We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super Small but good location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Valadier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Valadier
Ranked #238 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Super Small but good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

We're on 1st and 3rd floor. 2 rooms. This is my second night here and I'm really feeling claustrophobic. .the room is super small. The bathroom is super small...if you consider your self fat, this place is not for you..lol..We can barely move and not enough space for our luggage...2 more nights to go and I don't know if I can survive... window with nothing to look..it's making me feel antsy and it's very hard to fall asleep. The mirror on the ceiling is kinda creepy ...feels like someone might come down...

But, location location location.. it's so close to piazza spagna ...coliseum and trevi Spanish steps. I'm kinda disappointed that all fountains are being renovated till 2016...whoaaa..

I'm trying to make the most of it. Btw, they do have free great breakfast..

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lili P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Valadier, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Guest,
first of all thank you for your review.
We are happy you appreciated our location, as you said is near to the main Roman sights.
We are sorry though about the room inconvenient, you could ask to change room for you if it was too small.Our staff is always ready to satisfy our customers needs.
We are sorry for the closed fountains but it can be an excuse to come back to Rome to see them open and restored, in this case we hope to welcome you again and let you choose the room you prefer.
Best Regards
Guest Relation
Leila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    344
    131
    66
    48
See reviews for
187
359
33
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

We stayed at The Valadier almost by chance (our reservation at Hotel Palatino was cancelled without reason) and this was the only one we could find with a triple room available on such a short notice. It turned out to be best place to stay in Rome!! and after a few days we got used to the decoration and got to like it. They gave us a Junior Suite, with a lot of space and a big bathroom area, breakfast on the roof was magnificent, not only the views, but the variety of fruits, cereals, pastries and an excellent coffee. The location is perfect, walking distance to a lot of attractions, the area also has a lot of shops, restaurants (Il Brillo Parlante -next to the hotel- it's a good option at the end of the day), gelaterias and cafes.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saab63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Valadier, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Guest,
simply thank you for your review and for telling us about your positive stay at our hotel.
We are always happy to know that our customers had a good time and were satisfyed with us and with was we offer.
Hoping to see you soon again
Best Regards
Guest Relation
Leila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

This is rated a 4 star hotel and yet, even in the high season, my double room only cost €134 - including breakfast. I think this represents great value in a city where hotel rooms are often tiny and tragically decorated, in a very tired (ie over decorated) Italian fashion. My room whilst not large, had a queen sized bed - fantastic firm mattress and four great pillows. But it was the bathroom which made it such a pleasant stay. Carrara marble, loads of storage space and a large shower with two different shower heads. The decor throughout the hotel is a curious mixture of Art Deco, gaudy Miami decor, and some modern touches. It's quite dark inside with lots of black glass. But the air conditioning works a treat, the wifi is free throughout the hotel, it's 5 minutes walk to the metro and all the shops, and best of all.....it has an amazing roof top terrace. This is where breakfast is served daily and it's a wonderful place for evening drinks or dinner as well.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Signoramarg53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Valadier, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you so much for leaving a review with your experience and opinion.
We are always glad to hear that our customers had a pleasant stay and really appreciated our hotel and services.
Your opinion is very detailed and we really appreciate it, people can have a general and clear idea of what we offer.
Hoping to welcome you soon again.
Best Regards
Guest Relations
Leila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

I stayed there last year with my husband, it was our honey moon and we stayed for 9 days, all what I can say that everything was perfect ... the location is really great, it is near of everything , bus station, underground, spanish steps, condotti street .. all what you need is surrounding .. the staff was very helpful and so kind ... breakfast was very good and had many choices ... room service was very good ... only TV channels need to have more varieties ... in brief we enjoyed a lot and sure Valadier will be our choice when we go there again ... Thanks my lovely hotel Valadier for making my honey moon more romantic and perfect.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nabilaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Valadier, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Guest,
we are really happy to know you choosed our hotel for your Honey Moon and that you were totally happy with us.
Thank you for your kind words and many compliments.
We will be very happy to see you soon again as soon as you come back to Rome.
Best Regards
Guest Relation
Leila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Nice permanence, very good breakfast on the roof garden with a wonderful landscape, professional staff, perfectly clean, perfect position in the heart of Rome, not noisy, comfortable beds, but too small bathrooms and really dark rooms, so dark that you want nothing but light, you crave sun and air while you are there!!!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Meriem B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Valadier, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for you review.
We are glad to know our hotel and service were in line with your expectations.
We are sorry though you did not liked our interior design, but apart from this we are happy that you had a good time and you have a positive opinion oabout us.
Hoping to welcome you soon again.
Best Regards
Guest Relations
Leila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

I stayed a week at Hotel Valadier and was very pleased w/ it. The only complaint is the room was very small. But it was clean and charming. The hotel staff was very helpful. The free breakfast was full of different selections and quite filling. The hotel is located in the middle of shopping and walking distance to many attractions in Rome.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Valadier, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for choosing us and for leaving your review.
We are happy that you appreciated our hotel and location.
The staff is always ready to reach customers needs and if we knew the room was small for your needs we would have change it for you.
Hoping to welcome you soon again and give us the chance to let you choose the kind of room you prefer.
Best Regards
Guest Relation
Leila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

I've traveled to Rome many times and all of those trips was for work. This time i took my wife and a long weekend from Thursday to Monday.

Given the short length of our stay it was curtail for us not to spend any time in cabs or transpiration to reach our desired location. (especially for shopping) Meanwhile i am a picky guy hence the hotel, service, breakfast had to be good...

Frankly speaking Valadier gave us all.

The location = PERFECT 100 meters to Piazza del Popolo right between the two major shopping street Corso and Condotti. if you don't mind walking then you are at walking distance to everything. (Of course not Vatican, make sure to get a cab it is less than 10 Euros)

Breakfast = VERY GOOD With view over Rome you are able to see the beautiful rooftops of old buildings with gardens. Sunlight reflecting over tens of churches mirror like roofs with yellow and orange color, it is simple beautiful to start your day.

Rooms and Services = IMPECCABLE we did not stay much in the room or spent lots of time in the hotel but it gave us everything that we needed. the service at breakfast was very good especially the african american gentelleman was so helpful and always ready to service (i am sorry, I forgot his name but you will know about whom i am taking about once you are there)

At the end of the day, it is a very good and convenient hotel which gave us all that we request from our trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Murat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Valadier, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,
thak you for the detailed review and for the compliments.
We are glad we were perfectly in line with all your needs and that being our customer you could have the stay in Rome you really wanted to have.
Thank you again for the kind words.
Hoping to see you soon again.
Best Regards
Guest Relation
Leila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#142 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
Campo Marzio
Residenza Canova Tadolini
Residenza Canova Tadolini
#273 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Campo Marzio
Piranesi Palazzo Nainer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Hotel Art by the Spanish Steps
Campo Marzio
Residenza di Ripetta
Residenza di Ripetta
#352 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#51 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valadier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valadier

Property: Hotel Valadier
Address: Via della Fontanella 15, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#73 Business Hotel in Rome
#131 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#207 Family Hotel in Rome
#228 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valadier 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the historic heart of Rome, behind Piazza del Popolo and at a stone's throw from Piazza di Spagna, the Hotel Valadier is a charming intimate and refined 4-star hotel. The Hotel occupies an ancient Roman palazzo and has undergone recent major refurbishment to provide all the facilities you would expect to find in a modern hotel, albeit not at the expense of its character and period features. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Valadier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valadier Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing