We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful views from rooftop terrace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marcella Royal Hotel
Ranked #91 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Great views of the city from the rooftop restaurant, very helpful and friendly staff at the front desk. Room was on the small side but very tidy and clean. Easy walk into town with great gelato shop just around the corner. Would certainly stay here again if we were to return to Rome.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zippygirl61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,814)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

839 - 845 of 1,814 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013

Location is good, Views from rooftop restaurant were magnificent and staff especially Mario Jr, was very friendly and cooperative.
Breakfast wasn't brilliant and maybe the hotel has some great rooms, but our room was more "three stars plus" instead of 4 stars.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonicaEi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

The staff at this hotel was awesome, especially Sir Alex! Very warm and friendly. While it's not very close to most of the attractions, you can walk to some and take a cab to others, it wasn't a big deal - we like to walk. The rooftop garden was a really nice "extra," we spent all our downtime up there enjoying the views. I thought the breakfast there was just ok compared to the other hotels we stayed in on this trip (all in Italy). Our room was beautiful and clean but VERY small, as was the bathroom - there was no extra room for anything. We only stayed 2 nights and we were only in the room for sleeping and dressing, but we were right on top of each other when we were in it. If we'd stayed longer I think it would have become an issue. But all in all a very good experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 338JennyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Our 4th trip to Rome and our THIRD stay at this wonderful Hotel. Need I say more?

Should we get lucky enough for another trip to Rome, this is the ONLY Hotel we would consider. Not only is the place immaculate, it is continually freshened in every aspect and looks as beautiful now as it did back in the 1930's. It is classic and has not been updated. The staff truly remembered my wife and I and described certain (pleasant) situations that occurred during previous visits going back 5 years!! Unfortunately, the breakfasts, although very well prepared and presented, also have not changed. For return guests, a varied menu would be an added plus.

My best regards to the owner and staff of this fine Roman Hotel..

Room Tip: Upper floors are quieter and the views are calming, to say the least.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rpell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

OK - negatives first. The hotel is a little further away from the centre of things than we had expected, but getting cabs was not an issue and as there were four of us, most trips only worked out at a handful of Euros each which wasn't much more than the bus or underground.

Rooms were extremely comfortable and a decent size, Reception was large and the staff extremely helpful, but the star of the hotel is the roof terrace.

Breakfast and evening drinks are taken on the roof terrace which overlooks the Vatican and the rest of Rome. It's a truly wonderful way to start the day with breakfast as the sun comes up and finishing it with a cocktail watching the sunset.

Really nice hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The hotel was exactly what one would expect from a hotel of this size in a major city, apart from the room size, which was small but seems to be standard in Italy. Everything worked, the staff were helpful and friendly so no complaints. The deal breaker was the roof terrace where you can sit outside and have a drink or breakfast in the mornings. The space feels very green and the views are wonderful. It is situated a little way, and uphill, from the main attractions.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrammyandPops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

For the price you will be very happy with this hotel. The breakfast is very good and the nearby restaurants are excellent. We were so happy here, the hotel really made our trip! Thank you everyone at Marcella Royal

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kookingklass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#48 of 1,272 in Rome
2,330 reviews
Esquilino
Leon's Place Hotel
Leon's Place Hotel
#88 of 1,272 in Rome
650 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Villa Pinciana
Hotel Villa Pinciana
#90 of 1,272 in Rome
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Hotel Isa
Hotel Isa
#63 of 1,272 in Rome
1,263 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,272 in Rome
1,432 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#51 of 1,272 in Rome
2,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marcella Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marcella Royal Hotel

Address: Via Flavia 106, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#109 Family Hotel in Rome
#110 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#172 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £89 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marcella Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Marcella Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marcella Royal Rome
Hotel Marcella Royal
Marcella Royal Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing