We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, location and staff.”
Review of Barocco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Barocco Hotel
Ranked #17 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel, location and staff.”
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Beautiful hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Wonderful location with easy access to public transportation. Easy walking distance to many tourist sites.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twinkie4104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,864 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,210
    555
    77
    20
    2
See reviews for
482
1,756
103
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
albuquerque
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Just spent 3 nights at the Barocco. I last stayed here in 2006 and it has since been remodeled.
This is a fantastic location - a short walk to the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon and Piazza Navona. The location just couldn't be better.
Our room was small - a little tight for 2 adults. The bathroom was huge - very atypical for Italy. If mood lighting over the shower, rainfall showers, and very modern baths are your thing than this is definitely the place for you. I would have preferred some more closet and storage space to an oversized shower / bathroom.
The staff is great, the breakfasts generous. Must admit though that I missed the older style that existed before the remodel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cattivojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

My husband and I just got back from our trip to Italy. We spent 4 nights in Rome at the Barocco Hotel and 5 nights in Sorrento at another hotel.

The Baracco was perfect for us. It's located just a few minute walk from the Trevi Fountain and the Spanish Steps. We walked to both every night for dinner and people watching. We were able to walk to the Coliseum and it took us about 30 minutes which wasn't too bad. The subway or Metro train station is right across the street from the hotel. We used it to get to the Vatican which is just a few stops away and also to get to Naples when we were heading to Sorrento. The subway was very easy to use.

The hotel was very helpful and responsive before my arrival. They helped arrange a pickup at the airport for 50 Euro before our arrival. I think if you book directly through the hotel's website it's cheaper but I had booked through a different website.

The staff was very pleasant. We arrived and they upgraded our room for free. The room was perfect. It was small but the bathroom was large and we had a large bathtub. The beds were 2 twins together and super comfortable. I found the linens (nice big duvets) to be very clean and comfortable.

We actually stayed at the hotel at the beginning of our trip for 4 nights and then we came back the last night of our trip to fly out of Rome. The last night we were not upgraded so we got to experience the classic double and it was also very nice. It was very similar to the upgrade but without the bathtub.

The free breakfast was perfect too! There was a large table of pastries, meat and fresh fruit and bread. You can also order an omelette or scrambled eggs. The waitstaff was very friendly!

The hotel staff was very friendly. They suggested places to eat in the area and helped us with directions to nearby attractions.

I would stay here again!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juliemartin910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

The hotel is centrally located....within minutes you can be at piazza republica, spanish steps, trevi fountain, via del corso and condetti....the rooms are great and the receptionist Michelle Trabucco great with all the possible help he can extend...highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gupta_shivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
151 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

we stayed here for 3 nights- great concierge- recommended great close by restaurants- on Piazza Barberini- 5 minutes from Spanish Steps- great bar- small rooms but nice bathrooms!! Close shutters to outside so sun doesn't shine in- we didn't figure that out until the last night-

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HLSESS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2011

We recently stayed at this hotel and could not ask for a better experience.The hotel upgraded us to a suite (unexpected). The room was very nicely furnished and the room had a huge bathroom. The shower was probably the nicest we have seen in Italy . The tiled floors were spectacular . We felt like we were sleeping in our own bed at home as this was a very comfortable bed. Our breakfast (included) was also very well done. You could also order omelets, scrambled eggs or fried eggs at no additional cost. The staff was very friendly and helpful with directions . The hotel is in a good central location just a few minute walk from the spainish steps. We would certainly stay at Hotel Barocco on a future stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveldoc824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewisville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We opted for the Deluxe room, and we got the most amazing room (#435) with our own private terrace with lush greenery, seating, umbrella, and a private hot tub! The bath was so luxurious, with rain fall shower and colored lights. The most comfortable bed on our whole trip, and finally AC that really cranked out cool air (our hotel in Perugia cut off the AC chillers in middle of the night, so Barocco was a welcome change). Not all Deluxe rooms have a terrace, so I am not sure how/why we were so lucky. Location is in Barberini so very convenient to everything. Front desk was extremely helpful, turn down service was great, just excellent service and amenities all the way around. And free wireless internet as a bonus!

Room Tip: Ask for room 435 (Deluxe).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NC2Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,256 in Rome
6,620 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,256 in Rome
4,096 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#11 of 1,256 in Rome
3,487 reviews
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#35 of 1,256 in Rome
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barocco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barocco Hotel

Property: Barocco Hotel
Address: Piazza Barberini 9 | Entrance: Via della Purificazione, 4, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Rome
#6 Family Hotel in Rome
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#8 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barocco Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Bernini's Triton Fountain, the Barocco is a boutique hotel with just 37 rooms (and a staff of 22!) Located in an old aristocratic building in the heart of Baroque Rome. Carefully refurbished in 2010 and 2012 to offer guests superior standards of comfort and style, the Barocco has followed the example of leading international hotels, becoming 100% smoke-free.Attention to detail, absolute cleanliness, unique and highly sought-after rooms, an atmosphere from times past, and 21st-century technology, make guests' stay at the Barocco a warm Italian experience full of magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Barocco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barocco Hotel Rome
Hotel Barocco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing