We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite as expected for the price”
Review of Barocco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Barocco Hotel
Ranked #17 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2011

After reading all the excellent reviews, my boyfriend and I determined this was the best place to stay during our recent 5 day trip to Rome. The rates were comparable to other nice hotels in the area. Upon arriving, we were early and the staff was very friendly, offering us water and a place to sit and rest. The room was not as nice as I had expected. Based on pictures from their website and information regarding their recent renovations, I was expecting something different. We were put in room 15 which was definitely not a renovated room. The headboard of the bed even had an old in-headboard radio/intercom system that looked like something from the 1970's. The main wall of the room was outfitted with dark wooden cabinets, desk, and wardrobes which also did not give it the "contemporary" feel that I had envisioned based on their website pictures....overall the room had a dark and drab feeling. The size of the room was small but comparable for the area. The bathroom was nice and that did look like it had been updated more than the main room. We had no view to speak of from the windows (just a view of alley's between buildings). For what was basically a $300 a night room for us (in USD), it was dissapointing compared to rooms we could get for the same price in other large US cities. The location of our room was also near the flight of steps that gets used a lot and also right next to the breakfast room, so it was noisey, luckily I had earplugs with me. It is unfortunate that guests coming in late in the evening are not more respectful of the people in the rooms they are walking by... and we had one particularly noisy family during our stay that found no problem yelling back and forth to each other up the stairs early in the morning or late at night, but of course that is just their rudness and not a fault of the hotel staff. The staff was friendly and spoke very good english and were always willing to accomodate us or answer questions. They also arranged our transportation to and from the airport which went smoothly. The complimentary breakfast was also very well done and a good way to start a busy day of sightseeing. Overall the stay was fine but nothing overly impressive as I thought it would be based on reviews. The location is very good though, right up the street from the Metro and within walking distance to many of the top sites of the city.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank worldtravelerfromnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francocaruso, Direttore generale at Barocco Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2011

Dear Guest,
In the course of the past year we have received numerous comments on the rooms with are identified by the number “5” (15, 25, 35) all identical rooms. After this further comment, I think there is the need to clarify some further points:
- During the renovation work conducted in 2010 we decided not to change the furniture of these three rooms because these rooms had a style and quality of the woodwork which would be a shame to remove. Everything else in the room was changed and the bathrooms were completed renewed;
- Among the comments written in this forum (which are just the tip of the iceberg, considering the many more written comments we receive directly through various channels) you can read the opinions on the room which you occupied and verify that they are in total contrast to yours, for example:
May 2011 entitled “A quiet oasis in the middle of Rome” or the one of 2 June 2011 “what an excellent surprise” and many more in which the guests provide a positive opinion on the room in question;

- Obviously your opinion is important to us and will be taken into consideration at the time in which we will carry out further renovation work to the hotel in January 2012;

- We will in fact soon publish on our website a list of work which will be carried out during the forthcoming year, much of which is a result of the comments provided on this forum. These new improvements will require a substantial investment which will be gladly undertaken in order to meet the expectations of our guests.

Kind regards,
Franco Caruso
General Manager
Hotel Barocco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,997)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,135 - 2,141 of 2,997 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2011

The room itself was nice. Large room and bath (bath is big enough for two). It's a bit of a walk to all the sites but that's reflected in the price. On the bad side, I had my one and only sweater stolen from our room while we were visiting the Vatican. I reported it the next morning at check out and they said management would contact us but they never did. We went through our credit card to resolve the issue. Other than that, the room was fine.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sadiren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francocaruso, Direttore generale at Barocco Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2011

Dear Guest,

In reply to your review I would like to state the following:

1. Piazza Barberini is in the very heart of Rome. All of the sites are in easy walking distance, so perhaps our prices reflect the fact that we are in the heart of Rome and not the contrary. Of course, the Vatican is on the other side of the river in respect to all the other sites and, though it is walkable, it is not as close as the Spanish Steps , Via del Corso, Condotti shopping area, Trevi Fountain, Pantheon, Piazza Navona and Campo dei Fiori which are an easy walking distance to the hotel. On the contrary if you stay by Vatican it is very convenient for visiting St. Peter's and the Vatican but then far from all the other sites!

2. I never received any feedback on a stolen sweater. We have checked our hand-over notes at the Reception for October 2010 and have nothing in writing in regards to this incident. We take these incidents very seriously and so it is unlikely that we would have nothing in writing for such an occurrence. In Italy when something has been stolen of a significant value you need to make a written report to the police. In the instance of an item of lesser value you need to make a written report to the hotel in which case the insurance, based on the facts surrounding the incident, may refund the item. Other than nobody remembering this incident, if you did not report the matter in writing, I can only conclude that you may have your doubts about perhaps misplacing your only sweater during your touring of the city. It is very serious to publicly report a hotel on this site using the word “stolen” when you do not have the certainty that this actually occurred. Why else would you treat such a matter so superficially, never contacting the hotel for an update, and remembering a year later that your only sweater was stolen and nobody ever contacted you?

Franco Caruso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We stayed at Hotel Barocco with extended family. We had a couple of family suites and a few regular rooms. Very nice "small" hotel. Walking distance to Spanish steps. Good breakfast.

Room Tip: Very nice family suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WorldTravelerInNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

My wife and I recently returned from a 'mini-moon' in Rome after getting married very recently. We both agreed that Hotel Barocco helped to make our short time in Rome on occasion we will never forget.

As our stay was part of our honeymoon, I informed the hotel of this before we before we arrived and we were greeted with complimentary champagne on arrival which was a nice touch which made us feel valued and welcome. Furthermore, the staff all spoke excellent English, were very well mannered and as helpful as they could be when called upon. Special mention should go to Danielle who was particularly helpful, managing to arrange dinner reservations, transport and the like.

Our suite was excellent and all that I'd hoped it would be having opted for the Junior Suite with terrace and 'love pool'. It really was perfect for a couple on honeymoon and I would highly recommend it to couples looking for somewhere romantic to stay whilst in Rome. The room was more than we needed with good en-suite facilities and held at a pleasant temperature by the air con. The real value of this suite though is the outside terrace. You could easily have held a party for 10-12 people due to size of the area and it provides a perfect viewpoint to look out onto the Piazza Barberini at the centre of which is the Fontana di Tritone (Fountain of Triton). Moreover, there was a set of table and 4 chairs (2 large armchairs and 2 standard) with a large parasol for shade which was great for just hanging out and enjoying the sounds of Rome.

I knew that the hotel was central but didn't realise quite how central! Situated on one side of the Piazza Barberini, we were literally a 15 minute walk from a lot of the main tourist sites (Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, the Pantheon etc) and a 7-8 minute underground ride away from the Vatican which we visited on our full day. Though we didn't get enough time to do the Colosseum, that was only a 10-15 min walk as well. Overall, the location was in our opinion second to none and was the ideal base from which to explore Rome.

All 3 elements outlined above, the staff, the room and the location were truly excellent and played a big part in making our stay in Rome so enjoyable and therefore one which we will remember for the rest of our lives.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Stayed at the hotel for a couple of nights, the room was spotless and very nicely decorated, luxurious bathroom, amazing super comfortable mattress. I asked for an internal facing room, it was so quiet you wouldn't know you were in Central Rome. Very helpful people at reception, especially Cristiano. Walking distance to many attractions. Wouldn't hesitate to come back, very recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RIUU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Stayed two nights and wished it was more. Hotel was great from the start. The front counter staff at check in where polite and helpful. We arrived early and we were accomodated. The room was clean and modern. Bed was comfirtable and a pleasure following some of the slabs we had slept in over the previous two weeks. We received a complimentary fruit basket, nice touch. Breakfast was great. Eggs made to order were a sign from the heavens. The other selections were first class. We did Rome on foot. The Hotel was within 5-10 minutes of the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain and the Corso (for the shopping) We made our way to the Piazza Venezia. The Colosseum was only 10 minutes from there.Walked to the Piazza Navona, only about 20-30 minutes through the streets. The Hotel is far enough from the centre to feel some relief, but close enough to enjoy ancient Rome walking. The windows openned to get the atmosphere of the street, but with the double glazing it was then very quiet. The bathroom was modern and clean. Would definately recommend the Hotel Barocco to everyone and would drefinately stay there again.

Room Tip: We had room 12 which was on the first floor and had view to Piazza Barberini from the opened window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank j9rollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Enjoyed our stay. We booked a basic room which was tiny even by European standards, so we upgraded to the next level (I think it was 25 euros more/night) and were much happier. Wifi access in our room was spotty, but I could easily do all I had to at breakfast. The breakfast was very good with eggs made to order. Staff was very helpful, and while you could walk to many sights, the easy-to-use subway was right there.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SouthJerseyTravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,269 in Rome
6,865 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,269 in Rome
4,281 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#37 of 1,269 in Rome
1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,269 in Rome
3,627 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#29 of 1,269 in Rome
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barocco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barocco Hotel

Address: Piazza Barberini 9 | Entrance: Via della Purificazione, 4, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Rome
#6 Family Hotel in Rome
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#8 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £143 - £308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barocco Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Bernini's Triton Fountain, the Barocco is a boutique hotel with just 37 rooms (and a staff of 22!) Located in an old aristocratic building in the heart of Baroque Rome. Carefully refurbished in 2010 and 2012 to offer guests superior standards of comfort and style, the Barocco has followed the example of leading international hotels, becoming 100% smoke-free.Attention to detail, absolute cleanliness, unique and highly sought-after rooms, an atmosphere from times past, and 21st-century technology, make guests' stay at the Barocco a warm Italian experience full of magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barocco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barocco Hotel Rome
Hotel Barocco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing