We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marcella Royal Hotel
Ranked #99 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
173 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A good venue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We especially liked the friendly concierge service. The hotel is well located not far from the Via Veneto. Far enough away from the central train station to feel out of that area, which we don't appreciate. Restaurants, shopping and ice cream shops nearby. Clean room, reasonably comfortable, at a fair price. We loved the roof garden not only for breakfast but also for use during the day to get a bit of fresh air and sit outside to read, etc. They have a bar open all day in that roof garden.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ROBERT I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    828
    572
    141
    44
    17
See reviews for
198
857
44
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

I took my mum away for a long weekend. We arrived on Saturday 19th oct. salvatore on the roof terrace was so helpful and very funny. Genuinely a nice guy. And all the staff there were amazing. We walked everywhere, although we could of taken the metro from termini, which was around 7 min walk? Will go back!
Ps the rose wine on the roof terrace was fantastic :-)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lillyjack1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

I just returned from Italy and my second stay at this little hotel in the heart of Rome. I had to stay overnight in Rome after a week in Tuscany and chose this hotel because of the great experience I had had there several years before. The location is great-- not far from the Termini station, the Via Veneto and the Villa Borghese -- and VERY reasonably priced. The rooms are well-furnished and very clean, and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. The one trouble I had, water on the bathroom floor from a broken shower door seal, was taken care of quickly and neatly. There is also a wonderful garden bar on the roof of the hotel, and a terrific local restaurant-- La Pentolaccia-- at the end of the block which served some of the best food I've had in Italy. I highly recommend this gem of a hotel.

Room Tip: quieter rooms on the north side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom_A6112013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed here for 4 days starting on October 10. Right from our arrival, we found the hotel extremely welcoming and the front desk very helpful. The room we had was larger than expected for a European hotel, with a modern bathroom. The room was very clean and quiet. The room also had air conditioning, which actually worked and was needed at certain time.There is a rooftop area where breakfast is served as well as a place to just go to get a panoramic view of the city. The breakfast was a buffet with a wide assortment of juice,cheese, breads, meats, cakes and scrambled or hard boiled eggs. All and all, we were very pleased with our stay and would gladly stay here again if we were to go back to Rome.

Room Tip: Our room faced an inner courtyard, which may have helped with the room being quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwein2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel was a good quality hotel. It did have one strange feature! The shower was in the sleeping portion of the room rather than the bath room. The staff was generally helpful and attentive. They were able to give us good recommendations for dinner locations nearby. The hotel is not located very close to the more touristy locations but are relatively close to the rail station and metro lines.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

This hotel is a good base for exploring Rome. It is very good value and very much what you would expect from a 4 star hotel.
Breakfast is good and always included in your room price. It does finish a little early at 10am, but sitting on the roof terrance on a nice morning is really lovely.
location is reasonable for sightseeing, and there are lots of good local restaura.nts and bars nearby

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Leamington Spa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Just returned from 4 nights at this very comfortable hotel which in my opinion has a great location from where you easily access all the sights of this wonderful city. In three and a half days you will not be able to truly do justice to all the sights on offer as although the city is compact and quite easy to access on foot there is just so much to see.The Marcella Royal is in a very good neighbourhood and we felt very safe even at night time. Despite the many other reviews stating that the rooms were small in fact the rooms we had - 416 and 418 ( main entrance one door into a small lobby, then separate doors to each room with one bathroom off the lobby- other en-suite in the other bedroom) we found very spacious and in no way small. However bathrooms were rather on the small side.
The roof terrace was lovely and managed to have breakfast outside even being the beginning of October. ( and extremely wet - raining every day!) Breakfasts were just OK. Not really befitting a 4 star hotel. After 4 days we were rather tired of the food on offer which really was uninspired!
I think the hotel is struggling to find the 4th Star! Having said that the hotel staff were absolutely charming and could not have been more helpful. They suggested certain trips to the main sights which involved skipping many of the long entrance queues which I thoroughly recommend. They will cost more than the normal entrance fees but if time is of importance well worth the expenditure, particularly the Vatican tour where the standard entrance wait was almost 2 hours and we had no wait at all! One point to remember is that if you are a citizen of the EU and over 65 you will receive free standard entrance to all the sights, museums etc. However not the Vatican as it is a separate State, - not Italy. Be sure to have some form of proof of your age with you- otherwise you will pay!

On last note the staff at the Marcella recommended some restaurants near the hotel many of which are no more than 100 meters from the hotel and all those we dined at were tremendous!
So a big thank you to the staff of the Marcella for helping to make this short break a very special one.

Room Tip: Most rooms overlook the surrounding streets which also have tall buildings so I would suggest all v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barty18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#48 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,247 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#49 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,191 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#83 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,383 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#70 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,552 reviews
Monti
Rome Times Hotel
Rome Times Hotel
#111 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marcella Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marcella Royal Hotel

Property: Marcella Royal Hotel
Address: Via Flavia 106, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#110 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#160 Family Hotel in Rome
#172 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marcella Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marcella Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marcella Royal Rome
Hotel Marcella Royal
Marcella Royal Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing