We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Elegant Boutique Hotel”
Review of Barocco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Barocco Hotel
Ranked #17 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Elegant Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed 20 April 2013

My stay at Hotel Barocco was a wonderful experience. The staff were charming and friendly, spoke English and put up with my inadequate Italian as well. The old world-style hotel is made almost entirely of gleaming travertine marble, has a small but incredibly efficient very modern elevator, and a beautiful breakfast room which was included in the price of my room. The breakfast was bountiful, fresh and elegant, and I had beautiful omelettes along with a choice of cheeses, olives, breads, yogurt, fruit, juices and lots of other wonderful things.

My bed was wonderfully comfortable. My queen room and its beautiful travertine and very modern bathroom were spotless every single day, and any request I made of the desk or staff was instantly attended to. On the night before I checked out, I had beautiful pastries waiting for me and a lovely hand-written note of thanks from the manager.

The location of the hotel is very good as well - Piazza di Spagna is easily reached by walking up the street, and there is great shopping and food nearby. Palazzo Barberini is literally up the street in another direction and is a beautiful villa with a stunning art and sculpture collection, and boasts a ballroom with a magnificently frescoed ceiling. The fountain in the piazza was actually undergoing restoration while I was there due to the ongoing fountain restoration projects going on in Rome.

I would definitely stay at Hotel Barocco again and I completely recommend it to anyone who appreciates an elegant, discreet and beautiful hotel. Belissima.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,868 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,214
    555
    77
    20
    2
See reviews for
485
1,757
103
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Beautiful room and breakfast was amazing! We stayed at three different hotels on this trip and Hotel Barocco was the best. This is a great location to bounce around Rome on foot. Considerate staff that took great care of us. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonytig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

After a long flight we were greeted warmly and advised we had been upgraded to a suite
The private roof top balcony complete with a spa bath and garden was fabulous, and more surprising in the center of Rome. The room was very comfortable and the breakfast delicious.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ozfamily2008_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013 via mobile

Great location only improved upon by the excellent staff and service. Traditional look with very modern bathrooms and facilities. Try the nearby Elle restaurant for modern dressy Roman night life. Very high quality dried ham and parmesan for breakfast.

Helpful?
1 Thank CTHASTINGS
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

This hotel was recommended to me by a work colleague.

I arrived at the hotel and was given a room next to the elevator, so I asked for a different one as I could hear the beeps and noises... so due to be such a busy hotel they only had a twin bed room available, which was just perfect. The hotel as such is small, if you're looking for spacious rooms and corridors, you are not in the right hotel...
I found my room extremely comfortable, the location is perfect for business or city break, is in the city center, right by the Metro, which allows you to get every where very fast and effortless.
The breakfast buffet was a bit short for my taste, but hey there was quite enough to satisfy anyone, and you could also order omelets and coffee of course.. they are very serious about their coffee.
It was a pity that the fountain was under renovation, otherwise I would have being able to see it from my window. The windows in the rooms are noise proof, but it's inevitable to block every car noise...at the end of the day you are in the city center of one of the busiest cities in Europe... so have to live with it !
There are restaurants everywhere walking distance...
Again the staff was very helpful, they organized for me a private car to take me to the airport for a lower fee and much better service than a regular taxi.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone, and I will come back.

Room Tip: any room, except the one by the elevator of course...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FranGalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mass
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

From the moment I made my reservation until the time I checked out everything was perfect. We had a superior room..number 42..with a kingsize bed... Yes in Europe. Quiet and elegnant at affordable rates. The location was perfect and the buffet breakfast was simply wonderful. I only wish I had plans to experiene Hotel Barocco again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gj9441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a keeper. Will make it my "go to" place whenever I'm fortunate enough to be back in Rome.

Location, excellent. Just off Via Veneto, two minute walk to Barberini metro station. Staff is friendly, eager to be of assistance. Rooms are clean, comfortable and well appointed. Leave your robe and slippers home, they are provided as is free WIFI. Breakfast gives wide range of choice- all fresh and beautifully presented.

Happy I found Barocco.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbaraE5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
6,624 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,257 in Rome
4,102 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#11 of 1,257 in Rome
3,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#34 of 1,257 in Rome
1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barocco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barocco Hotel

Property: Barocco Hotel
Address: Piazza Barberini 9 | Entrance: Via della Purificazione, 4, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Rome
#6 Family Hotel in Rome
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#8 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barocco Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Bernini's Triton Fountain, the Barocco is a boutique hotel with just 37 rooms (and a staff of 22!) Located in an old aristocratic building in the heart of Baroque Rome. Carefully refurbished in 2010 and 2012 to offer guests superior standards of comfort and style, the Barocco has followed the example of leading international hotels, becoming 100% smoke-free.Attention to detail, absolute cleanliness, unique and highly sought-after rooms, an atmosphere from times past, and 21st-century technology, make guests' stay at the Barocco a warm Italian experience full of magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Barocco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barocco Hotel Rome
Hotel Barocco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing