We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Marcella Royal Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Artemide(Rome)
US$319
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$268
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$203
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$365
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$269
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$234
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Colosseum(Rome)
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$383
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$277
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
iQ Hotel Roma(Rome)
US$391
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$350
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Diocleziano(Rome)
US$284
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$939
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$428
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$429
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$408
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,857)
Filter reviews
1,856 results
Traveller rating
977
661
153
47
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
977
661
153
47
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barvia flaviaroof gardenlovely hotelrecommend this hotelwithin walking distancemain attractionsquiet streettrevi fountainspanish stepspastriesshort breakcity breakreception staffst petersaround the cornerbreakfast room
Filter
Updating list...
820 - 825 of 1,856 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This was our first stop on our first trip to Italy. The staff was more than helpful and so kind to us. They gave us all kinds of restaurant recommendations that were all wonderful. The roof top bar/restaurant was a beautiful get away after a long day of sightseeing. Salvatore the bartender was amazing helpful with great suggestions, even making us a reservations for dinner one night. The hotel is in a great location and just far enough from the center of Rome yet just close enough to make it perfect. There is a wonderful Gelato store around the corner, that all the locals seem to love, after trying it I understood why. The room was lovely. I read that some people complained about the noise. Our room was on the 6th floor and had extra sound proofing. We did not hear a thing. I would definitely recommend this place and hope to come back myself.
Thanks again for making our stay so nice

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Just got back from a city break in Rome and stayed at the Marcella Royal hotel. It's not right in the centre of the city but it's in reasonable walking distance from the Trevi Fountain and the Spanish Steps, and other sites are close enough that you can get to if you are prepared to walk for a while.

We had one of the slightly older rooms on the fifth floor (the only floor with small balconies) but the room was immaculately clean and fine for a couple on a short break. Besides, we rarely spent much time in the room with both sightseeing and spending time on the lovely roof terrace which is perfect for a continental breakfast or watching the Eternal City slip slowly into the evening with a nice bottle of wine.

The staff were very polite, courteous and helpful, with recommendations for sights and eating places. Very nice restaurants on the Via Flavia and there is a gelataria just round the corner that has simply the best gelato (Italian ice cream) that I've ever tasted.

I would absolutely recommend the hotel; just remember this is a city hotel with prices accordingly higher than a typical tourist destination.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Manamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Good location about 10 mins walk from Termini station, staff very friendly & helpful, roof top terrace is very pretty & great for breakfast & evening drink with the pianist playing. Breakfast has a good selection. Would definitely recommend. Good wi-fi.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GillL1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Not a bad hotel. First and foremost, the hotel is old school. They actually give you a room key, which is different, not bad, just different. There are not many hotels nowadays giving their customers keys.

They did an excellent job keeping the old school charm. The room walls were carpeted, the old shutters, everything about the hotel seemed vintage.

One of the major highlights was the breakfast on the 7th floor. The view of Rome was great and the food was very good. Nothing fancy, but enough to start a busy day of Rome site seeing.

The front desk staff was great. Very friendly. The first day we arrived it was rainy, so there was not really an incentive to go out. The staff encouraged us to go out anyways. They gave us a map and showed us the quickest way to get to the Trevi Fountain, which was only 15 minutes away. We are glad we did. Dispite the rain it was worth the walk. Glad the staff encouraged us to get out anyways. The staff is a major reason plus to this hotel.

The only major drawback for the room was the wifi. It was horrible. It was so bad the front desk told me to walk around my room to find the signal or better yet, sit in the lobby. Since it is so bad they probably should not even list the wifi as a feature, because it's basically a lie.

All-in-all the hotel is nice and I would stay again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Clashfactor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Took my mum to Rome in January and absolutely loved it. The hotel is a little bit further away from the centre of Rome but transport is very convenient and easy to use. There are lots of little hidden shops and sights to see nearby.
Spent two nights in this hotel. Small hotel, beautiful foyer and nice clean rooms. The staff were extremely helpful - both at the front desk and also on the roof terrace - all really lovely people - especially Allesandro and Allesandra at the front desk and the lovely Indian man on the roof terrace! Staff were happy to recommend restaurants, places to visit and also to organize day trips for us. We were allowed to check in earlier than scheduled and our additional requests (we called from London before the trip) were also accommodated. We had a really pleasant experience - would definitely stay there again. Thank you. Harinder, London.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank r_gujral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews