We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior hotel”
Review of Barocco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Barocco Hotel
Ranked #16 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
175 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Superior hotel”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

My wife and I have stayed here the last two times we were in Rome and enjoyed everything about the Barocco. The location is unmatched for convenience, access, and comfort. It is a European hotel, which appeals to us, not a large American style hotel. The included breakfast is a great start to the day. We recommend to all our friends and travel agent.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,862 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,209
    554
    77
    20
    2
See reviews for
482
1,754
103
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Great location. Piazza Barberini and Bernini's Triton Fountain - except Rome is repairing the fountain and you can't see it. We had a deluxe room facing the piazza - very large room and bath. Front desk very helpful in making our dinner reservations. Close to Metro stop, although metro in Rome is very limited with only 2 lines. Breakfast was great; lots of selections, fresh fruit and eggs made to order..

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewOrleansBenmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Hotel Barocco was our last stop in our honeymoon trip and even that it was for 1 night only, since the check in everything was an amazing experience. Our room was excellent appointed with a great welcome from the staff which personally took us to the room and shown us everything.

The other point to be noted that for TV lovers is that this was the only hotel in our stay (even knowing that all other were 5 stars) that had Sky installed in the TV which means that we could watch all channels from overseas in English.

The breakfast and hotel conditions were excellent with just one opinion that taking in consideration the room we stayed which had a bath but the shower was very small which is the only consideration I would have.

On the next day when we requested a late check out Cristiano had helped us putting us in another room as ours were booked and this shown the cordiality of the hotel.

Thanks Barocco!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rmalago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Stayed here 3 nights on our honeymoon. Clean, boutique hotel, with great service. Very convenient to Spanish Steps, Villa Borghese, Via Condotti, Trevi Fountain, and Piazza Navona. Easy access to Metro line.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McCall18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights last weekend. It is conveniently located next to the Barberini metro station on the red line. This means you can get to the Vatican in 10 minutes, the Colosseum in 6 and so on. The metro itself felt very safe and was full of tourists and business people. This saves your feet a starting walk in the morning that your feet will thank you for later! The hotel will sell you tickets if you want to avoid the machines. The beautiful fountain in front of the hotel is boarded up in order to renovate it, but there are so many fountains in Rome that the disappointment only lasted a moment. The hotel Barocco was the right choice for us. We weren't in Rome for long and needed a base that let us make the most of it. We staggered home from the nearby Trestevere good restaurant area each night and were surprised that the streets were as full at midnight as at midday! We stayed in room 24 which faces the fountain and is pictured on the website with a four poster bed. It felt quite fancy and the bathroom was luxurious. The mini bar hummed a bit but wasn't a problem and we heard no road noise. The breakfasts were excellent and don't hesitate to ask for an omelet, they make it immediately and they taste wonderful. All of the staff go out of their way to please and are genuinely nice. Don't forget: to get into the Vatican knees and shoulders have to be covered, and don't wear shoes with heels in Rome. The spaces between the cobblestones are really big.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holiday39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We LOVED this boutique hotel!!!!!!

Service was EXCELLENT!! Front desk was EXTREMELY helpful and friendly (especially Fabio). Thank you Fabio for all your help! It was also nice that they all spoke English so well. New person in training (forgot her name) was also VERY helpful and sweet!!

Breakfast was delicious!! You had sooo many choices in the buffet AS WELL AS offering a FULL hot breakfast. Could not have asked for more here either.

ROOMS: Were beautiful!!!!!! Unbelievable marble everywhere! However, the ONLY short coming was: There wasn't a dresser of any sort to put our clothes in. You did have the beautiful armour to hang items, but to be able to put maybe some items in a dresser would make more convenient for us to find items rather than having to keep them in our suitcases. Maybe instead of the desk, it would good to put a small dresser of some sort. Also, the bath could possibly use some glass shelves to be able to put out our toiletries.

Daily maid service was also impeccable!! Wonderful job!

Loved the fresh fruit upon arrival and the chocolate gift package!!! AND, the delicious cookies each night! AND the robes that were so beautifully folded on the pillows with a gerber daisy tucked in. It made us feel VERY special.

Would I recommend you hotel and stay here again? DEFINITELY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! By the way, the location was also VERY convenient to many 'attractions', shopping and dining!!

We got the transportation package ~ pick up from cruise ship and then return to airport. VERY efficient and highly recommend. (Nice Mercedes sedan for the cruise pick up.)

Thank you sooo much for adding such a wonderful experience on our 'Trip of a Lifetime"!!!

You have helped us make wonderful and happy memories!

Room Tip: We had room 33. You could look out to the side and see the piazza. It was a little noisy, but the wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polly4449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

The check in staff was courteous and helpful. The room was clean and spacious. Fruit and water awaited us in the room. Gerbra Daisies on the bed. Candied nuts, cookies and a hand written thank you note were left at turn down on our last night. Excellent service.

Breakfast was terrific. Raphael, our bartender, was fabulous.

Location was great. Easy to walk to Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain and Pantheon.We even walked to the roman forum.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,256 in Rome
6,617 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,256 in Rome
4,094 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#11 of 1,256 in Rome
3,487 reviews
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#34 of 1,256 in Rome
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barocco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barocco Hotel

Property: Barocco Hotel
Address: Piazza Barberini 9 | Entrance: Via della Purificazione, 4, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Rome
#6 Business Hotel in Rome
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#8 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barocco Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Bernini's Triton Fountain, the Barocco is a boutique hotel with just 37 rooms (and a staff of 22!) Located in an old aristocratic building in the heart of Baroque Rome. Carefully refurbished in 2010 and 2012 to offer guests superior standards of comfort and style, the Barocco has followed the example of leading international hotels, becoming 100% smoke-free.Attention to detail, absolute cleanliness, unique and highly sought-after rooms, an atmosphere from times past, and 21st-century technology, make guests' stay at the Barocco a warm Italian experience full of magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Barocco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barocco Hotel Rome
Hotel Barocco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing