borghese
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#59 of 1,256 in Rome
1,342 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Indigo Rome - St. George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
#123 of 1,256 in Rome
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lord Byron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lord Byron

Property: Hotel Lord Byron
Address: Via Giuseppe de Notaris 5, 00197 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#74 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#118 Family Hotel in Rome
#161 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Lord Byron 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the luxurious Villa Borghese and the chic shopping of Via Veneto, the exclusive Hotel Lord Byron, once a patrician villa, provides the best of both worlds: vicinity to the bustling Eternal City's main attractions and the opportunity to relax in a secluded environment surrounded by the staff's attentive and discrete attention. The property is a proud member of "Small Luxury Hotels of the World". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Lord Byron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Byron Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing