We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel close to the main attractions”
Review of Barocco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Barocco Hotel
Ranked #16 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
St Petersburg Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel close to the main attractions”
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Great hotel. Beautiful room, friendly staff and very hearty breakfast. Hotel is close walking distance to all the major Rome attractions except the Vatican, although we even walked that. The only downside was that our room faced the street and on Friday and Saturday night it can be very noisy. If you are a light sleeper request an interior room or one that faces Via Della Purificazione (the side street).

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,192
    545
    76
    20
    2
See reviews for
480
1,734
101
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holden Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

On a recent trip to Italy, this was our first hotel stay. We couldn't be happier. The hotel is centrally located to many attractions, it's clean, rooms are good size, staff is fantastic and the breakfast is the best. All of these points make it a solid value for the price. Highly recommended.
Kevin from Marlton, NJ

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be about the same so they are all good choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel after our Italy/Sicily bus tour. They welcomed us and we were able to leave our luggage there with the porter since it was too early to access our room. When we returned later, our luggage was in our beautiful room with a fruit basket to enjoy. The staff were very courteous, helpful, checked out some sightseeing info for us and made us feel very welcome. We were allowed to use their computer/printer to print out our airplane boarding passes when we sadly had to leave Rome. They would not take any gratuity for these extra services. Our 'included' breakfasts and 'made to order' hot portions were delicious. Internet was free. The location was excellent with great shopping, restaurants for dinner, taxi stands and 'hop and go' bus service for sightseeing . Many sights were within walking distance. Thank you Hotel Barocco for everything. We loved our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz09Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

In a perfect location for visiting Rome, the Hotel Barocco has old world charm combined with extremely modern conveniences. The staff were extremely warm , helpful, and attentive. Our room ( we were pleasantly surprised by an upgrade) was immaculate and the bed was extremely comfortable. Breakfast was beautifully presented and delicious.
This was our first stop on our trip to Italy, and we feel lucky to have found such a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAneBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Great location and access to attractions and an exceptional staff. Loved, loved the deluxe breakfast (I'm partial to a hot breakfast) and the extra suprise nightly gifts in our room made our honeymoon feel extra special. I also took advantage of the travel "library" at the front desk.

Room Tip: We had a great view. Our room overlooked the Triton Fountain Rm 24 - you could hear some street nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SophiaDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

we have travelled around Europe and Italy several times including staying previously at Albergo Del Senato and I must say I much prefer now Barocco. This is not to say that Albergo Del Senato is not nice and has an amazing location but I found Barocco having even better service and location while not in front of the Pantheon steps it was most central to everything all within walking distances, 10 minutes one direction or another, it was also in a quieter spot. I don't recall anyone from the front desk of Del Senato but from Barocco from our first arrival everyone took special attention in helping out, one in particular Danielle who not only tried multiple times to call or investigate times for mass at the near by church/convent but he literally walked over to Via Veneto to see if times were listed anywhere outside, yes, he literally walked over, that is what I call ultimate customer service! We recently stayed at the hotel first for 4 nights and then again for another night at the end of our trip and this was a great choice; rooms are large with special attention to detail including fine bed dings, fine bath products, fruit basket upon your arrival, personalized note on your departure with little treats, you name it. Lovely little bar area and reading room for an afternoon or early evening break, Raphael the bartender was friendly and helpful too. The breakfast offering was most comprehensive and very welcoming, everything fresh and variations every day, tons of bread offerings, cheeses, meats, sweets (several fresh cakes or pies that were mouth watering), fruits including fruit salads, cereals, yogurts, and menu to order made to order omelette or eggs depending on your likes, awesome espresso choices, juices, teas, and more......We will certainly look to return when we are again in Rome! THANK YOU Hotel Barocco.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TalKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

The Barocco Hotel exceeded my expectations! Our room was ready upon our early arrival and the staff meet us with smiles and quickly got us settled in the annexed room. I was a bit worried about being in the annexed portion of the hotel but there is no need to. It was incredibly nice, quiet, the A/C worked perfectly and we were greeted with bottled water and a fresh fruit basket. All the amenities were of the highest order...
We ate breakfast in the hotel, which is complimentary and was surprised by the large buffet and menu that you could order from. The food was delicious! We were served in a separate sitting area from the buffet and it was if we had our own private breakfast in an Italian villa served by an attentive staff with all the best from the food to the linens.
In the evening, we sat in their cozy bar area for a glass of wine. Again, the service was excellent, the choices of wine great and the bar tender was quite hospitable.
The staff also gave excellent recommendations of where to eat lunch and dinner. They were quick to map out any location for us to have the best route from the hotel. On the morning of our departure they arranged a driver to take us to the airport which was very reasonably priced and quite helpful at our 6 AM departure.
All in all, I would highly recommend this hotel and I look forward to staying there in the future!

Room Tip: Our room was # 50 in the annexed portion of the hotel and it was quiet and quite restful after a lon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kime465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,559 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,045 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,457 reviews
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barocco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barocco Hotel

Property: Barocco Hotel
Address: Piazza Barberini 9 | Entrance: Via della Purificazione, 4, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Rome
#6 Business Hotel in Rome
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#8 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barocco Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Bernini's Triton Fountain, the Barocco is a boutique hotel with just 37 rooms (and a staff of 22!) Located in an old aristocratic building in the heart of Baroque Rome. Carefully refurbished in 2010 and 2012 to offer guests superior standards of comfort and style, the Barocco has followed the example of leading international hotels, becoming 100% smoke-free.Attention to detail, absolute cleanliness, unique and highly sought-after rooms, an atmosphere from times past, and 21st-century technology, make guests' stay at the Barocco a warm Italian experience full of magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Barocco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barocco Hotel Rome
Hotel Barocco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing