We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”
Review of Hotel Caprice

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Caprice
Ranked #475 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Good hotel. The members of the staff were polite and friendly.
Breakfast was ok, cappuccino was great!
Renovated but small rooms. The beds were quite comfortable, they changed towels every day but they didn't change the sheets once. We stayed 5 days (4 nights).
The location was very good, a few steps from Via Veneto and most attractions within walking distance from the hotel.
Overall, it was a pleasant stay

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Natassa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Caprice, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you so much for the review and the kind words.
We are glad you appreciated our hotel with our very central position.
Our customers are always very satisfyed with us and we are really happy is the same for you.
Hoping to see you soon again.
Best Regards
Guest Relations
Leila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (530)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

83 - 89 of 530 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

Was not originally booked for this hotel, but because of a billing snafu, we were moved to Hotel Caprice. Was concerned when I read about the proximity of the strip club, but we didn't experience any noise from it. Our room was modern and amply sized for the two of us, and I loved the spacious bathroom and waterfall shower. Room was well soundproofed from outside noise, but the door could have used a soundproofing strip around it, as the sound of other guest's doors slamming shut was quite annoying. As mentioned in other reviews, the breakfast area was horribly cramped, in fact, I only had coffee once because it was so uncomfortable. Front desk staff were pleasant and helpful. There is a restaurant next door that we quite enjoyed, except for the very dated decor, the food was delicious and very well priced. Overall, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pilar/Santiago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Caprice, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you for the review and for saying that the club nearby do not disturb at all.
We are glad you liked our hotel and the room you had, the bathrooms have all pleasant showers. The historical and antique palaces of the city center of Rome don't have wide spaces as the modern ones have, this is why you maybe founded our breakfast hall a little bit small.
This is part of staying in the heart of the city of Rome as you have seen the location is perfect, close to everything from shopping areas to historical places.
We are very happy you had a good time at our hotel and you enjoyed your stay.
Hoping to see you soon again.
Best Regards
Guest Relations
Leila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Traditional hotel with a modern twist inside. Very good location and neighborhood near the Spanish Steps and pleasant restaurants.Great friendly staff. Good selection for breakfast and coffee for start of the day. Clean and comfortable rooms, but not to spacious. Good internet in room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Komsinica_Njanja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Caprice, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Customer,
thank you so much for the review,
we are glad you liked our hotel and you appreciated our central location, close to the main historical places of Rome.
We thank you for the kind words about our staff, they always try to give the best.
Hoping to see you soon again
Best Regards
Guest Relations
Leila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Great location near to the spanish steps and close to other tourist sites. Small but simple hotel but air con is noisy and it is on top of cicacica boom lap dance bar which has horrible woman prancing around outside. Otherwise room is decent size but my pillow had a stain and nice waterfall shower.
I have definitely stayed in worse places in rome ! Didnt get a chance to try breakfast, reception check in and staff were helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Caprice, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you for the review.
We are happy you enjoyed our 3 stars hotel in the famous Via Veneto area, known for being the favourite vip location during the "50's and 60's Dolce Vita Years". Is still one of the most beautiful and luxurious area in Rome, embassies and important companies are here.
We are sorry for being near a lapdance bar but every city has some and sometimes are even in nicest area of the city.
Thank you again for the compliments about our hotel services and staff.
We will be very happy to welcome you soon again.
Best Regards
Guest Relations
Leila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The location of this hotel is perfect , only 5 minutes from the famous via vineto and 10 minutes from the Spanish steps.
But the quality of the rooms,lobby and the breakfast area are just ridicules !!
We booked a superior room and payed extra for it (and it was not cheap), to be shocked by the size and design of the room that was not practical or useful at all , not mentioning the quality of the furniture was very bad , you felt that it was old and over used.
The free wifi was extremely difficult to connect to , and requires a log in every 10 minutes , not mentioning the very week signal.

The bathroom on the other hand was a more worse story , where the shower didn't even have a glass door or a curtain to block the water from flooding every thing.

The breakfast area was so cramped that you just want to leave , and the food choices where very limited.
There are much better hotels in the same area for the same price.

Room Tip: The location of this hotel is perfect , only 5 minutes from the famous via vineto and 10 minutes fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Faiz1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Caprice, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you for the review and we are very sorry to hear that you did not like the hotel furnishing and design.
We are sorry if you did not appreciate our 3 stars hotel in the very center of Rome, usually our customers are really happy with us: for the location, the services, the rooms , the staff etc.
Maybe the room design was not of your taste, we regret you did not ask us to change it, the rooms have different design.
Our staff is always ready to satisfy all of the necessities or preferences of our customers.
Hoping to welcome you again and have the chance to let you choose the room you prefer.
Best Regards
Guest Relations
Leila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

I booked online and it sounded good so as I was travelling with friends I was hoping it was as good as it sounded. It was!

Comfortable rooms with air con, heating, hairdryer and an adequate breakfast served downstairs and reasonably central. The staff were very helpful when we were having trouble checking in online for our next flight.

By great good fortune there's a very good restaurant just two doors up where we ate twice and I have reviewed separately.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coach4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Caprice, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Guest,
we really thank you for the review and we are glad you were happy first with our on-line booking and at the end with our Hotel too.
We are pleased you appreciated our room services as air conditioning , heating, hairdryer,breakfast and expecially that you were happy with the hotel staff helping as much as possible in solving a problem for you.
Hoping to welcome you soon again at Hotel Caprice.
Best Regards
Leila
Guests Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

First, I'd like to say this was one of my favorite hotel experiences in Europe. My entire trip I was looking for more "authentic" accommodations and I never found them in France or Spain. At the Caprice the lobby was filled with lots of seating, antiques and ambience. The staff was always cordial to us. We had assistance with the lift upon arrival even though our Italian was null. We had a queen bed in a modern corner room. We were just underneath where we believe staff convened and nearest to a linen closet where they frequented. It really wasn't easy to sleep in with that noise but it was quiet in the evenings. We never saw or heard any goings on at the club next door. We actually booked the room thinking it would be some fun and it was like it wasn't even there. Breakfast was lovely for it being gratis - there were cold meats, cheeses, danish, toast and yogurt. However, the highlight was very fresh made coffee, expresso and hot chocolate where the carafe was bought table side upon request. I loved how they asked for a few days but for the remainder of the week they already knew what we wanted. The breakfast room was a bit stuffy and hot but you don't have to eat there. Some mornings we took breakfast separately or brought up stuff for whoever was sleeping. The servers also provided things like hot water or lemon towards the end of service to take to our room. Arrive late and you will be told no more. We also called the front desk for tea service after-hours and their was no hesitation. We had our own tea but they brought up a steeping pot and cups with a small charge added to the room. We didn't have a view it was sort of neighborhood-y looking at others balconies and outdoor laundry but we did have a breeze. Rome is quite hot during Summer so our windows, a/c and shower was used quite a bit. The shower is a tad confusing - very modern - and we couldn't help but flood the sink and toilet area every time we bathed but we had plenty of linens. The room was clean and we opted out of daily cleanings however the one day we counted on it they didn't clean and the one day we left everything out leaving late in the day they cleaned when we left the DND sign on. I seriously think it was all a language thing and our belongings were neatly placed on the desk for cleaning. Honestly, the best part of this hotel is the access to the train and walking distance to all the best sites, shopping and restaurants. I loved being able to get a great meal near the Trevi fountain, have plenty of shops to grab some bottled water and come back to our room which was perfect for what it was. There's a small fridge/mini bar, a small wardrobe, the desk, nightstands and lots of shelving in the bath. Our room was just right for two friends or a couple. I would highly recommend for someone looking to avoid the pretentious boutique hotels or big high-rises for a more inn like experience. I wouldn't change a thing and would totally continue to come back.

Room Tip: Corner rooms not on the hall are more private but nearest to the stairs, elevator and maids closets
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank No N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupeValadier, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Caprice, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comments told in such detail regarding your stay in Rome and above all at the Hotel Caprice, so that other travelers have one more chance to know and evaluate our services.
Thank you also for mentioning the comodity and the cleaness of our rooms and the variety of the food and drink that our breakfast offers every day.
We will pass your positive words about to all the team which is working day by day to satisfy all guest needs.

We hope to see you again very soon in Rome.
Best regards

Luisa
Guest Relations
Groupe Valadier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Garda
Hotel Garda
#575 of 1,272 in Rome
349 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
La Residenza
La Residenza
#310 of 1,272 in Rome
482 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#154 of 1,272 in Rome
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Imperiale
Hotel Imperiale
#227 of 1,272 in Rome
1,032 reviews
Prati
Hotel Diplomatic
Hotel Diplomatic
#228 of 1,272 in Rome
817 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Del Corso
Hotel Del Corso
#340 of 1,272 in Rome
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caprice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caprice

Address: Via Liguria 38, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #475 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £52 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Caprice 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Caprice "Dolce Vita Style." Try taking a step back in time and imagining yourself in the middle of a Fellini film set. This is the atmosphere you can breathe at the Hotel Caprice, located at a stone’s throw from the world-famous Via Veneto, the street where, in the 1950s, film directors, actors and other "Dolce Vita" celebrities used to be stalked by the paparazzi. Recently refurbished, this charming hotel features an intimate and refined atmosphere. A classic design in perfect bon ton style blends with the more evocative style of the Orient in a unique combination. Our splendid buffet breakfast and 40 tastefully decorated and furnished rooms welcome you in a warm and elegant environment, where you can spend your holiday or business trip pampered like a film star. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Agoda, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Fastbooking, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Caprice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caprice Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing