We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Dei Borgognoni
Ranked #84 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wells, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

The hotel is very central and close to lots of interesting sights in Rome. The hotel is very well appointed and clean. The staff could not have been more helpful and were great fun, didnt realise the Roman's had such a great sense of humour!! If i visit Rome again, I will definately stay in the same hotel, truly fabulous. Only one comment to pass on by way of room for improvement, the eggs and bacon at breakfast were not quite hot enough, cooked but cool, would prefer they were hot. However, the staff at all levels demonstrated exceptional service.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with an outward street view, it was great, air conditioning and sound proofing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    416
    267
    63
    20
    11
See reviews for
176
387
19
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Hotel Borgognoni which is in a perfect central location, 3 minutes to Piazza Spagna and 5 minutes to Fontana de Trevi. At the same time the hotel is located in a quiet street (via de Buffallo) at the same time.
Staff was very friendly, multilingual and the breakfast is excellent with fresh bakery products.
We had a triple room on the 4th floor which was very comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benicia, California
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

After a 7 day whirlwind cruise from Barcelona to Marseille we wrapped up our stay with a few extra nights in Rome. Hotel Borgognoni is a small hotel, but not small in ambience or amenities. In a word? Lovely. We had asked for an inner courtyard superior room as suggested by friends. The cobble stoned streets of this neighborhood teem with tourists, scooters, shops and restaurants, and can be quite noisy - but the excellent double paned windows would have kept that to a minimum street side anyway. Our room was spacious, fairly updated, with a modern, sparkling bathroom and lots of closet space. Front desk staff, ALL staff for that matter, were helpful, friendly, and more than accommodating of our endless questions on where to eat, how to best get there, arranging taxi's, etc. The lobby and common areas are tastefully decorated and comfortable. Breakfast (included) was more than satisfactory, with a basket of delicious breakfast breads delivered to your table, a buffet of eggs, bacon/sausage/prosciutto, etc., fruits, cereals, yogurts, juices and the like along with lovely cappuccino every morning. Coming into the serene hotel and having a glass of wine after a hectic day of sightseeing was a great way to decompress and gear up for the evening out. From the hotel a short walk to Trevi Fountain and the Spanish Steps; walking distance to the Pantheon, with splendid sights of piazzas, fountains, around nearly every turn. A Roma Pass also gave access to the bus system with convenient stops near the hotel for many sightseeing destinations. (Note: We found buses safe and convenient. We stayed clear of Metro trains as recommended, and indeed heard of 3 pickpocket occurrences during our short stay - be smart about purses, wallets, and back packs no matter how you transit about town). Granted, we have no prior experience with Rome hotels to base our opinion on; but we found this one perfect for our needs, good value for what it had to offer, and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Inner rooms are either on, or look over a small tranquil courtyard, very quiet. The courtyard has ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Our 2 night stay was in a very nice hotel dei Borgononi. Very close to every thing we wanted to see but on a quite street. The only problem we encountered was a leaking shower onto the floor. We did not want to change rooms so the hotel gave us extra towels and changed them when requested. Other than that we would stay here again and will on our next trip. This hotel is very close to the Tivi Fountain, 3 short blocks.
Onto Siena on our next review.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mililani, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Let's start with the positive: The young, female front desk clerk is an exceptional individual. She was consistently warm, friendly and accommodating to her guests. She even helped us call a restaurant to cancel our dinner reservations, because we were dead tired from 30 hours of transit. She made up for the lack of courteous which was clearly apparent in the other male front desk employees. The room she upgraded us to was an extra quiet triple room with a private verandah and separate sitting area on the fourth floor. The king size bed was super comfortable and the individual climate control made for a pleasant stay in the warm and humid weather of early September. The real plus was having the convenience of a small market right next door as well as being situated in a central location with unrestricted access to privately hired transportation services.

Now for the negative: Having never visited Rome before, I combed through countless reviews before deciding on where to stay. If you're wondering about this hotel and about the numerous negative comments regarding staff members along with the noise level facing the street, I will confirm those remarks are absolutely true.

First off, if you're not familiar with the layout of the property, it would be wise for anyone to ask questions. After all, the price you pay to stay at this hotel is quite expensive for what you get. However, should the employee you happen to be corresponding with consider your questions to be too specific or too many, you might be met with impatience, apathy, and even rudeness. Such is the case with Enzo, a very poor example of hospitality especially for someone in the hospitality industry.

Second, when reviewers state that rooms in Rome are small, that's really an understatement. For a two people in a triple room, we were cramped. The poor use of square footage contributed considerably to this negative aspect. Also, be forewarned, the tub and shower combo lacks an adequate shower enclosure so you'll need to strategize about how to position yourself while taking a shower in order not to flood the entire closet-sized bathroom with overspray. Good luck!

All in all, as long as you're not planning on staying for very long, this might be a good choice because of the location, the quiet nature of the non-street facing rooms, the market next door, elevator access, and the complimentary buffet breakfast included with your stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dumpling94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borgognoni, Direttore at Hotel Dei Borgognoni, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for exposing the positive experience.... Debora (the young female) is a great person, she always tries to do her best with every guest.

When you arrived in the early morning, thinking to be helpful after 30 hours of travelling, we give you immediately a room ( at that time the hotel was fully booked), this has been done assigning you a room on our last floor. Yes, was not a large room but was the only one available at that time.
Is very important for us, if a gust does not appreciate the room, all our staff will always be vey happy to show an attentive room. At the Borgognoni every accomodation has is own “story and life”, and every room is different, this is the beauty of this hotel.

I spoke with Enzo, trying to understand what happened, as we always receive good feed backs from other clients, but what counts our answer know... , to write that he is the “best”, has no value, I hope that other clients will give different opinion on ENZO, I’m sure about this ….let’s see.

Our job is the best!!!, every day we are living experience together with many guests coming from all over the world, we tray always to understand any kind of request and to accept any kind of feeling, this is our goal, hope to see you at the Borgognoni.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

You can walk to eveywhere from here. Very close to Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps and main shopping district. Very close to where you can catch a shuttle to the port (should you be on a cruise... FYI a cab ride to the port costs about 130 Euros so the shuttle is the way to go. You can walk there from this Hotel)

Some things in the hotel didn't work - like the movie channel or the Jacuzzi part of the bathtub but this really didn't matter to me. The service was great and the staff was excellent. Breakfast was OK. There is a cheaper breakfast place across the street. Hotel is also next door to a mini mart so it is very easy to buy extra water or whatever else you need at the store.

I walked to the Colleseum from the hotel - it was about 20 minute walk but I didn't mind because it was a gorgeous walk. I had no need for a cab because this hotel is literally within walking distance of eveything. I am younger though and in "average" shape (not an athlete but still no problems walking around).

I would stay at this hotel again. Location. Location and really 5 star service at a 4 star hotel. :)
I got a deluxe room which was LARGE and included a king bed. Great size for a European hotel.
VERY SAFE neighborhood. As a solo female traveler - that's always important to me. I was fine walking around in this neighborhood at night on my own.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are huge. I had a king bed and a large bathroom. Courtyard rooms didn't look w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glory453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borgognoni, Direttore generale at Hotel Dei Borgognoni, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Great words from your comment about our hotel, "….really 5 star service at a 4 star hotel…." We really care for service and atmosphere. You are also right to say that the area where is located the borgognoni hotel is extremely save and quite, due also to many public and government offices, and our Parliament in only 300 meters by foot from us, this maybe can help!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights and overall, we liked the hotel. Location, location, location! Service was generally efficient and friendly. Included breakfast was very good. The small room was pretty, clean and comfortable, with ample storage. WiFi worked well, but we had to pay for it in our room, which this day in age, seems ridiculous. Given the room prices, the hotel should include it.
The hotel ignored my request for a room overlooking the garden...which was a bit of a disappointment.

Room Tip: There were rooms with patios in the garden which we would have liked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoldenTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borgognoni, Direttore at Hotel Dei Borgognoni, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
3 days stay in Rome is a perfect time to have a nice overview of the city. You can really get into the history, visiting the main museums, but also the real roman life that is very active, especially at night. Hotel dei Borgognoni is really in the middle of this “active life” but also in the meantime our street is quiet and peaceful.

Very often, Hotel Dei Borgognoni during low season (for example December, January, February or August) offers special rates with a minimum stay of three nights. As you noted, you can come with many luggage as we have in al rooms very large wardrooms with plenty of space.

Regarding the warm and polite welcome of our front desk personal, I’m happy to hire it, but I’m also sorry that you find “ridiculous” to pay Wi-Fi service (only) in the room, even if is TOTALLY FREE IN ALL COMMON AREAS OF THE HOTEL. Just for your information, if you book a double superior room, wifi is complimentary also in the room , and in this category you will find also coffee & tea facilities complimentary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Relais Trevi 95 Boutique Hotel
Trevi
White Hotel
White Hotel
#139 of 1,261 in Rome
996 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#44 of 1,261 in Rome
1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Hotel delle Nazioni
Hotel delle Nazioni
#251 of 1,261 in Rome
1,124 reviews
Colonna
Infinity Hotel Roma
Infinity Hotel Roma
#60 of 1,261 in Rome
643 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,261 in Rome
2,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dei Borgognoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dei Borgognoni

Property: Hotel Dei Borgognoni
Address: Via del Bufalo 126 | Piazza di Spagna, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Rome
#55 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#65 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#149 Business Hotel in Rome
#177 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dei Borgognoni 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel with 51 rooms (4 star superior) all renovated. Free WIFi in all public areas is available. Garage and two Meetings rooms are also available for all guests. Dei Borgognoni is located in the best area of Rome, just 4 minutes to the Spanish Steps and via Condotti, and 3 minutes from the Trevi Fountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Dei Borgognoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dei Borgognoni Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing