We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hmmmm” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ambasciatori Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
Ranked #287 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“hmmmm”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We had a wonderful stay in Rome. Fantastic city. The hotel was not by our definition a 5 Star property. The staff was polite and helpful and attentive. Room was nice but dated. Wonderful location for us.
Unfortunately, we returned from our fantastic Italian trip to find additional charges from the hotel which we are questioning.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jim t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    313
    184
    86
    35
See reviews for
170
407
25
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

This hotel has a 5 star luxury rating, but we felt it fell a reasonable distance short of this rating. The rooms are in need of updating - for example our room had scuffed wallpaper and broken floor tiles. Breakfast (compared to many others in Italy) was of a good standard and the waiting staff were delightful. However, one of the concierges couldn't be bothered to listen to what we were asking him either in Italian or English. He also gave us wrong advice about using metrebus tickets on public transport - we thought he was wrong and we got the correct advice by asking a local person. We would expect a concierge in a 5 star hotel to give correct advice about public transport. We will find another hotel when we return to Rome.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Via Veneto are noisy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is undergoing renovation. We had one of the newly refurbished rooms and it was quite simply 5*. The communal areas of the hotel were tired but the excellent service from the staff fully compensated for this.
We only had breakfast at the hotel, which was exceptional again outstanding service.
The location was perfect for us walking distance to many attractions but also close to the metro for sights further away.
We used trip advisor to find the best restaurants but you will need to either book ahead of your trip or book soon as you arrive. Soft Drinks are expensive in Rome so watch your bill. The best restaurants are tucked away on side streets take yourself off the beaten track and search for the hidden gems done restaurants jus look like people's homes, in our experience these were by far the best , food, service and value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaC-Green
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Booked a three-night stay here to "do" Rome on a very good cheap deal for what was advertised as a five-star hotel.
The hotel is fairly conveniently situated and very impressive from the outside and in the lobby, but the rooms are in need of a facelift - at least they are if ours was anything to go by. The top shelf of the wardrobe kept falling out, the TV set was simply plonked on top of the mini-bar, the ill-fitting shower screen leaked water over the bathroom floor and the bedroom paintwork was scuffed and discoloured.
Prices in the restaurant and bar border on the eye-watering, but I imagine that's pretty much par for the course in the Eternal City. However the food was top notch with gluten-free alternatives available and the local wine recommended by the wonderful waitress/barmaid was delicious.
The breakfast buffet was a mixed bag - a fairly limited assortment of fruit, bread and cereals and not much to offer in the way of hot food. Indeed, it's the first five-star hotel I've stayed at where you have to pay extra to get eggs any other way than scrambled.
This establishment's great redeeming feature was it's outstanding staff, all of whom were never less than courteous, friendly and helpful. What a smashing bunch - if only you could say the same about all hotels.
In conclusion, we were pretty happy with our stay because we paid well below the rack rate and felt we got decent value for money. But really, at the moment the hotel should be scraping a four star rating rather than five.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Barstander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
147 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

The Ambasciatori Palace hotel is located in via Veneto, next to the HardRock Café, a few steps from Barberini Square. The service is good, breakfast is excellent (only the juice is quite bad!). The rooms are clean, spacious and nicely decorated. The only negative thing, there is no water mixer in the bathroom. However, I would recommend this hotel as I had a very pleasant staying here with my family.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FMS_Giulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Listen, I do not lead a sheltered life. Therefore, I can honestly say the following things about this breathtaking hotel: BEST location, location, location ever!!! Especially for shopping, for eating, for sightseeing. The staff were the most pleasant I have encountered in years! May I remind you they did all of that in English as well? The room was fabulously decorated. My bedroom had a door which separated itself from its entranceway & bathroom, isolating me from any hallway noise. I appreciate that immensely since I am a problem sleeper. The bed is my only criticism. I believe a trampoline would have been more comfortable but if you are tired enough, as one should be after sightseeing you quickly erase that from your memory. When in Rome you just sleep as best as you can... like the Romans.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woodspritedelite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and I was a little worried after reading some other reviews but we really enjoyed our stay. The location was perfect, just a short walk to trevi fountain and spanish steps, in a nice part of the town.
The hotel could have done with a little facelift inside, the carpets were a little frayed round the edges but you would have to look closely to find fault. Our bedroom was large and had everything we needed, and we were only in one of the standard rooms.
The best thing about this hotel was the staff who were really friendly and gave us the best service we had in Rome. The concierge in particular was brilliant and gave us some great tips on how to make the most of our trip.
It was expensive, but no complaints, I would happily stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Parioli
Hotel Lord Byron
Hotel Lord Byron
#72 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Trevi
Sina Bernini Bristol
Sina Bernini Bristol
#292 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Palace
Grand Hotel Palace
#191 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Majestic Roma
Hotel Majestic Roma
#108 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
Grand Hotel Via Veneto
#162 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Esquilino
La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambasciatori Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambasciatori Palace Hotel

Property: Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 62, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#156 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#270 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ambasciatori Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star luxury for the Ambasciatori Palace in via Vittorio Veneto, an elegant window facing the Eternal City. In an enviable location, the hotel blends the magic of traditional hospitality with contemporary elegance. Known as 'Ambassadors' Palace', it was originally built in 1903 and it has been the location of international affairs between diplomats from the nearby Embassies and a witness to the excitement of the mundane 'Dolce Vita'. The restoration was made according to the original structure of the environment, and repeating and interpreting the existing decorations: the Brazilian granite columns and the intricate wrought-iron balustrade of the grand staircase, the marble floors and the polychromatic mosaic and the pleasant succession of stuccoes, the Venetian chandeliers and skylights. The welcoming and aristocratic atmosphere of the Ambasciatori Palace combines with exclusive services provided and a careful attention to technology and comfort. The 152 rooms are bright, spacious and finely furnished, decorated in soft colors and aristocratic textures. The new Ambassador Rooms are equipped with TouchControl devices to adjust temperature and lighting and MediaHub to connect the HD screen to the TV audio/video devices. Guests can use the Fitness Center, dine at the refined and elegant restaurant 'La Terrazza', renowned for its culinary fame since the 1920's, the Embassy Bar and Bistro corner and complimentary Wi-Fi is available in all the rooms and public areas. The privileged position of the Ambasciatori Palace, in the business district, makes the Hotel the ideal location for business trips, meetings , exhibitions , banquets and vernissage. The elegant business center includes several multipurpose rooms of different sizes, some with natural light and overlooking via Veneto. The main hall is housed in the ballroom. The Ambasciatori Palace is the ideal place for an unforgettable stay among the most legendary historical-artistic monuments and the elegant shopping streets of Rome. A few steps from the Metropolitana Train (stop Barberini) allows a pleasant walk to the Fontana di Trevi, Piazza di Spagna, Piazza Navona and the main railway Station Termini. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo and LoveHolidays so you can book your Ambasciatori Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambasciatori Palace Rome
Hotel Ambasciatori Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing