We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, location, service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Dei Borgognoni
Ranked #81 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
NC, USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good value, location, service”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I would agree with much of the high marks given to this hotel. The staff spoke excellent English and was most kind and helpful in giving directions and recommendations, the morning breakfast was more than adequate and gave me the opportunity to enjoy the best cappuccino I have had, and the infrastructure was clean, well maintained and showed no signs of age or deterioration. Although our room was small, it met our needs, but the "extra" was the friendly staff that made us feel at home. Although this was not the most luxurious accommodation we were to experience (that cost 3-4 times as much), I would rate the hotel 5 star based on value, service, and location.
Some plusses/hints others might not have mentioned:
1. Although close to Trevi and the Spanish Steps, the fountains at both places were closed when we were there in late July.
2. We had considered many hotels before booking here. After arriving in Rome we saw that many them - especially those that advertised themselves as being close to Trevi and the Steps - were too close to these attractions and had noisy tourist groups milling about outside. The Borgognoni is on a side street leading to these attractions, and although the tour groups passed outside - it was not a place in which they would congregate. Big plus.
3. When you arrive you get a key that keeps the electricity turned on in your room. Ask for two keys, so when you leave and take key with you, you can leave electric on still have your iPad charging

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OldAntique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    256
    60
    20
    11
See reviews for
172
369
18
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Lovely hotel in a great location, close to the Trevi Fountain. The staff were very friendly, we didn't eat in the hotel, but there are a number of restaurants close to the hotel
Tip: there's a gorgeous Italian sandwich bar close to the hotel (come out the door turn left) worth a visit!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caoimhe1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

walking into the room the first day I was shocked to see the tiny room that looked spacious in the pictures
their service is terrible, the doorman saw me struggling with a baby stroller and bags and didnt even bother helping me or openning the door.
the breakfast is poor, I have been eating cream cheese and scrambled eggs for the past 3 days as there is nothing else to eat, bad bad bad breakfast variety, the breakfast buffet suits a 1 star hotel!
I do not recommend this hotel!
the concierge kept pushing us into tours and car services that are expensive just to get the commission percentage they get from them
my brother got stuck in an elevator with his 2 year old daughter while the other elevator was out of service
this hotel does not deserve the rate it got here
if only we were not a big family with kids we would have changed the hotel from the first day but that wouldve been hectic for us
the location is the only good thing here and the service was shocking

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank anoud c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

hotel dei Borgognoni is the place to be in Rome. The location is near to most parts of the tourist attractions. 3 minutes walk to Trevi fountain and the Spanish steps. 10 minutes walk to Piazza Navona and a convenient store right next to it.
The staff are very helpful and the food is great.
If you decide to buy a hop on hop off ticket, the stop is just 2 blocks away from the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JSaints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erbil, Iraq
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

After one hour of checking in a burglar break into my room, managed to open electronic safe and stole cash. Hotel didn't do anything about it. They didn't even called the police. They asked me to go to police station myself to report it. After three different police stations police told me that hotel needs to call 113. Once I returned to hotel I tried hard to convince staff to call police which they did at the end. Rather than that and offering free food they didn't do anything. The whole system seems to be criminal friendly. Please avoid as much as possible and if you already booked don't leave any valuables in the room.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Siamand K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
256 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Great location, good rooms, good food, great staff with one exception. Lovely lady in the bar and breakfast room (you borrowed my glasses, you're great) BUT 50ish receptionist, male, tried to load extras on bill and seemed to think everything was below him. Final word - two concierge were fantastic - professional, funny and helpful.

Room Tip: Get a "superior" room - check your bill if the older bloke is on. Female receptionist was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paddy5658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Our travel agent knew we liked to walk (not use cabs & scooters), and she nailed it. Just a few blocks from the Trevi, the Pantheon, the Spanish Steps, the awesome shopping, the Navona Piazza, and on and on. We even walked to the Wedding Cake, the Colosseum and San Clemente from this lovely hotel. The breakfast was just right in the morning, comfy beds, the concierge helped us with directions or anythings we asked. Wifi was quick and readily available.
Next door to the hotel are affordable lil spots for souvenirs, gelato, a drink.
Such a perfect spot, and comfy inside!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Hotel delle Nazioni
Hotel delle Nazioni
#228 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
Trevi
Relais Trevi 95 Boutique Hotel
Trevi
White Hotel
White Hotel
#143 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonna
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#44 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Madrid
Hotel Madrid
#111 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Trevi
Trevi 41 Hotel
Trevi 41 Hotel
#94 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dei Borgognoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dei Borgognoni

Property: Hotel Dei Borgognoni
Address: Via del Bufalo 126 | Piazza di Spagna, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Rome
#51 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#65 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#149 Business Hotel in Rome
#177 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dei Borgognoni 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel with 51 rooms (4 star superior) all renovated. Free WIFi in all public areas is available. Garage and two Meetings rooms are also available for all guests. Dei Borgognoni is located in the best area of Rome, just 4 minutes to the Spanish Steps and via Condotti, and 3 minutes from the Trevi Fountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Dei Borgognoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dei Borgognoni Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing