We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 4 star, but ok for value”
Review of Hotel Borromini

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Borromini
Ranked #957 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 7 July 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights.

The location is good. It is in a quiet area closing to Villa Borghese. The bus station is 2 minutes, the tram station is 5 minutes away. It takes some time to be familar with the bus/tran connections, but after that is quite conveniet to reach most tourist places.

The issue is the bad soundproof room. At one night, the neighbor room was very noisy unitl early morning, and we heared everything there very clearly. Calling the reception did not really help out, sad! Otherwise the reception was helpful.

Breakfast is good.

Overall it is not a 4 stars hotlel, but a good value for what we have paid (70+ EUROS/night including BB in a low season).

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank A_Snail_Travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Borromini
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2011

Not 4 stars! We stayed here at the end of June, 2011 and totally agree with TNT99 on all points. Biggest problem was the strong stench of raw sewage in the lobby and breakfast area. Response from the front desk was "that's not the hotel's fault!" Also found walls so thin that everything said and done in the next bathroom could be heard. TV volume and AC was pre-set and unchangeable with the room controls. Stains on furniture, stained flooring, rotting moldings, cracked marble, trouser press in two rooms didn't work/no iron. Photos and info. put out by the hotel are misleading - rooms are small and dark; it is not close to bike rental, Rome Center or dependable public transportation. The bus from Rome Center to the stop near the hotel stops running at 9 pm. Very intimidating area - dark, lonely and a far walk from the bus if you stay downtown after 9 pm. It is close to Borghese Park, the Zoo and a few nice cafes.

Room Tip: Highly recommend the ROMA PASS - 3 days free bus, train and tram (except to the airport) and 2 free...
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mellow131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Nice hotel, air conditioned, good breakfast included. Price was pretty good for in the city during peak season. Very gracious people at the desk who took care of our needs (taxis, baggage, restaurants, etc.). The restaurant recommendation was excellent. Bed was comfortable and the shades were very good to keep light out for sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ari56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

We had never been to Rome before our trip for my 40th birthday and only knew a small amount of Italian (hello, your welcolme, thank you, good bye). We were surprised how many people in resturants,shops and museums can speak enough English to make themselves understood and understand us.

The hotel is situated in a peaceful leafy suburb near the Villa Borghese (Rome's main park) and although out of the city of Rome, it still felt like you were not too far away from it as it was easy to get their by the trams and buses.
First buy a travel pass (BTI - biglietto turistico integrato) from a local tabaconist (tabacchi) on your way to Viale Liegi (Ungheria) the nearest stop for number 19 tram and the number 3 bus into Rome (if you have the metro and tram map these routes are marked).

The hotel's Continental buffet breakfast (from 7am to 10am) was delicious (Croissants, pastries,yoghurt,cereals,cakes,cheese,cold meats,various fruit juices, tea and coffee) and the staff were helpful. The staff didn't impose themselves on you which was good.
We were pleasantly surprised to get patio sliding doors leading out to a small balcony with chairs and a table and we sometimes sat out at night listening to the owls hooting in the nearby trees, it was so peaceful.
All the facilities in our room worked fine.
The only drawback was the air con wasn't in operation as they switched it on from June which was a shame as it was warm in our room during April.

Locally there was a several resturants, various shops,supermarket.
We'd stay there again given the chance.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewandJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Stayed here for four nights in May 2011. 15 euros taxi fare from Termini station. Located on a quiet side street so no 'scooter' noise. Reception staff were efficient with the duty manager being particularly helpful with maps and bus advice. Bus stop 100m away with regular service to the city centre. Local cafe has great fresh coffee, only 80 cents, and sells bus tickets. The room was spacious and clean with Satellite TV and Free internet access. Only 'issue' was that we were informed that Roman Law dictates that the rooms air conditioning could not be switched on until July. It was a sticky 14 degrees at night but with the window wide open we coped and just got used to it. Overall a nice, clean, quiet hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wherescharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2011

I spent four nights with my girlfriend in this hotel and despite god service, I have to say that this Hotel has currently lots of problems.
Image of this hotel was far better than the actual experience. Rooms were dark and had bad air conditioning. Also walls were so thin that we could hear neighbours too clearly. We were missing warm water in some of the days and there were something wrong with the Hotel's sewerage and it created a smell problem all aroud the Hotel.
Hotel was also located in a very long distance from the centre which visitors should be aware of.
Not worth of money or the four stars it was supposed to have.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TNT99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

This hotel had a 4 star rating according to other reviewers. It does look good and the rooms are well decorated. They have one of those tubs we've seen in other parts of Italy that has a half glass enclosure instead of one that extends the full length of the tub. This arrangement allows you saturate the floor at the same time you freeze to death while taking a shower. For us it was the worst hotel we've stayed in all of Italy. The staff is rather "snooty". They appear to be too busy playing with their computers to stop for a moment to answer questions of clients. Many sins can be forgiven when the staff is friendly or at least helpful. The restaurant could not get themselves together early enough to provide breakfast. Instead, they put together a BAG of breakfast that was laughable. It contained a soft apple, a wax carton container of APRICOT JUICE, a Little Debbie style cookie, yuk!! No one in our group ate it. There was a baby in the room beside us that cried intermittently through the night. They charged 15 euros PER DAY for internet access!! It takes more than looks to make a hotel nice. This one doesn't pass the test.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mountainview03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Centro Roma
Hotel Centro Roma
#536 of 1,267 in Rome
457 reviews
Hotel Villa Grazioli
#614 of 1,267 in Rome
176 reviews
Monti
Borromeo Hotel
Borromeo Hotel
#274 of 1,267 in Rome
1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,267 in Rome
6,805 reviews
Hotel Beverly Hills Rome
#743 of 1,267 in Rome
17 reviews
Parioli
Hotel Villa Duse
Hotel Villa Duse
#175 of 1,267 in Rome
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Borromini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Borromini

Address: Via Lisbona 7, 00198 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#341 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £189 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Borromini 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Borromini, rampant of the seventies, is located in the elegant, green and calm Parioli area of Rome, at the edges of Villa Ada and Villa Borghese and close to Via Veneto. The Borromini is reachable by car in few minutes from the A1 highway Autostrada del Sole, exit Salaria.After many years, the owners of the building from 1st July 2012 will resume the management to ensure a high quality service and maximum comfort for the Guests.The Hotel has 84 rooms, including Junior Suites and it is provided with 3 function rooms, with a total capacity of 170 seats to suit any meeting need or social event. The spacious private garage will assure safe car parking.Recently Hotel Borromini has been wisely renewed and technologically updated, becoming the ideal place for any type of individual or business stay.The Cafè Borromini is the soul of the Hotel Borromini where you can appreciate an innovative, genuine and appetizing menu. A patio is equipped during summer –time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Borromini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b4 Roma Borromini Hotel Rome
Boscolo Hotel Rome
Boscolo Borromini Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing