We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Hotel Valadier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Valadier
Ranked #256 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We were in a room for 3 it was amazingly big for Rome and actually for any other city.
Breakfast was AMAZING as it self and especially if you compare to Europe!
Staff was helpful and friendly
Location is very good
Very quite
Nice restaurant

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Valadier, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice review about Hotel Valadier.

We are extremely happy to hear from you that you enjoyed your stay in Rome. Our staff has been pleased to make your stay even more special.

We hope to see you again in Rome very soon.

Best regards

Flavia
Guest Relations
Groupe Valadier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    358
    138
    71
    50
See reviews for
193
381
36
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Highly recommend this hotel when visiting Rome. Great location!! The hotel was located in the heart of Rome. It is located on a side street off the main street with adorable cafes and shops. Hotel is in walking distance to the Colosseum, Trevi Fountain and the Pantheon. Room was small but clean. Staff was very friendly and happy to assist me. Café outside hotel.

Room Tip: Great location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Valadier, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice words about our hotel.

We are really happy you had a good time and that you enjoyed your stay at hotel Valadier.

We hope to see you again very soon in Rome.

Best Regards

Flavia
Guest Relations
Groupe Valadier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

When I arrived in Rome with a reservation arranged by my tour guide,The Valadier Hotel reception gentleman told me they were sold out. He invited me into their lounge for a FREE coppucino and they were providing me with a FREE shuttle to their sister hotel,(inferior) Hotel Diplomate. I was so tired , I didn't care but the Diplomate was not the Valadier. But the Diplomate had a computer that I was able to use, FREE. Breakfast buffet was ample..high carb.

Room Tip: Make your areservations before you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 318MarilynB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Valadier, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review.

We are glad to hear from you that you appreciated the service our staff provided and that you enjoyed our other hotel.

We hope to see you agian very soon.

Best Regards

Flavia
Guest Relations
Groupe Valadier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massapequa, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We just got back from our stay in Rome. Everything was perfect! The rooms were clean and just enough for what we needed for our short stay. The breakfast buffet was delicious and staff was very helpful and all spoke English very well. The only problem is that this was a dog friendly hotel which we were unaware of at time of booking, there were a few nights this dog barked nonstop, which was annoying but still wouldn't have stopped me from staying there again, what I was upset about is that they allowed dogs into the dining room, unfortunately we ate breakfast with this dog next to our table quite a few times. I have dogs of my own and love them dearly, but I don't think its sanitary to have them in dining rooms begging for scraps, drooling, and shedding in areas where people eat such as indoor restaurants. The staff observed this and did nothing to stop it so I guess it is allowed. Several other patrons were annoyed by this as well and the fact that it was an indoor restaurant made it even worse. The elevator smelled like the dog and we saw dog drool both in the elevator and on the floor of restaurant, where the dog was hanging out. Other than that this hotel would have been perfect the decor was beautiful and in a perfect location as we walked to all the major sites. Would stay again providing no dogs in food areas in future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gina d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Valadier, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to apologize with you for the issue you had during your stay with us. As you said our hotel allows guests to bring with them small size pets hoping in their wisdom and respect to don't make it a problem for other clients; we are sorry that didn't happen to you. Our breakfast staff have seen what was happening and immediatley informed the reception that spoke to the guest but, unfortunately, it was too late.
However we are glad to hear from you that you enjoyed your stay despite what happened.

Thanking you for your review we wish you our best regards hoping to accommodate you again very soon.

Flavia
Guest Relations
Groupe Valadier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Arrived at the hotel by chance, as our original (& inferior) hotel was fully booked. Naughty Hotel Diplomat. However it was a definite bonus to be upgraded to the Valadier. Tucked away off the Piazza Poppola, 15 mins walk from the Spanish Steps & 30 from the Trevi (don't try to match those super speedy times quoted in other reviews; it's very, very hot in August)
Rooms are on the small side but not small enough to feel cramped, all filled with black marble walls, lots of mirrors (even on the ceiling?) and curios. Our room contained a black marble obelisk on the desk, with a headless weeping angel just outside. I know, I know, sounds a bit weird, but it's classy weird

Comfy bed but only two singles pushed together. Good aircon, average shower, wifi throughout, satellite tv., shuttle to the airport if you need it (50 euros)

Brilliant buffet breakfast- bacon sausage & eggs, fruit, meats, lots of cakes etc.

Open air restaurant on roof looked fine but we only peeked in.

Staff pleasant enough but we had little contact really as everything ran smoothly

Great place, definitely reccommended

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarcustheSlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Valadier, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your nice review about Hotel Valadier.
We are pleased to hear from you that you had a great time in Rome and that you liked our Hotel.

We hope to see you again very soon.

Best Regards

Flavia
Guest relations
Groupe Valadier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Fifty or so meters from Piazza del Popolo, flanked by two swish shopping streets and within walking distance of many famous sights in Rome - we loved Hotel Valadier. It seems like a cross between an English Gentlemans Club and a classic Old Roman Boutique hotel It's spotlessly clean and the staff are friendly, and very helpful, especially given some of our odd requests. The rooms not huge, but this is Rome and we didn't exactly spend a lot of time in ours. Even so there was plenty of space for us even with out grandson's single bed alongside ours. The affiliated restaurants offered excellent value and quality for the prices they charged and were more than willing to tailor the food we ate with additions or subtractions. If you go, do try to visit the Borghese Gardens the western edge of which overlooks the Piazza del Popolo at dusk. Use the steps or winding road up from the Northeast corner of the Piazza and follow the locals to the viewing area. The place is built for romance as you will determine from the many couples enjoying each other's company up there, who are rivaled in numbers only by the photographers taking advantage of the priceless views from one of Rome's Seven Hills westward over he city as the sun sets - memorable. We hope to return.

Room Tip: We had a 4th floor room at the front of the hotel and even with the windows and shutters open, never...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geoffjGHWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Valadier, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you a lot for your nice review about Hotel Valadier.

We are very happy to hear that you had a marvelous time in Rome and that you enjoyed every moment. Our staff was pleased to help you to make your stay memorable and we hope to accommodate you again very soon.

Best regards

Flavia
Guest Relations
Groupe Valadier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Very happy highly suggested. The best location, rooms are small but all you need for Rome. The roof top restaurant is amazing and the best of all the restaurant next to the hotel in the same group. The room was clean, all necessities and luxuries included. Staff very friendly and cooperative,

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Valadier, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review about Hotel Valadier.

We are glad to hear from you that you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated our service.

Hoping to see you again, we send you our best regards.

Flavia
Guest Relations
Groupe Valadier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Residenza Canova Tadolini
Residenza Canova Tadolini
#309 of 1,258 in Rome
481 reviews
Campo Marzio
Residenza di Ripetta
Residenza di Ripetta
#338 of 1,258 in Rome
627 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#156 of 1,258 in Rome
1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Piranesi Palazzo Nainer Hotel
Campo Marzio
Hotel Art by the Spanish Steps
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valadier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valadier

Property: Hotel Valadier
Address: Via della Fontanella 15, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#73 Business Hotel in Rome
#142 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#207 Family Hotel in Rome
#228 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valadier 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the historic heart of Rome, behind Piazza del Popolo and at a stone's throw from Piazza di Spagna, the Hotel Valadier is a charming intimate and refined 4-star hotel. The Hotel occupies an ancient Roman palazzo and has undergone recent major refurbishment to provide all the facilities you would expect to find in a modern hotel, albeit not at the expense of its character and period features. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Valadier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valadier Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing