We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but some problems”
Review of Hotel Sistina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Sistina
Ranked #676 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The hotel has a convenient location for many sights, but the area is quite busy and touristy. On the good side: the rooms are quite spacious for a big city. On the negative side: the carpeting doesn't seem super clean. The reception staff was generally friendly but there was a major problem at departure, as I was required to go back to the hotel after checking out and leaving because they had made a mistake with the bill. This was really inconvenient as I missed part of a meeting and had little time to get to the airport. Generally, this hotel does not correspond to what you would normally expect from a 4 star, but this could be due to specificities in the Italian system, of course.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fuglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013

I would have to disagree with other reviewers on this one. The only good thing about this hotel is the location, however there are MANY other hotels for the same price in this area. From the second we walked in we knew that we were not going to stay here. There is barely a lobby and the lobby that is there is old not well kept. Our room was on the 2nd floor, at the end of a creepy dirty hallway. When we got to our room, the door was so old that you had to bang it in to get it open. The room itself seemed somewhat clean for the most part but extremely old and bare bones. The TV remote was all taped up, the bed and phone looked like they were 100 yrs old. The shower had mold all over it. My husband and I slept on bath towels b/c we were totally skeeved out. No idea how this could be ranked 4 stars. We luckily had to only stay here 1 night, as we moved out of this hotel as soon as we could.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Jackie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We booked the Sistina Hotel for 3 nights and it turned out to be exactly what we wanted - a superb central location without being on a noisy street, with a large, clean and well appointed bedroom and bathroom. We were on the corner of the hotel so had three windows and although there was some traffic noise we were not disturbed at night. The breakfast range was superb and the staff very friendly and helpful - particularly the lady on the afternoon and evening shift. The hotel is placed perfectly between the Spanish Steps and the Trevi Fountain and so within easy walking distance of almost everything you need - and there is a Metro station on the next corner. We sat on the roof terrace with a drink a couple of nights as well and although it was a little stormy it was a great view of the sunset and a way to wind down after a hard day's sightseeing. There are also shops and plenty of restaurants very close by, as is Villa Borghese for some quiet time. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

Room Tip: We had been told that the rooms at the back were quieter and I guess they would have had less traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This hotel has an excellent location, it's close to many attractions of this beautiful city, like Piazza Spagna, Villa Borghese, Via Veneto, Fontana di Trevi etc.The room was small but nice and clean, had a nice terrace and the staff was very fiendly and nice. I also enjoyed very much the excursions I took with the touristic company called Green Line, recommended by the hotel. I appreciate the competence of the guides in this company and the excellent organization of the excursions in this crowed city.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mirelavoiculescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

My partner and I stayed three nights at this hotel and a great time. Room was large, with a very comfortable bed, breakfast was unreal and as the title says, the location was perfect!

You have a perfect launching pad here to begin your exploration of surely one the most beautiful cities in the world. Ten minutes walk will take you to the Spanish Steps, Fontana do Trevi and much, much more. It is also super close to the metro which was just great.

We booked in a hurry and got a great price and an even better find. Check this place out.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulHamann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

As soon as we arrived we where told there was a problem with the air conditioning and only had a room with one small bed for 2 of us. We are not a couple and he tried to push us to another hotel in their group. I had read another review that mentioned the same thing! Thanks to that review we did not go. Requesting to speak to the manager was a no go as well!! We made them add a cot and move us to another room the next day. I think they use this hotel to fill their other less desirable locations!!!! BEWARE - we booked this months ago

Room Tip: Our second room was 328 request this room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gipper7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed at this hotel last week and they were very accommodating. They answered any questions we had and were very helpful.

The location is a couple of block from the Spanish steps. You can actually see the tall monument when you get out of the hotel. Hotel room itself was very nice. I was pleasantly surprised because it was not that small as some hotels in Rome are. The bathroom was spacious. We were at the front of the hotel so we did hear noise at night, but not enough noise that you couldn't sleep. Air conditioning was good and we had free wi-fi.

Breakfast was good with yogurt, cereals, coffee and milk and juice, fruit and pastries. One thing the kids did not like was that the milk was not cold, but again, you are in Rome.

We were one minute from Barberini square, where you can pick up hop on hop off bus and the regular buses.

Room Tip: Choose rooms in the back if you don't want to hear noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isabel164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Eliseo
Hotel Eliseo
#671 of 1,269 in Rome
527 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Pace Helvezia
Hotel Pace Helvezia
#398 of 1,269 in Rome
662 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Memphis
Hotel Memphis
#413 of 1,269 in Rome
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonna
Hotel Stendhal
Hotel Stendhal
#114 of 1,269 in Rome
930 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Genio
Hotel Genio
#452 of 1,269 in Rome
722 reviews
Trevi
Boutique Hotel Trevi
Boutique Hotel Trevi
#594 of 1,269 in Rome
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sistina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sistina

Address: Via Sistina 136, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #676 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £90 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sistina 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set between Piazza Barberini and the Spanish Steps, Hotel Sistina offers free Wi-Fi throughout the building and a top floor terrace with fantastic views of the city center. This small, friendly hotel is located in one of the most elegant streets of Rome, home to the famous Sistine Theater. At 200 meters, the nearest metro station (Barberini Station) will allow you to reach all of Rome's tourist attractions. Sistina Hotel features a reading room and a TV lounge. The multilingual staff at the front desk will be happy to assist you in booking guided tours, excursions and theatrical performances. There is also a free map of the city and free continental breakfast. The central area of Piazza Barberini, a stone's throw from the Trevi Fountain and the Spanish Steps, is a great choice for travelers who are interested in food, city walks, and tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sistina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing