We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Valadier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Valadier
Ranked #236 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

A very pleasant stay. The staff were helpful and friendly. The rooms were classical Italian style and spotlessly clean. The restaurant on the roof was excellent and everyone did their best to make our stay a memorable one. Would recommend this hotel very highly. The pizza/ pasta restaurant attached to the hotel outside was equally good and the location close to the Piazza de Popolo and the designer shops is amazing. Many of the sights for Rome are within walking distance. Altogether a great place to stay!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a superior room. It is definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank annpayne48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Valadier, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank yuo for leaving a nice review about Hotel Valadier!

We are glad to hear from you that you had a good stay in Rome and that you appreciated the service provided by our staff.

We wish to see you again very soon in Rome!

Best Regards

Flavia
Guest Relations
Groupe Valadier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    348
    135
    67
    48
See reviews for
188
365
34
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We will never ever stay at this Hotel Valadier...we wanted to stay at a 4/5 star hotel and we were told that this Hotel was ... A 4/5 star online ... We arrive after leaving London for Rome on a early morning flight...sept where it's was still very hot ... We arrive at the Hotel.. We were told to wait 10 /15 mins by the front check in desk... Bearing in mind we arrive after the stipulated checking time... Yet the room was not ready while waiting we were never offered a drink not even water..and it was a very hot day ...after checking in we went into our rooms ... One of our room was as small as a closet ... The second room ' super deluxe' was quite big ... Air con did not work rome bathroom smell of urine . We informed them ASAP of this. We were hungry and so we were told that we can eat with their affiliated restaurant which was literally next door..; we had to wait for over and hour for a table... And their staff was very Rude in this affiliated Restaurant next door...and I would not recommend anyone eating their ... On our first night we had dinner on their roof top restaurant which was good.. After dinner we settled into our first night only to be awaken by a DJ playing music on the Horel root Top Restaurant ... We called down to the front Desk who told us he would have ask for the music to be turned down. This never happened we called again at 1:30am 2:15am ... 3:05am every hour until it was finally stop at 6:24am ... We had no sleep... We informed the front desk manager... Who apologise and told us that this was a one off and that it won't happen again... They did send yes a bottle of sparkling wine and some Rasberries..as a form of an apology... We were also told it would never happen again... Sat night cane and after having no sleep from the night before... We ate at the same hotel Roof top restaurant as we were about to leave I notice a DJ again setting up an so I ask the manager of the Restaurant & the Hotel if there was another Party I explained we all 4 of us had no sleep the night before... He the restaurant manager & the front desk manager told us the music would be off as the Restaurant closes at 1 am... This was another lie.. We again kept calling the front desk staff who was useless ...The music went on again until the Sunday morning at 5:45am . I called the front desk at 9am again to speak to the manager on duty... He was off but the front desk chap apologised and told me he would inform the owner as it's a private owned Hotel. They offered us to check out later that day as we had no sleep for 2 nights & our flight was at 6:15pm... we checked out I ask the woman at the desk for the name of the owner so we can write to Him/Her and make a formal compliant .. She refused to give this to us... She told me to write to the booking staff and they would pass our comments onto the owner. Since coming back to London - we've called wrote emails and to this day no one has written back or called us.. This Hotel cost us €1,195 Euros for 2 nights..just to sleep . The one of rooms were to small and nothing like it's described... The toilet in the So call super Deluxe room smell of urine .. They had to send a staff to re- clean.. Their air-con does not work.. And it was hot at night.. The windows didn't open...we would never ever stay at this Hotel ... And I will warn anyone that to not stay at this Hotel.. !!!!
Book through a well establish Travel agent and not online DO NOT STAY AT HOTEL VALADIER the service was bad .. The rooms small and staff very unhelpful the walls are very thin and their is a piano Bar at the bottom & Root top restaurants where they hire out for private parties.. so this will affect your sleep .

Room Tip: Book through a well establish Travel agent and not online DO NOT STAY AT HOTEL VALADIER the service...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Kirsten L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Hotel has a very good location and breakfast was good, but it is very dark inside (lots of black polished granite). The room we were put in for six nights had very small windows only, but a huge mirror over the bed. We were asking ourselves what kind of etablissement we had ended up in.

During our stay, building works went on during the day, with party during the night. Not really a quite place. Information given from the reception turned out wrong. We thought it being very typical for the hotel not to ask if we enjoyed the stay when we were leaving...

Room Tip: Don't take the fifth floor underneath the terrace - very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Novarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
112 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

It is a Small Hotel but very charming and elegant. I book a triple and i've got a suite at the same price. Very Good Breakfast, excellent restaurant with a nice view of Rome on the top floor, and a charming piano bar for the evening. The Central location is really perfect to visit the city of Rome.

Room Tip: Any room is really quiete, because you are inside a walking area of Rome's downtown. Any room is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhStrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Valadier, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice words about hotel Valadier!

We are really happy to hear from you that you had a wonderfull stay and that you enjoyed every moment.
We hope to see you again very soon.

Best Regards

Flavia
Guest Relations
Groupe Valadier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

My wife and I spent 9 nights at this hotel in September. Such a long stay gave us the opportunity to observe the hotel and compare some of the other reviews against our own experiences.

We booked the pick up service at the airport. Yes it is more expensive than a taxi. But we were greeted by a driver waiting with a sign even after our flight arrived an hour late. That made it worth it for us. Upon arrival, check in was fast, friendly and efficient.

Our room was a superior Bamboo room on the 3rd floor. With only one window facing the walls of an adjoining building, there was little natural light. However, the room was big enough and the bathroom was spacious with good shower pressure and hot water. Everything worked and the housekeeping did a good job every day. We do concur that noises from the hallway could be heard given how narrow the hallways are (both caused by housecleaning staff and inconsiderate guests speaking loudly to one another) and, on one night, we detected the faint thump of bass from, we think, the Piano Bar.

The hotel WIFI was free and worked well. I could also use it at the bar/restaurants , the Lowenbrau and the Il Brillo Parlante on Via della Fontnella.

We had only a few requests such as extra hangars, information on a bus tour and help booking a museum trip. All were taken care of right away.

The breakfast was just right but, as with other reviewers, we were disappointed that it was in a windowless room as opposed to the under renovation rooftop.

The hotel itself is dark and can seem maze like. It is not the typical straight hallway North American type hotel, but we thought that it set it apart (once we got used to it). The piano bar was great and filled in late at night. My wife and I were always ably served by Saed.

The location is perfect. Right beside Pizza de Popolo and minutes away from the Spanish steps and little side streets full of restaurants and boutiques, we could walk to where we needed to go or quickly access the subway. It is worth noting that it also near the Borghese Gardens and a spectacular, and free, lookout.

While we did not eat at Hi Res, the rooftop restaurant we did venture there for cocktails and enjoyed great views.

Our stay at the Valadier definitely met and even exceeded our expectations. We will stay there the next time we are in Rome.

Room Tip: We liked our 3rd floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Valadier, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your nice words about Hotel Valadier!

We are really happy to hear from you that you had an enjoyable stay in Rome and that you appreciated the services provided. Our staff has been more than happy to make your trip a memorable experience.

We are looking forward to see you again!

Best Regards

Flavia
Guest relations
Groupe Valadier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

My boyfriend and I spent 9 days in Italy this September and we stayed at Hotel Valadier for the first 3 nights while we were in Rome, then later an apartment in Cinque Terre, then another hotel in Florence. Hotel Valadier was our favorite - it eased us into our trip wonderfully. Our room, though not large by typical American hotel standards (as many people tend to note), felt very reasonable for two people travelling in denser European cities. It was sleek and well-appointed with up-to-date decor choices. We also were lucky to have a window with a pleasant view. The bathroom was also nice and there was always as much hot water as I wanted for showers (not to mention the tap water in Rome tastes soooo good)! The service on all levels was excellent, including the maid, the lobby / reception desk, and the adjoining restaurants & bars. We actually had one of our most memorable nights at the Piano Bar in the hotel -- was a lot of fun and the waitstaff took very good care of us. The restaurant at the top of the hotel was also fantastic -- we had drinks and appetizers on a number of occasions there, before going to dinner and the service (Lorenzo?) was so good and helpful.

All in all, I would highly recommend this hotel -- it is a very good value without ever feeling like a 'deal' sort of hotel, in a very convenient and central location. It was the perfect base in Rome for our indulgent and memorable adventures in Italy. When we return to Rome (hopefully not too long from now), we'll stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Brincha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Valadier, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice words about Hotel Valadier!

We are really happy to hear from you that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you could start your tour in a good way.

We hope to see you again very soon.

Best Regards

Flavia
Guest Relations
Groupe Valadier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We used the Hotel Valadier for a recent visit with one of our tour groups. Everything was first class. Check-In was a breeze even with a group of 25 and our travelers loved the hotel restaurants and bars. Special thanks to Claudio who helped make our stay absolute perfection. We will be returning in 2014 with another group and can't wait to stay at the hotel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Valadier, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving a review about Hotel Valadier.

We are glad to hear from you that you had a good stay and that you enjoyed our services and facilities.

Hoping to see you again very soon, we send you our best regards.

Flavia
Guest Relations
Groupe Valadier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#146 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,497 reviews
Campo Marzio
Residenza Canova Tadolini
Residenza Canova Tadolini
#286 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Campo Marzio
Piranesi Palazzo Nainer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Residenza di Ripetta
Residenza di Ripetta
#345 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Art by the Spanish Steps
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#47 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valadier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valadier

Property: Hotel Valadier
Address: Via della Fontanella 15, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#73 Business Hotel in Rome
#128 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#207 Family Hotel in Rome
#228 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valadier 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the historic heart of Rome, behind Piazza del Popolo and at a stone's throw from Piazza di Spagna, the Hotel Valadier is a charming intimate and refined 4-star hotel. The Hotel occupies an ancient Roman palazzo and has undergone recent major refurbishment to provide all the facilities you would expect to find in a modern hotel, albeit not at the expense of its character and period features. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Valadier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valadier Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing