We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why would you stay anywhere else in Rome?”
Review of Barocco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Barocco Hotel
Ranked #17 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We stayed at Hotel Barocco twice during an extended stay in Italy and wouldn’t hesitate to stay there again.

It was the location that first attracted us to this boutique hotel. It nestles just off Piazza Barbarini, a stones throw from the bustle of Via Veneto, 5 minutes walk from the Spanish Steps and ten minutes saunter from the Trevi Fountain.

On our first stay our room looked out over the piazza and the constant theatre of life that makes up this bustling place. We had arrived by car with our two small dogs and a mountain of luggage. We were tired, hot and my wife was in need of a doctor.

The lovely staff on the front desk sorted everything with style and efficiency. The luggage was whisked upstairs, the car was parked, we were checked in and a doctor was called. What a great welcome to Rome.

On our second visit about 2 months later we were remembered and as “regular clients” were upgraded to a room that had it’s own terrace and felt more like an apartment than a room.

A special mention goes to the young barman who we kept up late one night – time got away from us as we spent the night chatting – us of our travels and our home, and him of the goings on in Italy at the time. Between us I think we solved most of the world’s problems that night.

From memory the hotel is listed as 4 star. I would rate it higher because despite the high standard of service, the immaculate rooms and the excellent breakfast, there is a genuine friendliness from all the staff that is worth a star in its’ own right.

Room Tip: If you want to feel you are part of the bustle of Rome, a room overlooking the Piazza is for you.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Graememo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,965)
There are newer reviews for Barocco Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,669 - 1,675 of 2,965 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2013

Perfect place to stay. Friendly and VERY helpful staff. When we need smth we get assistance within minutes! Comfortable trasportation from and to the airport. Great location. Looking forward to stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andreyav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Where do i start, This hotel is perfect in every way. Arriving on thursday 28th February 2013 the reception staff were impeccable, nothing to much trouble. Room was very very clean, elegantly decorated and presented, as were all areas. Breakfast - very good and service excellent, well done to the staff.
Basically made our trip to Rome an experience to remember - Thank you Hotel Barocco
We will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Edward666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

The hotel is in a great location - literally one minute from Barberini station. We stayed in the annex, which I think are their cheapest rooms. Basically, the hotel has a block of apartments in a neighboring building that is otherwise owned by companies and individuals. You somewhat feel like you are living in a posh (if small) apartment in Rome. Our room was small, TV small too, bathroom was a good size. The decor was upscale. Not sure how the annex rooms compare to the main building rooms, but overall we were happy. Because they don't own the entire building, they can't control some things - like for example the apartment above us doing construction at 8am. That is a bit unfortunate. Also, it's a bit odd that they request you to return the room key to reception every time you leave - maybe this is just for the annex (these aren't typical plastic hotel keys, but actual metal keys on a giant keychain with tassels).There was a fruit basket in the room and flowers waiting when we arrived. On our last night, they gave us a handwritten farewell card and deserts. Hotel staff was very friendly. Breakfast was good for Europe, quite nice breakfast dining area. No fitness area or pool. I realize I have focused on some negatives, but other than the room being small, I have nothing really critical to say about this place. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Russianoligarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Perfect area to stay, very central to pretty all the major sights!
staff really friendly and made us feel at home.
i will definitely come back to stay here.
- make sure you have perfect change for taxis because sometimes dont give you change.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeanettCraze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Very helpful and friendly staff. Excellent breakfast with typical Italian offerings as well as made to order egg dishes. Extremely clean and quiet. Very good value for Rome. Very comfortable beds. Our room had marble floors and a very nice balcony looking out at Piazza Barberini.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We stayed here for the four nights we visited Rome and had no complaints about the hotel. It was located iin Piazza Barberini and a two minute walk to the train. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go, with the exception of the Vatican in which we took the subway. The rooms were the size you would expect in Rome, with nice furnishings, a comfy bed and very clean. The key for the room is big but you just leave it at the front desk each day so you dont have to worry about carrying it around and possibly losing it. The breakfast was one of the best we had while in Italy. Fresh egg dishes were made on request as well as coffee beverages. The rest of the buffet was ample, fresh and delicious. The hotel also arranged our transportation to the hotel and was quick to give good suggestions for places to eat. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsG1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,267 in Rome
6,805 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,267 in Rome
4,231 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,267 in Rome
1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#9 of 1,267 in Rome
3,598 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barocco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barocco Hotel

Address: Piazza Barberini 9 | Entrance: Via della Purificazione, 4, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Rome
#6 Business Hotel in Rome
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#8 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £144 - £324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barocco Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Bernini's Triton Fountain, the Barocco is a boutique hotel with just 37 rooms (and a staff of 22!) Located in an old aristocratic building in the heart of Baroque Rome. Carefully refurbished in 2010 and 2012 to offer guests superior standards of comfort and style, the Barocco has followed the example of leading international hotels, becoming 100% smoke-free.Attention to detail, absolute cleanliness, unique and highly sought-after rooms, an atmosphere from times past, and 21st-century technology, make guests' stay at the Barocco a warm Italian experience full of magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Barocco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barocco Hotel Rome
Hotel Barocco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing