We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barocco Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Artemide(Rome)
US$386
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$322
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$648
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$437
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Diocleziano(Rome)
US$234
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$380
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Colosseum(Rome)
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$251
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$262
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$1,067
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$604
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,120)
Filter reviews
3,120 results
Traveller rating
2,433
583
82
20
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,433
583
82
20
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspiazza barberinitrevi fountainspanish stepshandwritten notebowl of fruitwithin walking distanceside streetthe hotel staffturn down servicewonderful hotelour honeymoonbreakfast was amazingdinner reservationsbottle of proseccopastriesmetro stoptaxi stand
Filter
Updating list...
2,222 - 2,227 of 3,120 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Barocco for 2 nights in June after coming in from Venice and Florence and prior to a cruise out of Rome. The location is excellent, being an easy walk to most major attractions (i.e., Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, Pantheon, Piazza Navona). We opted for an upgraded room and it was very nice, albeit much smaller than I had expected. The room was nicely renovated and appointed, had a really nice washroom and looked out directly over the statue in Piazza Bernini. The included breakfasts here have to be the best that we have ever experienced in our travels of Europe (very extensive buffet plus eggs cooked to order with bacon, etc.) - other places we have stayed have charged up to 30 euro's per person for similar breakfast menu's. With 2 suitcases at 24" plus two backpacks, we (meaning me) had to place one suitcase on top of the bar fridge (no other place for it) with the other one placed on the room luggage rack. As we were there for only 2 nights and would be having our clothes cleaned and pressed on the upcoming cruise ship, the amount of unpacking was minimal and so the room size was not detrimental to us as it might be for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Upgraded room lovely but tight
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Calgarymember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Stayed at Barocco for 5 nights and would not hesitate to return should we go through Rome once again. We booked the annex room which is located in a separate buildoing literally 8 seconds away from the main hotel. Room 50 was very spacious and comfortable. I have included a video review of the room so take a look.
Annex room 50 was WAY bigger than the regular rooms in the hotel. The price is actually lower than the rooms in the main building which makes the whole thing even better.
Hotel is a small boutique type hotel but with a touch for luxury. Service was very good throughout although there were a few odd situations regarding room service. FYI, since the annex rooms are in a separate building, local regulations prohibit the hotel staff from bringing alcohol as they would need to exit the main building and enter a "public space" where alcohol cannot be displayed. If you are staying there, just buy your own wine in one of the numerous shops on Via Veneto and you are set.

The breakfast at the main hotel was very adequate with a selection of fresh fruit, pastries, fresh juices and cheese. They also offer a menu from which you can select hot dishes. All this is included in the price of the room, including espresso, cappuccino and other coffees.

Location is great as you are within 7 minutes walk to the Spanish Steps, 10 minutes to the Trevi fountain and 30 seconds away from Via Veneto street where you will find the tourist traps and high end shops.

Walking from the hotel to some of the major sites like the Forums and Colosseum will take about 20 minutes. Everything is within reach.

Around the hotel are nice trendy bars and restaurants but most of the ones on Via Veneto will offer over priced food in a setting that has limited charm. The hotel did however recommend some restaurants about 5 minutes away that were of great quality.

So overall, I would recommend this hotel without hesitation. If you can grab room 50, I believe it's one of the best deals in Rome.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Patrice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Hotel Barocco was more then we could have asked for. Perfectly located in the heart of Rome, you can walk to every site except the Vatican. It is extremely close to the Trevi Fountain and the Spanish Steps. The people working the front desk were extremely nice and helpful. Free breakfast every morning, the breakfast was amazing. I definitely would go back there again.

The rooms were also very nice, we stayed in the Annex, the building next to the hotel. Couldn't have asked for anything better, thanks hotel Barocco.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We stayed at the Barocco from the 10th to 14th Aug 2011 in room 39. The hotel is in a fantastic location close to all the major sights. we had a beautiful room to sleep 2 adults and 2 children with very comfortable beds. As soon as we arrived at the hotel we felt very welcome and the service at checkin was great. Breakfast was lovely, with plenty of choice and our 8 year old son thought the scambled egg and bacon was the best thing in the world. We would just like to say a huge thankyou for making our trip to Rome a trip to remember and the bottle of bubbly in our room was very generous. We would definatley stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KEVIN T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

The hotel is exactly what we expected from the information on the web, and in fact even better than what we were hoping for! Very central, just round the corner from lots of interesting sites, on one of the main tube lines and close to many useful buses (although we visited most places on foot). The style is classic and elegant, but without feeling stuffy, and has all modern comforts. It is a relatively small hotel, with a pleasant atmosphere, in a stunning ancient building which has been lovingly renovated. The room was very well appointed, comfortable and perfectly clean. The management and service is very professional but has also a personal touch and caters for the specific needs of the guests. We got lots of good tips and suggestions from the friendly and knowledgeable reception staff about what to visit (not just the obvious tourist sites, but also some 'secret' corners in the historical centre) and where to find a bit more special shopping and dining. We were thoroughly impressed with the Barocco Hotel and we hope to be back! (Alex - London)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews