We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do Not Stay There!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sina Bernini Bristol
Ranked #316 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Reading some of the reviews posted; It is a great location! Yet, please read on for our experiences.
For some time I have debated with myself as to sharing our experiences at the Bernini Bristol Hotel. As traveler, I was furious our agent was not more aware of the façade of this hotel. We left our bags with the concierge upon arriving at the hotel and attended our first tour. Upon returning at 3:30 pm and checking into the hotel, we found our bedspread to be disgustingly dirty. The bathrooms were in desperate need of updating. Our toilet ran constantly. The vanity was cracked and chipped and the shower leaked, leaving large puddles on the floor despite our efforts to stop the flow. Our request for extra towels was never fulfilled. Our first evening there, we requested a bucket of ice. We called twice in the 48 minutes it took for them to bring one rock glass, half filled with melted ice. One entire day the elevators did not work at all, and we were like mice in a maze left trying to find our way out of the hotel. Truly, if that had been an emergency, we would have surely died. We passed several guest struggling to find their way out and employees of the hotel that could not find their way either.

The breakfast was nice with a lot of options, although the dishes were chipped, cracked and stained. The silverware was full of water marks and the glasses were scratched.

The doormen that assisted with our bags; upon arriving and departing, seemed more inconvenienced and tossed our bags around, even though my husband gave them 50.00 euros on the front end of their task.

Finally, we had booked a reservation at the rooftop dinning room. To our dismay, they would not honor the welcoming letter that gave us a 5% discount that was addressed to us and left in our room. They insisted this would be good for a future stay and was not good for this visit. Needless to say, we will not be staying at that hotel again, nor will we return; even for a dinner.

We did bring our concerns and experiences to the attention of the managers on duty. It seemed the more problems we found, the more we became a nuisance; instead of a paying guest. The only grievance that was corrected was the dirt bed spread. No compensation was offered nor given when we asked. It was obvious upon our departure, they were glad to see us go.

It is for these reasons we do not consider the Bernini Bristol Hotel a five star hotel. We intended to stay at the Waldorf Astoria. Our travel agent told us this hotel was just as nice and for only a little bit more money we would be in a much better location.

Room Tip: Location is not everything! The Waldorf Astoria is much nicer, more accommodating, and a little less...
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Jo Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (929)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

329 - 335 of 929 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Bernini Bristol in Rome for 3 nights in April 2014.
When you walk in the hotel looks lovely and overall is a lovely hotel. We stayed in a double room and we had actually stated on the additional comments that we wanted to confirm a double bed which they confirmed for us. However when we got our room we realised that it was 2 single beds pushed together. This wouldn't have been too much of a problem if they didn't keep separating as the beds slip on the floor and once my partner fell through the middle! As much as it was funny at the time overall it was pretty annoying.
The room was cleaned every day as in towels was changed, bed was made/changed and that really was about it. I've stayed at many hotels and usually when they clean the rooms they have a tidy etc (not that we were messy).. But they literally just changed the towels and bedding. I think when you stay somewhere that's 5 star you'd expect maybe more.
They also don't supply an iron or ironing board (strange!) so we asked reception they said housekeeping would do it. So we had 2 items ironed and charged €20.
Breakfast was a good selection but they missed the most basic things like when they offer you tea and coffee they wouldn't bring milk or sugar over or a tea spoon, and even one of the days they even forgot the hot water. It was just silly things they would forget, but as I said a minute ago at this type of hotel you expect maybe more.
The most helpful people we had were the reception staff they couldn't be more helpful and would always assist if needed and help with information. Lovely staff overall just maybe needs more attention when cleaning the rooms and at breakfast. I don't like moaning but was just unimpressed with those bits of the stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemelis88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

After stating in wonderful hotels in Florence and Venice we checked in here yesterday. This is a hotel that clearly caters to the european business person, NOT the tourist. Setvice in rooftop bar was veerrry slow. Service at breakfast is impersonal. No internet in our room without paying extra. No internet access at rooftop bar. This is NOT a 5 star hotel. We read the prvious reviews and trusted our travel advisor thus was a great hotel. It has been disapponting, especially for the price we paid. If you are visiting Rome on holiday I strongly suggest you stay elsewhere.

1  Thank Rick R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stayed here for a long weekend. Terific hotel with a superb roof top restaurant and bar that gives a panoramic view over the city. Particularly spectacular at night. Located very near the Trevi Fountain and Spanish steps with all other attractions within walking distance for those that like the exercise, if not, a metro station is outside the hotel with a bounty of taxis outside. Rooms are clean and spacious. No hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ERwhites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is what Rome is all about. Fantastic location with awesome accommodations. Old room accommodations but very modern in the same breath. The staff made us feel very welcome and the hotel is very comfortable albeit a little pricey.

Multiple restaurant locations around the hotel. Best cappuccino I've ever had directly across from the hotel. I would go back to this hotel in a heartbeat. Walkable distance to many of the sites within Rome.

Make sure you sign up for their frequent stay program as we were able to even get an upgrade.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank BRCPres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We chose this hotel for its location and it didn't disappoint! You are within walking distance of many of Rome's most famous sites (the Trevi Fountain and the Spanish Steps are very close). There is also a metro station almost immediately outside the hotel, as well as a plentiful supply of taxis.
The hotel décor exceeded our expectations (traditional grand with a modern twist) and was very comfortable. The only complaint we had about our room was that one of the sliding doors to the wardrobe had been removed - but it didn't cause any problems..
We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful without being over bearing. On arrival I found that the lock on my suitcase had jammed and they quickly sent someone up to our room to assist. The doorman was very friendly and immediately made you feel at home (he also gave us some handy directions!). Housekeeping were also very polite and always said hello when you passed them in the corridor.
The breakfast was very good (this was included in our room price) with a perfect selection of hot and cold items to start the day (including lovely fresh Italian pastries!). We ate lunch at the roof top terrace once during our visit, which was wonderful. The food was good, but the main reason to pay the restaurant a visit is the view, which is spectacular!
There are lots of restaurants in the immediate locality and is definitely worth asking concierge for recommendations - we just followed our instincts on the first night and got our fingers burnt. The good restaurants around the hotel seemed to fill up fast, so would highly recommend
making reservations in advance to avoid disappointment. You also need to be prepared to pay a bit more than you would in some other parts of the city.
All in all it was a fantastic base from which to explore the city and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emlin_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Travelled to Rome to see the England Italy match in the six nations. Beautiful hotel a ten minute walk from the Trevi or Spanish steps. 15 minutes to the shopping centre. Gracious and supportive staff. We were upgraded to rooms (large with massive beds) with balconies. The roof top cocktail bar is brilliant with great views across Rome.
No complaints wound not hesitate to recommend.

Room Tip: Second floor has rooms with balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davesmithy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#107 of 1,271 in Rome
1,144 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Baglioni Hotel Regina
Baglioni Hotel Regina
#109 of 1,271 in Rome
886 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
#286 of 1,271 in Rome
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
#131 of 1,271 in Rome
970 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Aleph Rome Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Trastevere
Gran Melia Rome
Gran Melia Rome
#92 of 1,271 in Rome
1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sina Bernini Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sina Bernini Bristol

Address: Piazza Barberini 23, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in Rome
#124 Business Hotel in Rome
#172 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#331 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £180 - £310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sina Bernini Bristol 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Rome, the historical Sina Bernini Bristol is one of the most renowned 5-star hotels in the Eternal City. Our luxury hotel has been witness to some of the most significant developments of the Italian style, from the “Dolce Vita” to the affirmation of "Made in Italy" and as such is a highly prestigious venue. From its privileged location between Piazza Barberini and Via Veneto, just a few minutes walk from the Trevi Fountain and the Spanish Steps, our 5-star hotel offers one of the most beautiful terraces of Rome's historic center. Sina Bernini Bristol welcomes guests in 112 rooms and 15 suites in classic and contemporary style. Among them, the most sought-after is the Tritone Suite with a private swimming pool on a panoramic terrace. To complete your luxurious stay at Sina Bernini Bristol, savour the cuisine of a Michelin-starred chef Andrea Fusco at Giuda Ballerino! rooftop restaurant with a panoramic view and spend some precious moments of pure relaxation at Erato Wellness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sina Bernini Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bernini Bristol Hotel
Bernini Bristol Rome
Hotel Bernini Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing