We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian holiday”
Review of Accademia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Accademia Hotel
Ranked #220 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 days and were warmed by the friendliness of the staff our room was always clean and well presented breakfast was plentiful and pleasing. Hopefully we will return there in the future. However could do with complimentary tea and coffee facilities in the room.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelroma_htl4, Direttore at Accademia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear Badger4963,
thank you for your positive feedback about your stay at the Hotel Accademia!
We will share your thoughts with our Staff and look forward to have you again as our Guest: check out our Special Deals!
Best regards,
Marcello Mancusi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

356 - 362 of 1,264 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2013

Stayed here 6-9 September with a friend. Wasn't sure what to expect as hadn't been to Rome for quite a few years and was also worried about two women in Rome without their men. Need not have worried as the hotel is in an excellent location just a couple of minutes from the Trevi Fountain, the City Tour Bus Stop just round the corner and plenty of bars, cafe's and restaurants nearby. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the rooms very clean. The hotel doesn't have its own bar but just round the corner is the News Café which sells food and beverages - both alcoholic and non alcoholic. The breakfast was lovely and a good selection from fruit, yoghurt, cereals, ham, cheese, sausage, bacon, scrambled eggs and a variety of breads and pastries. We stayed on the first floor overlooking the Piazza and can't say we were troubled with any noise from outside considering it was on the main walk way for the walking tours. The room was a little small but it didn't worry us for just 3 nights. The City tax for this hotel is just 2 euros per person per night so good value for its position. Threw my coin in the fountain so when I return I would definitely book this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maybloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelroma_htl4, Direttore at Accademia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear Maybloom,
we are delighted about your positive comments! Indeed, our location is very safe being right in the heart of the Eternal City: you can walk around also at night...the best time to enjoy Trevi Fountain and throw your coin!
We are at your disposal for future visits with great offers!
Looking forward to have you again as our Guests, we send you our best regards.
Marcello Mancusi
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

amazing location , great value for money !
will go back as often as possible.
this hotel is close to every thing you need to visit and you will even take a bus or a taxi.
Breakfast is good, varied and generous....
and do not forget to ask for the airport pick-up ,paid separately to the driver, it is much more convenient than the train to Termini
As to my favorite ,I will keep this to myself!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank merbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelroma_htl4, Direttore at Accademia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear merbey,
we are really happy to read your positive experience at the Hotel Accademia! Please, contact us for your future trips and we will be ready with the best offers available.
Looking forward to welcoming you again, we send you our best regards.
Marcello Mancusi
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

we stayed as a couple on august 21-25.

Advantages:

the hotel has one of the best locations in rome (100m from the trevi fountain), which is very important in rome if you want to avoid public transportation, but if you will want to use a bus there is a station very close by.
There is also a supermarket 3 minutes' walk from the hotel.
The breakfast is the best 3-star breakfast that you will find, plenty of options to choose from.
The staff was very friendly and helpful.
The shower was great (hot water always available, and nice strong current).
The air-conditioning was working at a set temperature which was quite cold.

Dis-advantages:

The room we were in was on the first floor and was quite small.
The toilet itself was uncomfortable (also small).
The bed itself was not a twin bad, but a bit smaller.
The walls were not very good in sound isolating.

Foot-note:
the mini bar isn't working while there isn't a card in the card reader, we didn't know that and we saved food in there so it was spoiled.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daniel k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelroma_htl4, Direttore at Accademia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear Daniel k,
thank you for your positive feedback! As you could see, the Hotel Accademia is located inside a historical building and, therefore, room sizes may vary as they are not stadardized: please, also note that we may offer also Superior Rooms more comfortable and with new design!
As regards the minibar: please, note that any hotel with an electronic key system are designed to switch off lights & electricity but, generally, the minibar should keep working. We would like to check this issue with our Maintenance so, if you can, please, let us know your room number as we cannot figure it out from your review!
We look forward to have you again as our Guest and send you our best regards.
Marcello Mancusi
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I stayed here for the last 3 days of August 2013 and just loved it. As a single female, an active 60 something, I felt very safe and cared for. I was pleasantly surprised by the comfort and facilities of the room. Small room but what can you expect in such an intense metropolis as Roma? The view from the room was fabulous, just what I had dreamed an Italian vista would be. The spotless bathroom was modern and very beautiful with its travertine (?) tiles. There was a lift, thank goodness. The breakfast was included and was excellent; fruit, muesli, other cereals, yoghurt, eggs, breads, pastries, juice, coffee- what more could you want? All this and only a few metres from the Trevi Fountain! Shopping in the district is fabulous, bring an empty suitcase. The staff were brilliant - thoroughly recommended. No noise so sleeping was not a problem. There was a lovely section on the roof to have an evening drink with friends. The restaurant in the piazza outside had great food and a wonderful ambiance. I will certainly be back in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbjc11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

The location was great (near the Trevi fountain, just a 2 minute walk). We were in Rome for 5 days and we didn't use any kind of public transportation. You can walk wherever you want and there's absolutely no need to shell out any money to take you to most tourist attractions in the city.

Our room (112) was the size of two beds only (with 30 cm inbetween). It was a small room without much of a view of anything. We informed them it was too small and we got a different room as a result (404). It was a room with a high ceiling and two beds+a sofa. It was a much more spacious room. Unfortunately, the room was definitely in need of a renovation.
The air conditioning wasn't working properly (it was at least 10 years old) and it wasn't doing the job right. It was a hot day when we came to the hotel and we were sorely disappointed with the lack of proper air conditioning we got.
The toilets weren't functioning properly either, and we asked the receptionist to send someone to fix it. When we came back two hours later - nothing was done. We said we'll wait at the reception area till they fix it and only then did they finally send someone to fix it. We then had to wait even longer, and when the worker was finally done, the toilet still didn't work as it should have. You need to be a body builder in order to flush the toilet...

The shower was a little newer but the water flow was too weak and somtimes not hot enough. We got two soft big towels and four small hard ones (like kitchen towels) .
The TV (as you can see in the picture) was very small and old. The room was also equipped with a safe and a refrigerator/minibar.
Breakfast was nice but sadly there were no vegetables offered, and the overall selection was limited.
Receptionists were sadly not helpful enough, they were wearing on our patience with every legitimate request/complaint that we had.
Our room was cleaned on a daily basis, but there was a lot of dust underneath the beds. We saw two small spiders at the corner of the room, looking more comfortable than we were.
On a good note, the room is fairly quiet and we didn't have any issues with the noise level on our floor.

Room Tip: Avoid taking the first room they offer you if it looks too small. They have a newer wing with better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudithTel_aviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelroma_htl4, Direttore at Accademia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear Judith Tel_aviv,
thank you for your feedback about your stay: we take our Guests comments very seriously and we will follow up with the issues you raised on your review.
Should you wish to stay again with us, we might suggest you to choose a Superior Room with a little supplement, in order to have a totally renovated accommodation.
Thank you again and best regards,
Marcello Mancusi
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon round Italy.

The room was spacious enough, with air-con that kept the room cool. However - the sound-proofing was quite bad and each night we struggled to sleep due to the room next to us having very loud conversations.

Breakfast was as expected - continental with an average choice - perhaps more on offer would have been better as the room was very busy with lots of people trying to get to a very small area where the food was.

The location was perfect for anyone wanting to see all the main sights of Rome - the Trevi fountain is seconds away and Rome is such a small city everywhere else is easy to walk too. There also is a metro station nearby for those who are less able walkers.

Overall an average stay at a b&b which served its purpose well as a place to rest your head.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ehs85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelroma_htl4, Direttore at Accademia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear ehs85,
we are happy to read that your stay at the Accademia Hotel has been a gooder starting point to discover Rome! As a matter of fact, our location is almost unbeatable...
We are sorry for the noisy next-door Guests: generally we don't have this kind of problems...
Looking forward to having you again, we send you our best regards.
Marcello Mancusi
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Tritone Hotel
Tritone Hotel
#329 of 1,271 in Rome
645 reviews
Trevi
Trevi 41 Hotel
Trevi 41 Hotel
#89 of 1,271 in Rome
682 reviews
Trevi
White Hotel
White Hotel
#137 of 1,271 in Rome
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Hotel Fellini
Hotel Fellini
#150 of 1,271 in Rome
796 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Regno
Hotel Regno
#154 of 1,271 in Rome
1,736 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Trevi Collection
Hotel Trevi Collection
#585 of 1,271 in Rome
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Accademia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Accademia Hotel

Address: Piazza dell'Accademia di San Luca 74, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#182 Business Hotel in Rome
#318 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £69 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Accademia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Splitty, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Accademia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accademia Hotel Rome
Hotel Accademia Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing