We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Accademia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Accademia Hotel
Ranked #214 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We had a fantastic stay. They gave us the room we requested and let us check in early, which was a huge help. The staff were helpful when required. It was disappointing that I had to leave the hotel late at night to watch the World Cup, but that is a non issue. The room was large, cool and clean. Very modern and well maintained. Breakfast was very good and choices were more than adequate. There is an excellent restaurant just on the piazza called dal Patriota.. really good. Unfortunately the Trevi is drained and under restoration, but that is a necessary evil. Easy walk to almost any major site. We didn't use transport once. They even got us a 4am car to the airport.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JRockTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,219)
There are newer reviews for Accademia Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

285 - 291 of 1,219 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed here at the recommendation of our travel agent and my husband's previous experience in Rome. The hotel itself is in an amazing location; pretty much everything in Rome is within a 30 minute walk.
There are two dining establishments right outside the front door of the hotel, one is more causal, the other Ristorante Dal Patriota, is more formal. We ate at the latter every evening we were in Rome (the food and service were exceptional and the price was amazing for formal dining).

We stayed in Room 112, which is an Execute King Room. The room as two spacious closets, a very, very comfortable bed, REAL Air Conditioning, minibar, free wifi, marble tile in bathrooms, large shower with amazing water pressure, flat screen TV, and stereo system.

The breakfast was more than adequate, with many selections of fresh fruits, cereals, pastries, meats, cheeses, and beverages.

The staff was very knowledgeable and very friendly, and answered every question we had and gave us several recommendations on activities and sight-seeing spots.

My husband and I have already decided that when we go to Rome again, we will stay in this hotel. If I could give it more than an "excellent" rating, I would.

Room Tip: Request a renovated room
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JennaRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelroma_htl4, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Accademia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear JennaRock,

We appreciate you sharing your experience with us. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Accademia Hotel.
Your comments help us improve our efforts, every day, to provide quality service on a consistent basis.
In case you will be visiting Rome again do not hesitate to contact me.

Best regards and see you soon.

Elena Albanese

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights. With a central location you pay the penalty of a small room. The staff were helpful when asked. The breakfast was adequate but the dining room crowded with tables very close together. While the hotel was close to some of the main Rome attractions it was a significant walk to others with some only able to be accessed via public transport. With the city having a very good Metro system next time we would stay further from the centre of Rome but close to a Metro station. The hotels a likley to be cheaper and the rooms bigger. You would also avoid some of the inflated tourist rates for restuarants and bars.
This is a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelroma_htl4, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Accademia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear John J,

Thank you for taking your time to share your opinion about us.
Your personal perception will help us better understand your expectations. Rooms in the city center are small .Our rooms are compact and clean and have everything you require such as comfortable mattresses, air conditioning, minibar, free Wi-Fi connection. We are a three star hotel in a very strategic location. We get feedback that time saved in transfers from far locations to the main sightseeings is definitely priceless.

Our staff is here to welcoming you,

Kind regards,
Elena Albanese

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

First impressions - bodily fluids on top blanket of bed, pulled blanket back to see hair all over the sheets. Called reception to see if housekeeping could please change sheets, all they did was bring us new towels.
Went down to reception to ask again, they did nothing. Ended up changing sheets on 3rd time we asked.
Got about 3 hours sleep the whole week we were here, street noise is ridiculous; accordions outside the window till midnight, horses going past etc. One night the hotel staff were rearranging furniture in the room next door and setting up a cot outside our room till 1:40am. Another night someone was on a skype call at 2:30am in the halls - I would say this is due to the fact that you can only get wifi in specific areas of the hotel.
One morning we came back from breakfast to find a member of the hotel staff standing in the middle of our room with the door open just looking around - not housekeeping, still have no idea what he was doing. We overheard the couple staying next to us who checked out early due to something going missing from their room.
Breakfast was the worst we had the entire time we were overseas; tinned fruit, cakes and orange juice from machine. Plus all the options are displayed on one small table which means its like a small mosh pit trying to get a plate of food.
Only plus-side to this hotel is the proximity to Trevi Fountain, which was of course drained, closed and under construction the entire time we were there.
I honestly would not recommend staying at this hotel at all.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EDAJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelroma_htl4, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Accademia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear EDAJB,

Thank you for your comments however we are concerned about your review. We do remember your case.

You have asked repeatedly for a discount that we did not grant because you were not entitled to. We do remember that you have threatened us to write a bad review about our hotel. However, as you know, web reputation has become a very serious matter during those years and in rare cases guests use the possibility to write a bad review as a mean of obtaining discounts and extra services by threatening the hotel.
It is rare that we dispute a guest claim but we find that bringing down a hotel's reputation for personal gain is not behavior we wish to encourage.
We do take our guest comments very seriously and we speak to our guests to get feedbacks almost everyday about services we provide.
In addition to this, we apply a method for measuring and tracking guest satisfaction.
We do feel that positive comments are well deserved and we work hardly to improve our guest services.

We do wish you that next time you will have a wonderful stay in any hotel you wish to go and understand the efforts that every day all employees of the property are doing to make your stay memorable,

Kind Regards.

Elena Albanese

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed at the hotel on the recommendation of a family member. The rooms have been updated and are clean it is in a central location within walking distance of everything 100 meters from Trevi Fountain. There was a bit of a communication barrier but nothing major they know a little English I know a little Italian. There were three of us so it was a little dormitory looking with three single beds lined up but it was a pleasant stay with no issues.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzieqHartland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelroma_htl4, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Accademia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear SuzieqHar,

We are very pleased you were here on a good recommendation.
Thank you for your appreciation of our helpful staff.
Feel free to join us. Anytime you and your family members are welcome.

Best regards.

Elena Albanese

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The advantage of staying at this hotel is it's closeness to the Trevi Fountain (just down the cobbled street) and walking distance to the Pantheon and Navona Piazza if you want a 15 - 20 minute walk. The hop on hop off buses are also close by in the main busy street. Bus number 62 takes you to St Peters' Square / Basilica. Our hotel room was very dark and looked out onto a back ally between two buildings where there was scaffolding and workers that started at 7am. We had to open the tiny window at night as we felt claustrophobic and the air conditioning was very cold even on low. The buffet breakfast was okay with enough variety. The hotel had a lift as well. The staff were very helpful and happy to explain how to get to places. It was one of the few hotels with a free internet service with computers to use if you did not have your own ipad.
Unless we had a room looking onto the street we would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I stayed 7 nights at this hotel. The staff is friendly, but lack some english language skills. The breakfast buffet is very simple, but sufficient. The location is perfect for sightseeing, as its 150 meters from Fontana Di Trevi.

The only problem are the rooms. They are clean, and medium size, but there is absolutely no sound proofing between the rooms. So I heard everything my neighbour did. Speaking, couching, snoring and toilet visits. Not a hotel for the light sleepers.

Room Tip: Get a room high up. The noise from the restaurants and bypassers can get to loud.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coldmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Tritone Hotel
Tritone Hotel
#315 of 1,267 in Rome
629 reviews
Trevi
Trevi 41 Hotel
Trevi 41 Hotel
#88 of 1,267 in Rome
657 reviews
Trevi
White Hotel
White Hotel
#140 of 1,267 in Rome
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Hotel Fellini
Hotel Fellini
#156 of 1,267 in Rome
781 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Regno
Hotel Regno
#157 of 1,267 in Rome
1,711 reviews
Trevi
Relais Fontana Di Trevi
Relais Fontana Di Trevi
#144 of 1,267 in Rome
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Accademia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Accademia Hotel

Address: Piazza dell'Accademia di San Luca 74, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#182 Business Hotel in Rome
#319 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £88 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Accademia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and getaroom.com so you can book your Accademia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accademia Hotel Rome
Hotel Accademia Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing