We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Accademia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Accademia Hotel
Ranked #226 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Hengelo, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Great hotel in perfect location. Just a few steps from Fontana di Trevi. Almost everything is in walking distance.
Good rooms, we booked one superior and one standard room. At checking in we got two superior rooms. Bathroom is spacious and also rooms are of good size, for a city hotel.
Breakfast was excellent. Bread, croissants, cake, scrambled eggs, bacon, fruit etc. And good coffee! Overall this is a hotel worth visiting while staying in the beautiful city of Rome.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marloes34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelroma_htl4, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Accademia Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Marloes d,

Thank you for having spent your time, leaving your comments.

We are happy that you enjoyed our breakfast. We treasure our guests suggestions and we added fresh tomatoes, olives and sliced cucumbers and, recently, a very healthy yogurt.
For your next stay, do not hesitate to e-mail us and check out our offer for repeated guests
Kind regards,

Elena Albanese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    489
    227
    44
    30
See reviews for
286
493
37
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

For Brits of a certain age " Faulty Towers" comes to mind. we were first in room 101 which overlooks a small road leading to Trevi Fountain. We had to close the windows because of the noise. At about 1.30 am I was awake because it was to hot in the room ( I have temp scare on travel clock) it was 26C. I went down to see the night manager and asked for a fan….no fans
how about A/C it doesn't come on till June. They promised to change rooms for us to a quiet one at the back which they did.Got to sleep that night with open window. The next day about 5pm the toilet started to run nonstop. Changed rooms again no problems. We were there 4 nights and had 3 rooms.Staff were Ok
To sum up its a fantastic location

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julianshearer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelroma_htl4, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Accademia Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Julianshearer,

Thank you for your precious feedback.
We always invite our gusts to contact us for any inconvenient, because guests satisfaction is our priority. Thanks to your comment, we had obtained official permission to switch on the air-condition.
We look forward having you again, here, in the heart of the Eternal City.
Kind regards,

Elena Albanese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

This hotel is in an amazing location. It is located near Trevi Fountain and within walking distance of all main attractions. The Vatican is a 30 minute walk past an amazing shopping area or a short bus ride away. The breakfast buffet was adequate.The hotel lobby is beautiful however the rooms need some attention. Our room had cracked tiles in the bathroom, peeling paint on the walls, the pillows on the bed were as thin a pancakes, the carpet looked dirty, and the towels were in limited supply. We asked to change rooms and they had no others available. You cant change the size of the rooms but they could certainly use updating.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nancy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelroma_htl4, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Accademia Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Nancy A,
Thank you for dedicating time writing your impressions. We always ask our Guests to report immediately their comments. At the time you were with us we were fully booked and you didn’t want to change room, the day after.
We take your comments very seriously, in fact, are related to one of the two economy rooms that are going to be renovated in these days. Since you were with us, we washed carpets, like we do every month, we ordered new pillows and we equipped every room with cattle and tea/coffee facilities.
On breakfast buffet, you will find a good selection of fresh fruit, small sausages to accompany our delicious scramble eggs and very healthy yogurt and cereals.
Location is our best, familiar atmosphere is our plus, and our efforts for improving our service are getting always stronger.
Dear Nancy, we do hope to hosting you soon. In the meantime, accept our best regards.

Elena Albanese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Hello, we were supposed to be in the White Hotel judt down the road but were sent here as that hotel was undergoing transformation work. No hardship; the hotel is a great location for getting around the city as it is central and you can walk to all the major attractions easily. It is also a short distance to the train station so you don't need to grab a cab. It was my partners birthday whilst we were there and the hotel kindly gave use a bottle of good quality wine to help celebrate it was a very thoughtful suprise! (Thanks!)

One word of warning the restaurants nearby are very tourist orientated - Pizza Express do better pizza (seriously!) Don't go to the Chianti either - good reviews but snobby, ignorant staff!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkJamesR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelroma_htl4, Direttore generale at Accademia Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear MarkJames,
Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate it as we try to be always customer focused in any circumstances. Looking forward to welcoming you again, we send you our best regards.

Marcello Mancusi
Resident manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

This hotel was a mainly disappointing experience and barely an average rating. Having booked, I'd emailed 8 weeks before arrival with some room requests but got no answers - on arrival was shown a room that met none of these requests and was so small the bed covered 80% of the floor. After complaints took a much larger family room which, though very much past its best, was relatively clean and quiet. The breakfast was a joke. Uninviting, lukewarm, eggs/bacon (much better if you want continental) and a real scrum at peak times with everyone falling over each other trying to serve themselves. The good news is that the hotel is very well located (between Trevi Fountain & Spanish Steps) and frequent buses 100 m away. Also the reception staff were very helpful giving directions, booking taxis/restuarants etc. I think the best advice is to be fussy/pushy before accepting the room allocated. Of course you could upgrade to the newer rooms but would still have the breakfast melee to deal with.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timmel54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelroma_htl4, Direttore generale at Accademia Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear Timmel54,
We would like to thank you for your feedback that is precious for us for a better understanding of our guests’ needs.
We are sorry if the hotel Accademia didn’t fulfil your expectation. Being the hotel located inside an historical building, the rooms have not all the same size, the reception staff is always at guests disposal in case they have special needs or particular request.
We have noticed your comment regarding our breakfast: the breakfast is a buffet breakfast with a good selection of cold and hot dishes, which satisfy Italian and international guests. It’s precious what you pointed out with your comment, as for us each guest’ opinion is important in order to improve our service level.
We hope this experience didn’t compromise a future stay with us and I send you my best regards.

Marcello Mancusi,
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
75 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

the location of this hotel is the best, right on the Fontana di Trevi.
there are 2 types of room, small ones, and new ones that are also bigger, make sure you know what room you will get, some of the older rooms are very small, but still clean and comfortable.
the breakfast is good,
the hotel location is a walking distance from all major sites in Rome.
good restaurants in the area.

Room Tip: some rooms are new and big , some are older and very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_TLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelroma_htl4, Direttore generale at Accademia Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Agai9,
We would like to thank you for the comment you recently left regarding your stay with us.
Every feedback is for us a way to improve our standards and services.
We look forward to welcoming you again and we send you best regards.

Marcello Mancusi
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

I booked this particular hotel based on the reviews I read regarding it's location primarily and also it's overall standard. Well, I must say I was impressed by what I read before visiting because I had no surprises at all. It was in a fantastic location, just a stones throw from the Trevi fountain and close to the Spanish Steps. You could also reach the Pantheon and Piazza Novana in literally minutes….superb! The hotel was very clean and tidy, a little tired in places, but nothing major. The breakfast was more than adequate, all we were after was a quick re-fuel and out to see the sights so perfect. The price for the stay was very reasonable and I wouldn't hesitate in staying there again. The staff were very polite too. If you want 5 star amenities and fancy food then book a lovely over-priced hotel in the outskirts of town…enjoy the walk in!

Room Tip: We was on the fifth floor and had a view over rooftops to the Quiranell……..cracking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelroma_htl4, Direttore generale at Accademia Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear David S,

Thank you for your feedback about your stay at hotel Accademia.
We are glad to hear that the location of the hotel helped you in enjoying your stay in Rome.
Very close to Fontana di Trevi, the hotel is perfect for nice walk but also for reaching different part of the city as very well connected with tube station and buses.
We always try to satisfy our guest and we are happy when we succeeding in.
Looking forward to welcoming you again, I send you best regards.

Marcello Mancusi
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Tritone Hotel
Tritone Hotel
#344 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Fellini
Hotel Fellini
#171 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Trevi
White Hotel
White Hotel
#151 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Trevi 41 Hotel
Trevi 41 Hotel
#90 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Trevi
Relais Fontana Di Trevi
Relais Fontana Di Trevi
#163 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Trevi
Hotel delle Nazioni
Hotel delle Nazioni
#232 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Accademia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Accademia Hotel

Property: Accademia Hotel
Address: Piazza dell'Accademia di San Luca 74, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#182 Business Hotel in Rome
#319 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Accademia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Accademia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accademia Hotel Rome
Hotel Accademia Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing