We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Property, Great Service . . . Not So Central Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marcella Royal Hotel
Ranked #89 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My family enjoyed the Marcella Royal. The rooms were recently renovated, clean, and comfortable (albeit small--as expected). We are walkers. Although the hotel is not central, it is "inside the wall" and you can walk to most sites. Otherwise, you are also close to Termini Station. That said, in the heat of summer walking up the hill in the heat is not a pleasant stroll. The rooftop garden at the hotel, however, is pleasant. It has great views of Rome and is a great way to start the day (with the hotel's bountiful breakfast) or to end the day with a cold drink and a snack. We loved it. The service at this hotel was also excellent in every respect--the staff were all warm and welcoming and provided us with terrific suggestions on every question we presented to them.

Room Tip: We were given a renovated room. I understand that some of the other rooms may have had better views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank PabloEBlanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,754)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

702 - 708 of 1,754 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend. Not central location, but is only about 10min walk from main Termini.
Rooms are very nice and comfortable and clean, breakfast room on the roof has fantastic views over the city, and plenty of choice.
The roof terrace was a fantastic place to relax and have a drink in the evening, Salvatore looked after us, nothing was too much trouble (great cocktails).
The desk staff were also very helpful(Mario) in recommending places to eat and booking any trips to main tourist attractions, which is worth considering as the queues were huge.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Bryn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The Marcella was a pleasant place to stay in Rome. The rooftop bar and restaurant was a nice place to relax and enjoy drinks with friends. The location is not central, but it was easy to get a taxi to just about any area of Rome.

Room Tip: Rooms were spacious, but the walls were paper thin. It was easy to hear tv and conversation in adjoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

To be honest it has been over a year since we stayed here, July 2013 for our Honeymoon. The hotel was very cute and staff well informed of the city. The morning breakfast buffett was nothing spectacular but did have a great view of St. Peter's Basilica. Our room was extremely small and bathroom was even smaller. To be fair, we didn't complain or try to move rooms, but since it was our Honeymoon and every other hotel in Italy knew this, I was disappointed and pretty stubborn. It's location is fairly far from the main tourist sights. However, we did enjoy this since we love being outdoors and trekking it, We walked everywhere and I would say it was a sloid 45 minute walk to the Coliseum. The local restaraunts surrounding us though were all pretty wonderful and we felt we were experiencing more of the authentic Rome then we would have gotten elsewhere. I honestly do not think we would return to the Marcela Royal but would be comfortable at a hotel in the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The hotel finally has been downgraded to a three-star and that's where it should be. It's not in the center of Rome but rather close to Termini train station-10 min walk. The cab overcharges for the ride-we were told up to 12 euro but in fact had to pay 15 for a 4 min ride. It's a rip off one can live with.
The breakfast is very nice but the selection doesn't change. The negatives for an American traveler: no radio/alarm clock; no ice machine; no body lotion or conditioner.
The staff is very pleasant and accommodating. For some reason they added 2.5 euro to our tax bill for a bottle of water. They refunded the money but it took a few min. Check your bill. You should pay 3 euro per person per day.

Room Tip: we booked "blindly" through hotels.com. we got a good price at under $80 per nite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bubuli32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Breakfasting with beautiful views over the rooftops of Rome was a perfect way to start the day. The breakfast itself had a wide variety of choices and was delicious. Room itself was very clean, nicely furnished, lovely bathroom and nice view. Staff were very welcoming and helpful. Checkout was speedy. Location is really good. Close to the Termini Station and we could walk to every sight, including The Vatican, Colosseum, and the Zoo.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank PoppyPeasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 days on our trip to Rome. The welcome was delightful, the room was very well appointed and comfortable, breakfast very acceptable. The roof garden was spectacular and a lovely place to enjoy breakfast and an evening drink. The drinks are my only criticism. A vodka was 5 euros and a mixer 3 euros and we were charged 8 euros a couple of times, but when we paid the bill there were a couple of occasions when we were charged 14 euros for this drink. My husband had signed for it, but I decided to query it anyway and was told that was because it was a cocktail. Since when has a vodka and tonic been a cocktail! Indeed a proper cocktail was only 12 euros. Just beware of this, my only gripe - if it hadn't been for this I would have rated it a 5 instead of a 4.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Leon's Place Hotel
Leon's Place Hotel
#98 of 1,269 in Rome
627 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Villa Pinciana
Hotel Villa Pinciana
#72 of 1,269 in Rome
518 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#50 of 1,269 in Rome
2,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Hotel Isa
Hotel Isa
#66 of 1,269 in Rome
1,217 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#47 of 1,269 in Rome
2,414 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Alpi
Hotel Alpi
#119 of 1,269 in Rome
1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marcella Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marcella Royal Hotel

Address: Via Flavia 106, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#110 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#160 Family Hotel in Rome
#172 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £88 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marcella Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marcella Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marcella Royal Rome
Hotel Marcella Royal
Marcella Royal Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing