We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time in Rome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel d'Inghilterra
Ranked #411 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Greater London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Time in Rome”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

For our Golden Wedding my wife selected the d'Inghliterra. It was wonderful five night stay. Our chauffeur from the airport to the hotel was a Roman and very proud of so being. I mentioned I had spent four years at school learning Latin and sixty years forgetting it. The next thing was we had a private tour of Rome where the chauffeur pointed the highlights of Rome - a city he was proud of. A brilliant start to a stay where courtesy and consideration were of the highest order.
The food was excellent and served under the management of Angela - the waiting staff were kind and caring helping us with the choice of local and Sicilian wines. The taster menu was so good we ordered it on two nights. We dined in every night and four of the lunches were taken at the hotel. (We had looked around at restaurants and cafes and there was nothing to attract us as fussy eaters). We felt the dinners were better than the Corinthia in London.
The bedroom was very comfortable and the bathroom were well equipped. The linen and towels of a high standard.
This was a holiday (honeymoon!) to be with us for many a year.
I have no hesitation in commending it to others. ALL of the staff were attentive - nothing was too much trouble. By the way the collection of art books in the Library is outstanding.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SavageTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    127
    70
    45
    40
See reviews for
112
238
26
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

For two world travelers used to the vagaries of international travel, it was such a relief to spend relaxing 4 nights at the Hotel d'Inghilterra in Rome at the end of our cruise. Located near the Spanish Steps, our stay was unmarred by any trivial disorder. In fact, the staff were superbly well-trained and personable without being intrusive. Much to their credit, staff's English was impeccable. And surprisingly their first hand knowledge of our hometown football team floored us. The bar was well-appointed (although having Dewars would have made it perfectly appointed!) The sense of well-being was evident with strangers we met in the bar. A first-rate buffet breakfast also made each day's beginning a pleasure. Being 10 steps away from one of our favorite designers was also a plus. :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emilysop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zreale, Direttore at Hotel d'Inghilterra, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you very much for your lovely comment. We are very pleased to read that your stay was comfortable and that you have enjoyed everything about our hotel.

We really hope there'll be another chance to have you all here soon.

Kind regards,

Massimo Colli
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

I should have written this two years ago, as I stayed there in sept 2012. Maybe the management has changed since then. I won't talk about the best location, the history of the hotel, or the nice architecture. Instead I'll tell you what made D'Inghilterra memorable. We've booked the hotel for 5 nights and paid for them! When we arrived to the hotel, after some great days at Casa Angelina in Praiano, the Reception told us they have no rooms available!!! Obviously it should be a mistake since we already paid for the room! They raised their shoulders and told us that other guests decided to extend their holiday so now they have no space. We're shocked! They offer us an alternative, a similar hotel somewhere else, and when we insisted to get what we've paid for, they offer to pay us the taxi to the respective alternative!! We couldn't believe our ears!! We asked the Manager! He came and told us the same thing. Then he asked us what do we want to do, so I reply we'll check in on the bench in front of the Hotel we've paid for.. after another ten minutes while Mr. Manager was humming something-I-don't want-to-remember, he checked the computer again and gave us a room. So it was possible. Next day we have been moved to a nicer room with a large terrace and a view over the city. In the end was very good. But what a beginning!! Memorable..

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bulfinschi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zreale, Direttore at Hotel d'Inghilterra, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay as it is important for us in order to correct mistakes and take actions.
Needless to say, we deeply and sincerely apologise for this negative experience.
Should you ever consider coming back to the Hotel d'Inghilterra, we would be grateful to have the opportunity to show you our real quality of service and our drive to provide the best possible personalised assistance.

Sincerely,

Massimo Colli
GHotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The hotel has an excellent location, clean rooms and a nice cafe with outdoor seatings. The staff are friendly and welcoming since the moment we walked into the hotel. They have been trying to help us in every way possible. A special thanks to Mr. Massimo Mazzola the head concierge who made our stay extra special, he deserves to be the employee of the year.

Room Tip: The higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Medhawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zreale, Direttore at Hotel d'Inghilterra, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting such a rewarding comment regarding your recent stay at the Hotel d'Inghilterra.
It is without a doubt always our goal to make your stay with us as amazing and memorable as possible and all the staff take very much to heart your declaration.
I am very glad that your own experience met these expectations, and that our colleagues contributed to enhance your Roman experience.
Thank you very much for this very kind comment, we appreciate your time and we do look forward to your return among us.
Best regards,

Massimo Colli
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel and the staff was very friendly and helpful
My check in was the fastest check in I ever have in seconds
The location is great in the Heart of Rome in the middle of via del corso 650 ft from Spanish steps
The rooms decoration is beautiful I LOVE it BUT I recommend you take the large rooms
It's one of my best hotels in Rome

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Noura123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zreale, Direttore at Hotel d'Inghilterra, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for posting this very kind review. We are all happy to read that you enjoyed our service, location and decoration and our staff overall, .

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in a near future.

Yours sincerely

Massimo Colli
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

A civilized hotel in a civilized city. We had an elegant and comfortable, light bedroom and large bathroom. For the centre of Rome the hotel was quiet but with enough atmosphere to know that you are in a large capital city. There is a delightful bar and the staff were helpful though they refused to give us a discount when we had inadvertently overpaid for internet access. However, I would certainly recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsminLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zreale, Direttore at Hotel d'Inghilterra, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad to read your great review about the hotel d'Inghilterra. Thanks for your time.

We appreciate that you enjoyed the style, location and staff service in our property.

We look forward to being part of your future plans.

Kindest regards,

Massimo Colli
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Salem, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We have stayed at the Hotel d'Inghilterra often over the years, always with wonderful service, but our recent experience was what one always hopes to find in a quality hotel and too often does not. After we checked out of the hotel and were now in Paris for a day we realized that a valuable brooch had not been packed in our luggage. We could not remember if it was left in a dresser drawer or in the room safe. I telephone the hotel and spoke with Antonio Chiriaco, who has always been most helpful. He was able to locate the brooch which had, in fact, been left in the room safe. Mr. Chiriaco then researched the best method of getting the brooch to us and arranged to have the brooch sent to us in Paris by UPS. It arrived right on time. Thank you Antonio!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zreale, Direttore at Hotel d'Inghilterra, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to read your sweet and positive review about the Hotel d'Inghilterra.

The staff and myself love our job dealing with special guests like you and wife. Therefore, we feel even more willing to assist you.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Best wishes,

Massimo Colli
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Grand Hotel Plaza
Grand Hotel Plaza
#637 of 1,256 in Rome
1,336 reviews
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#59 of 1,256 in Rome
1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Campo Marzio
Hotel Hassler
Hotel Hassler
#32 of 1,256 in Rome
1,024 reviews
Trevi
Sina Bernini Bristol
Sina Bernini Bristol
#269 of 1,256 in Rome
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Inghilterra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Inghilterra

Property: Hotel d'Inghilterra
Address: Via Bocca di Leone 14, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#219 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#334 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel d'Inghilterra 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel d'Inghilterra, a temple of warm, welcoming Italian hospitality, is in the heart of Rome. Hotel d'Inghilterra is one of Rome's most distinguished and desired destinations. Moments from the iconic Spanish steps, our deluxe boutique hotel sits gracefully at the very heart of historic Rome. Each of our unique rooms and suites is a perfect blend of traditional decadence and modern freshness that embodies Italian design. From the elegant Classic Double rooms to the heavenly Penthouse Suite with its flower filled terrace overlooking the city, every space is resplendent with luxuriant details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel d'Inghilterra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Inghilterra Hotel Rome
Hotel d Inghilterra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing