We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location and the Quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Barocco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Barocco Hotel
Ranked #17 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
280 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Location and the Quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

The hotel is perfectly located next to Piazza Barberini where you can get to the subway or get a taxi. It's within walking distance from many historic sites such as Spanish Steps, Fountain Trevi, etc. The room that we had was spacious with all the amenities that you expect from this type of hotel including slippers and bath robes. The staff is very accomodating, and helpful in many ways. The windows in the room are of a very good quality because when they are closed, you don't hear any noise coming from the piazza; try opening them, and you will see for yourself what a great noise-canceling job they are doing. The hotel provides free wi-fi, and it was working fine in the lobby and in our room.
The breakfast buffet was excellent, probably the best one among all the hotels we stayed in during our trip. They have great selections of meat, cheese, fruits (ripe and delicious), veggies, fresh juices, sweets, etc. You can also ask them to make you eggs any style, or anything else that they have in the menu (you don't pay extra for this). The cappuccino they make for you is of a very good quality so definitely get it in the morning. if you're not into cappuccino or coffee, then they have variety of tea bags you can pick from.
If you're looking for a great place to have lunch or dinner, I highly recommend visiting Osteria Barberini, which is a block away from the entrance to the hotel (when you exit the hotel, turn left and go uphill). At the hotel they always recommend 2 places: Trattoria Tritoni and Crispi19. Avoid "Crispi 19" at all cost.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vkramaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francocaruso, General Manager at Barocco Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Since this is the second review posted which mentions the restaurants our concierge suggests, I would like to clarify what I have already stated in a previous post on this subject matter. The concierge has a list of approximately 20 restaurants which have been selected throughout the city based on the type of menu, location, style and on the guest’s budget. For those who require a restaurant in proximity to the hotel, we generally suggest 3-4 restaurants which are constantly monitored thanks also to the comments of our guests. On the basis of a negative review on one of the restaurants you mention, we conducted a check on this restaurant directly through our guests. They acted as inspectors on our behalf and we are awaiting for their comments to be published. We will do the same for the restaurant which you say should be avoided in order to ascertain whether it should be taken off our restaurant list. Despite the fact that we are not directly involved in providing this service, we still feel obliged to offer a good suggestion and it is for this reason that we take these comments very seriously.

Kind regards,
Franco Caruso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,159
    542
    76
    20
    2
See reviews for
473
1,710
100
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

Excellent location, classic look, friendly and may be too helpful staff... a bit weird even the person that showed me the room.. was a bit extreme detail.. To the point of weirdness. Breakfast buffet was a bit small but with great selections, no complaints... the only regrets is that the statue in the square was under renovations and could not be seen... bed comfortable, noise levels acceptable. They arranged a car service to the airport for me top class.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FranGalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francocaruso, General Manager at Barocco Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to place a review on our hotel. Though we are grateful for your many positive comments we were a bit perplexed about certain comments you posted. If attention to detail, friendliness and professional service are synonymous of “weird” then I hope were are voted “The Weirdest Hotel in Rome”. I say this with a smile! We really do try hard and, in the long-run, it is all for the benefit of our guests. Please do come and visit us again.

Kind regards,

Franco Caruso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vandalia, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

The front desk was very helpful when responding to my request to change the room type for the second night along with a complimentary upgrade. Room cleanliness was exceptional coupled with a superior location.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpawoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

After a little bit of worldwind travelling at the start of our holiday, Rome was the first destination where we spent more than an overnight stop - in fact, we spent 4 days in Rome - and those 4 days were spent at the Barocco Hotel in downtown Rome. A great hotel, with friendly people from those greeting us and helping us in the foyer to those making out mornings very pleasant at the breakfasts each morning. And the room service was excellent.

The room we had was very attractive with a wonderful and comfortable 4 poster bed; the view to the main square below was great (although as others have mentioned the fountain was under repair), the temperature in the room ideal, and what a great bathroom - especially the shower.

The recommendation made regarding restaurants was very helpful and one of the nicest restaurants we attended was a recommendation made by the hotel. All the restaurants they recommended were close to the hotel and within reasonable walking distance.

A lovely downtown hotel that we would recommend to folks wanting to stay in the downtown core area and be a reasonable walking distance and/or cab ride to the various sites and locations that are so numerous in this very, very busy city.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Herb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in May for our honeymoon. The location is perfect, close to the metro line (which we used to get to and from the train station, as well as the Vatican) and within walking distance of all major attractions. The concierge (esp. Fabio!) were very helpful and had great suggestions regarding activities. They made our booking at the Vatican and saved us hours of time in terms of queues. Our room was beautiful and had a balcony and view overlooking Piazza Barberini. Breakfast was great! My only minor complaints regarding this hotel are the odd smell in the lobby and the cost of the laundry service (8 euros for 1 t-shirt!)... otherwise we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would definitely return again

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
164 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

My wife and I have stayed here the last two times we were in Rome and enjoyed everything about the Barocco. The location is unmatched for convenience, access, and comfort. It is a European hotel, which appeals to us, not a large American style hotel. The included breakfast is a great start to the day. We recommend to all our friends and travel agent.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Great location. Piazza Barberini and Bernini's Triton Fountain - except Rome is repairing the fountain and you can't see it. We had a deluxe room facing the piazza - very large room and bath. Front desk very helpful in making our dinner reservations. Close to Metro stop, although metro in Rome is very limited with only 2 lines. Breakfast was great; lots of selections, fresh fruit and eggs made to order..

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewOrleansBenmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,455 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#23 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,975 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,419 reviews
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barocco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barocco Hotel

Property: Barocco Hotel
Address: Piazza Barberini 9 | Entrance: Via della Purificazione, 4, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Rome
#6 Business Hotel in Rome
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#8 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barocco Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Bernini's Triton Fountain, the Barocco is a boutique hotel with just 37 rooms (and a staff of 22!) Located in an old aristocratic building in the heart of Baroque Rome. Carefully refurbished in 2010 and 2012 to offer guests superior standards of comfort and style, the Barocco has followed the example of leading international hotels, becoming 100% smoke-free.Attention to detail, absolute cleanliness, unique and highly sought-after rooms, an atmosphere from times past, and 21st-century technology, make guests' stay at the Barocco a warm Italian experience full of magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barocco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barocco Hotel Rome
Hotel Barocco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing