We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Staff, Great Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barocco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Barocco Hotel
Ranked #16 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Staff, Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

The true strength of this hotel are the people that work there. From our friend Raphael the bartender to everybody on the front desk. Reservations no problem, suggestions no problems, need change...no problem. Warm friendly and always with a smile. The room we had was typical in size very clean and well appointed. The bed very comfortable. The location is excellent in the heart of everything you want to see. One drawback of the location we found was if you want to be in the middle of everything it can get a little noisy with hustle and bustle of the street below. A minor detail though. This hotel is worthwhile.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,758 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,124
    538
    74
    20
    2
See reviews for
468
1,687
96
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (522)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roskilde, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

We stayed at the Barocco Hotel in May 2013 and it was an excellent stay. It's a cosy and very welcoming boutique hotel. The staff are so friendly and helpful, suggested some really nice real Italien restaurants, and really managed to make us feel special. Breakfast was very good and you could choose almost anything you wanted. Again very cosy as breakfast was served in several small rooms, very charming.
We had the suite with the private terrace and pool and we loved it. The terrace was filled with plants and flowers and it was almost like being in heaven when returning from a full day of site seeing just putting your feet up, have a glas of wine and enjoy the sun. Very clean and big bathroom, and the beds were very good.
Overall excellent and we'll be back for sure..
Greetings from Roskilde, Denmark.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mira H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

From the moment we stepped through the doors we were in heaven. The staff are so welcoming and helpful, the recommendation for lunch on our first day was excellent and only 5 minutes easy stroll away. We were given a map of the city and explanations of where things were. Offers were also made to book trips or restaurants. We preferred to do our own thing.
We were on the 6th floor in room 62, with windows overlooking both the piazza and the side street as requested. Unfortunately for us the Barberini fountain is undergoing restoration at present. There was a plate of fresh fruit waiting for us in the room.
The bed was amazing, probably the most comfortable we have ever slept in, (including our own, which is hard to beat) and after a tiring day walking around the sights that becomes extremely important. Linen was changed daily.
The bathroom was spotless and the hi tech shower excellent, I have taken photos so I can have one installed at home!
Breakfast was included, a good selection of quality produce and a choice of eggs which were cooked to order.
On my husband's birthday the waitress brought a cappuccino with 'Happy Birthday' written in the foam. Also a bottle of Prosecco on ice was waiting with a card from the Manager, in our room.
On our last day we had a small dish of sweets with a card thanking us for our visit.
Everything about this hotel is wonderful, I have no hesitation in recommending it most highly.

Room Tip: A high floor overlooking the piazza
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Slimfastlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecksville, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

We enjoyed our three night stay at the Barocco Hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. When we arrived, it was 8:30 a.m. Rome time (2:30 a.m. our body time) and needless to say we were very tired from travelling. The hotel had arranged a driver for us from the airport. It was so nice to land, get our luggage and have someone waiting for us. Since our room wasn't ready (which we didn't expect since it was so early) we were escorted to a small lounge where we were brought coffee and pastries and a chance to rest. The staff then stored our luggage for us so we could begin to see Rome. Our room was a bit small and there wasn't much room for clothes storage, but we made it work. The bathroom was lovely. The breakfasts were "amazing" and the staff was very helpful in giving directions and suggestions for dinner. We had some difficulty in making train reservations to Florence and they spent a lot of time to help us make the reservations with their computer. They made reservations for us for dinner one evening at a nearby restaurant, but we had to wait about a half hour. Since we were all ready to go, they suggested we have a drink in their bar on them while we waited. We went to the small bar and enjoyed the prosecco and conversation from the bartender who was from Sicily.

Room Tip: You might want to check on the size of room and dresser availability.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 140Judy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Exceptionally helpful staff made our recent stay at Barocco Hotel extra special. Our room was spacious and very clean with a wonderfully comfortable bed - welcome after a long day of site-seeing. The breakfast was delicious and unlike may hotels with breakfast included, you could order eggs made to your own liking at no additional cost. A great location within walking distance to many great restaurants and the Rome sites. This small and charming hotel is run with great care and we felt like special guests - thank you!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

We utilized Hotel Barocco's Cruise Package and everything worked fine from the welcoming drinks at the lounge that night, the bus tour, bowls of fruit in each room, etc. The arrangements on transfers from/to the airport and from/to the cruise port (half included in the packages) went great. Our drivers were punctual and professional and the vans were very accommodating for our party of five. But in particular was the friendliness of the entire staff at the Hotel. Their assistance in helping with directions, taxis, restaurant recommendations and bookings were all greatly appreciated and made our stay in Rome a very memorable one.

Jake
New Orleans, Louisiana

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank jake130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

We stayed in the hotel apartment building in a charming modern room with old world touches. Fruit and individual Gerbera daisies on arrival. Large marble modern bathroom. Comfortable king bed with fine quality white linens. Free wifi in bedroom and lobby. Very welcoming staff and excellent service. The feel of a small hotel but amenities of a modern large one. Facing courtyard and side street. Very quiet. Excellent location off piazza Barberini and five minutes from the top of the Spanish Steps.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hondjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,356 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,931 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonna
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,384 reviews
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barocco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barocco Hotel

Property: Barocco Hotel
Address: Piazza Barberini 9 | Entrance: Via della Purificazione, 4, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Rome
#6 Business Hotel in Rome
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#8 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barocco Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Bernini's Triton Fountain, the Barocco is a boutique hotel with just 37 rooms (and a staff of 22!) Located in an old aristocratic building in the heart of Baroque Rome. Carefully refurbished in 2010 and 2012 to offer guests superior standards of comfort and style, the Barocco has followed the example of leading international hotels, becoming 100% smoke-free.Attention to detail, absolute cleanliness, unique and highly sought-after rooms, an atmosphere from times past, and 21st-century technology, make guests' stay at the Barocco a warm Italian experience full of magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Barocco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barocco Hotel Rome
Hotel Barocco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing