We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel in a nice area.”
Review of Hotel Valadier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Valadier
Ranked #243 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Halden, Norway
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a nice area.”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This was our second stay at Valadier. This time with 2 friends: our rooms were 309 & 310. These were quite small - I would call them cabin style. Was considering an upgrade but as we intended to be out all the time anyway didnt bother. All in all we were satisfied with the room. They were very well equipped and nicely decorated and the use of mirrors, including on the ceiling give a better feeling of space while adding a bit of fun! If you are of larger girth or have been travelling round Europe with huge amounts of luggage then these rooms would not suit you and I would recommend a superior, which we have had previously. However, with a light bag for a long weekend the rooms are perfectly adequate. The beds are extremely comfortable and a good size. The wardrobe was a bit small and I would suggest ditching the small desk, which is not much use, in favour of a bit more wardrobe space.
Bathroom was small but nice with a full suite including: small bath; large mirror and good extra touches like the magnifying makeup/shaving mirror.
Breakfast is very good with lots of fresh produce. In addition to the usual coffee you can just ask for cappuccino, latte, etc.
The hotel is well located and easy walking distance to the main sights, eg Spanish Steps, Pantheon, St. Peter's, Trevi Fountain all within a 1-3km radius. If you're used to a bit of walking even the Forum is easily manageable on foot from there (about 15 km there, round and back). There is also the metro close by (about 200m) if you want to conserve your energy. The area is very well served with restaurants and good shopping with both exclusive and everyday price ranges just around the corner.
One drawback was that there was some entertainment somewhere in the hotel a couple of nights and the vibration from the bass did carry to our room (309) but our friends next door didn't notice it. The other nights we slept vey well.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greensabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Valadier, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for have chosen hotel Valadier for the second time. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay in Rome with us and that your friends has been satisfied.
Thanking you for your nice review, we send you our kindest regards.

Flavia
Guest Relations
Groupe Valadier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    350
    137
    69
    49
See reviews for
189
373
34
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This hotel is gloomy, dark, rooms are the size of toilets and staff is very unfriendly. Their idea of hot water is "just not very cold water" and there is barely any walking space in the room. Location is not that great either - I would rather pick something close to the Roma Termini train station than this place which is way out of the station's reach.

Only good thing was breakfast - however I am sure you can find much better places than this one for all the stars that they have, don't know how they got that.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kunal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Valadier, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Guest,

We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us and that you didn't appreciate the interior of the hotel.
We would like to apologize for the issue you had to face with the hot water but during those days we had a problem with a pipe that we tried to solve as fast as possible; if you had informed our reception agents of the problem they would have offered you a free upgrade in a higher room category. Regarding the location, Rome is a big city and all of our guest choose Hotel Valadier also due to the central position (most of the attractions are reachable by foot), and also for the wide choice of pubblic transportation; in fact it is possible to reach Termini station by metro (just 4 stops), by several busses and also by taxi, that takes around 10 minutes.

Your review is very important to us in order to improve always our service and to offer a pleasent stay to every guest. We hope you will give us the chance in the future to amaze your expectations.

Best regards

Flavia
Guest Relations
Groupe Valadier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here last year when we were in Rome. Returned again this year, the hotel is a 5 star... We decided to stay in the larger room , which had a huge bathroom , that's kind of un heard of in Europe.. The accommodations , were perfect, we received beautiful robes, and the bedding was ultra delightful!!! The piano bar happened to be the place to be at night, a nice crowd and delicious bruchetta was complimentary.. Definetly would recommend the hotel.. location, location, location... Within walking distance to all the restaurants and superb shopping... Can't wait to go back next year.. We decided to make this an annual trip!!

Room Tip: Not your regular standard room, op for the next level up .. Was more then enough room.. Oh an the ai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judinews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We were in a room for 3 it was amazingly big for Rome and actually for any other city.
Breakfast was AMAZING as it self and especially if you compare to Europe!
Staff was helpful and friendly
Location is very good
Very quite
Nice restaurant

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Valadier, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice review about Hotel Valadier.

We are extremely happy to hear from you that you enjoyed your stay in Rome. Our staff has been pleased to make your stay even more special.

We hope to see you again in Rome very soon.

Best regards

Flavia
Guest Relations
Groupe Valadier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Highly recommend this hotel when visiting Rome. Great location!! The hotel was located in the heart of Rome. It is located on a side street off the main street with adorable cafes and shops. Hotel is in walking distance to the Colosseum, Trevi Fountain and the Pantheon. Room was small but clean. Staff was very friendly and happy to assist me. Café outside hotel.

Room Tip: Great location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Valadier, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice words about our hotel.

We are really happy you had a good time and that you enjoyed your stay at hotel Valadier.

We hope to see you again very soon in Rome.

Best Regards

Flavia
Guest Relations
Groupe Valadier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

When I arrived in Rome with a reservation arranged by my tour guide,The Valadier Hotel reception gentleman told me they were sold out. He invited me into their lounge for a FREE coppucino and they were providing me with a FREE shuttle to their sister hotel,(inferior) Hotel Diplomate. I was so tired , I didn't care but the Diplomate was not the Valadier. But the Diplomate had a computer that I was able to use, FREE. Breakfast buffet was ample..high carb.

Room Tip: Make your areservations before you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 318MarilynB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Valadier, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review.

We are glad to hear from you that you appreciated the service our staff provided and that you enjoyed our other hotel.

We hope to see you agian very soon.

Best Regards

Flavia
Guest Relations
Groupe Valadier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massapequa, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We just got back from our stay in Rome. Everything was perfect! The rooms were clean and just enough for what we needed for our short stay. The breakfast buffet was delicious and staff was very helpful and all spoke English very well. The only problem is that this was a dog friendly hotel which we were unaware of at time of booking, there were a few nights this dog barked nonstop, which was annoying but still wouldn't have stopped me from staying there again, what I was upset about is that they allowed dogs into the dining room, unfortunately we ate breakfast with this dog next to our table quite a few times. I have dogs of my own and love them dearly, but I don't think its sanitary to have them in dining rooms begging for scraps, drooling, and shedding in areas where people eat such as indoor restaurants. The staff observed this and did nothing to stop it so I guess it is allowed. Several other patrons were annoyed by this as well and the fact that it was an indoor restaurant made it even worse. The elevator smelled like the dog and we saw dog drool both in the elevator and on the floor of restaurant, where the dog was hanging out. Other than that this hotel would have been perfect the decor was beautiful and in a perfect location as we walked to all the major sites. Would stay again providing no dogs in food areas in future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gina d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Valadier, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to apologize with you for the issue you had during your stay with us. As you said our hotel allows guests to bring with them small size pets hoping in their wisdom and respect to don't make it a problem for other clients; we are sorry that didn't happen to you. Our breakfast staff have seen what was happening and immediatley informed the reception that spoke to the guest but, unfortunately, it was too late.
However we are glad to hear from you that you enjoyed your stay despite what happened.

Thanking you for your review we wish you our best regards hoping to accommodate you again very soon.

Flavia
Guest Relations
Groupe Valadier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#155 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
Campo Marzio
Residenza Canova Tadolini
Residenza Canova Tadolini
#290 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Campo Marzio
Piranesi Palazzo Nainer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Residenza di Ripetta
Residenza di Ripetta
#318 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Art by the Spanish Steps
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#45 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valadier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valadier

Property: Hotel Valadier
Address: Via della Fontanella 15, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#73 Business Hotel in Rome
#134 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#207 Family Hotel in Rome
#228 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valadier 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the historic heart of Rome, behind Piazza del Popolo and at a stone's throw from Piazza di Spagna, the Hotel Valadier is a charming intimate and refined 4-star hotel. The Hotel occupies an ancient Roman palazzo and has undergone recent major refurbishment to provide all the facilities you would expect to find in a modern hotel, albeit not at the expense of its character and period features. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Valadier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valadier Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing