We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Borromini

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Borromini
Ranked #952 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Herts
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

The hotel was lovely was great facilities, a bit far from the centre of Rome, but this was perfect for me as was close to my office. The rooms are small but have all facilities required. Food from the bar was fantastic, really great staff who were very friendly.

Room Tip: As this is a small hotel all rooms appear to be the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tragil74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    77
    67
    43
    30
See reviews for
31
88
12
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

We also booked this hotel as a 'secret room'. Won it at $92/night.

Positives: Comfortable mattress, in-room fridge, cable with english options, nice bathroom, quiet area. Kind staff. I left my sunglasses in the lobby and they had set it aside for me.

Negatives: Internet did not work our entire stay. Very bothersome for tourists trying to plan the next day. They offered us the use of their computers which had a separate internet provider (why I wonder??). This wasn't too helpful as I am not proficient in Italian keyboards. Couldn't even use the @ button. As compensation, we requested breakfast for our last morning which they agreed to after one last effort to reboot the internet.

Breakfast was poor. It would've cost 12EU. I feel sorry for those that paid 12EU. They ran out of eggs by 8:30 am (there is a small store nearby but that didn't occur to them). Very little bacon. They cook about 15 slices at a time so it goes fast. Cereal was stale.

A bit far from center but Tram 19 gets you to Vatican, Tram 3 gets you to Colosseum and bus 360 gets you to Termini the main station. 7 minute walk to biggest park in Rome and from there you could walk the 20 minutes to Spanish Steps, etc.

Area recommendations: Stay away from Bar Hungaria restaurant. They will rip you off if they get the chance. We ordered 1 large beer and they brought out 2 small glasses and asked if that was okay. Thinking it was just a matter of convenience for them, we said yes. Then they charged for 2 small ones instead of 1 large (2 EU more) and called the police when we refused to pay it.

Little bar/coffee shop about 2 minute walk. I can't remember the name but good food and excellent staff. 3EU for procuitto sammy and 1.80EU for cappucino.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trav3lbug84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

We booked this as a 'secret room' deal which was a bit of a risk, but this hotel was great. Lovely big room, such helpful staff. It was in quite a residential area so not walking distance to things like the colloseum etc. but we weren't too bothered as the buses are good.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tashkent
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

The hotel situated on 20-minute taxi ride from Termini train station. Quiet neighborhood, located near the several embassys. Room with air conditioning, comfortable beds, all furniture is a little "tired". Large comfortable bathroom. Breakfast is the minimum possible for the hotel's 4 star, quickly ending range. Free Wi-Fi only in the hotel lobby.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent_Old
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Borromini hotel is a very good hotel in a pleasant and peaceful neighborhood of Rome. The staff is very polite and helpful. The rooms are wide and clean, as well as the bathroom. We had satellite TV with the possibility of watching the shows in original language (English) which was really a plus! The bed/pillow/mattress were really comfortable. The breakfast was not top-notch but enough to make you full and ready for the day!

The hotel is 30min in bus from Termini station and 2 buses are needed. It is more difficult to reach the city center (i.e: Piazza Venezia) but for tourist with time ahead this is not a problem. Of course, for the tourist in a hurry I would not recommend this hotel.

The neighborhood is pleasant and peaceful, full of embassies and consulates so quite secure. Also, a lot of good restaurants can be found all around.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elisabethabib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helensburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

When we arrived at the hotel, we could clearly see the receptionist sitting in the back. He looked up acknowledged our being there but carried on with his computer leaving the two of us standing there for what seemed like 10 minutes. When he finished his business he walked round and checked us in without so much as a smile. First impressions are everything and unfortunately it wasn't the best. This staff behaviour carried on throughout the stay

When we got into the room we were pleasantly surprised as it was very spacious, clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. The only downside to the room was the size of the bath which was very small indeed. Breakfast in the morning was a bit of a let down, the cereals were left out from the night before making them stale and the pastries and bread were not covered (thus all were stale.) This was the breakfast in its entirety (bread rolls, cereal, pastries and tinned fruit.)

The hotel is a little out of the way but due to public transport does not pose a problem and leads to a good nights sleep and access to well priced and good quality restaurants (Taverna Rossini).

When we return to Rome we will be tempted to stay in the same area but would certainly choose a different hotel, one that is more friendly to tourists.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connel90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

Hotel is located in a residential area, so is quiet but the closest restaurants is 10 minutes walk. The restaurant was recommended by the Front Desk Manager and the food was excellent. The staff were friendly and helpful. BUT, the problems on their own were only minor when added together were frustrating. We could only get 2 extra pillows. The bedside lights were broken. A strong smell of sewage at the front door. The shower was a joke, the cubicle too small and there was no hot water and the cold was just a dribble. The TV didn't work in accordance with the instructions in the room, after 2 attempts by staff I eventually worked it out myself, vital step missing in instructions. The door to the balcony could not be locked, the catch was broken; the front desk said "Don't worry this is an honest neighborhood, we have never had any problems and your on the fifth floor anyway."
If you don't expect too much you won't be disappointed, you can do better closer to the centre for the same money.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AussieRandR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Villa Grazioli
#641 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Parioli
Hotel delle Muse
Hotel delle Muse
#184 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
Paisiello Parioli Hotel
Paisiello Parioli Hotel
#1,079 of 1,291 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Centro Roma
Hotel Centro Roma
#482 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Parioli
Hotel Villa Duse
Hotel Villa Duse
#205 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Borromini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Borromini

Property: Hotel Borromini
Address: Via Lisbona 7, 00198 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#333 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Borromini 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Borromini, rampant of the seventies, is located in the elegant, green and calm Parioli area of Rome, at the edges of Villa Ada and Villa Borghese and close to Via Veneto. The Borromini is reachable by car in few minutes from the A1 highway Autostrada del Sole, exit Salaria.After many years, the owners of the building from 1st July 2012 will resume the management to ensure a high quality service and maximum comfort for the Guests.The Hotel has 84 rooms, including Junior Suites and it is provided with 3 function rooms, with a total capacity of 170 seats to suit any meeting need or social event. The spacious private garage will assure safe car parking.Recently Hotel Borromini has been wisely renewed and technologically updated, becoming the ideal place for any type of individual or business stay.The Cafè Borromini is the soul of the Hotel Borromini where you can appreciate an innovative, genuine and appetizing menu. A patio is equipped during summer –time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Borromini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b4 Roma Borromini Hotel Rome
Boscolo Hotel Rome
Boscolo Borromini Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing