We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I'll Be Back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Barocco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Barocco Hotel
Ranked #18 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“I'll Be Back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

My husband, teenage son and I just returned from a 5-night stay.

Staff - What continues to stand out in my mind is the amazing staff - they were pleasant, courteous, helpful, quick to smile, and always professional. Thank you!!

Room - We stayed in a junior suite overlooking Piazza Barberini, which was clean, nicely appointed and very comfortable. The beds were also very comfortable. Our room was on a low floor overlooking the busy piazza, which made opening the window at night problematic. Fortunately, we always travel with ear plugs. The double windows when closed though did an amazing job in filtering out the noise.

Location - The hotel is centrally located, and within walking distance to many major sights. There is a Metro station and Taxi stand about a 1 minute walk away. The Metro system was easy enough to use (We purchased a Roma Pass online.). There are many eateries nearby, a lot of them filled with tourists, but understandable since we were there during the holidays.

Breakfast - I could not believe the variety that was offered to us each morning. In addition to 3-4 cereals, 4 yogurt flavors, 3-4 types of pastries, fresh baked loaf of bread, 6 jams, 5-6 types of rolls, fresh and canned fruits, 3-4 types of salami, 3 types of cheese, grilled eggplant, artichokes, 3 juices, you can get made-to-order eggs! Again the staff was amazing!

General - While this hotel is small (boutique hotel), it is very comfortable and cozy. There is no lobby or fitness room. We didn't need a fitness room in Rome, because we knew we would do a lot walking. One evening we sat in the bar room, which was very nice. The fruit basket, fresh flowers, bottled water upon arrival, complimentary drink at the bar, along with the evening turn-down service were thoughtful touches.

Restaurants - Tullio was close to the hotel and on the expensive side, but the food was delicious, especially the grilled steak and fish. We did "take away" one evening at Pizzeria Marco, also close to the hotel. The pasta and bread were really good, and the pizza was ok. I really wanted to try Colline Emiliane, but they were closed for the holidays. Our favorite restaurant turned out to be Edy, which is about a 7-minute walk past the Spanish Steps. Order their Tortellini in Brodo, which they're known for. Also, they have a selection of roasted meats (beef, suckling pig, lamb), which are served with roasted potatoes - yum!

I would definitely stay at this hotel again, as it met all of my requirements to have an overall great vacation. The crowds in and around the sights due to the holidays were outside of my comfort zone, however, so I will make a point to return at an off-peak time.

Thank you Barocco Hotel for your services and hospitality!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank bcm64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,161
    542
    76
    20
    2
See reviews for
473
1,711
100
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rehovot, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

A three nights at this wonderful hotel were great
the staff was very welcoming nice and knowledgeable
the rooms are very clean and our room was even cleaned twice a day
a very recommended hotel located right at the center of Rome every thing is within walking distance

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ilan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a few days and then the St. Regis after that. The room at the St. Regis was larger. But other than that we like everything about this hotel more. The service was fantastic and really took care of us and was very warm. The room had all the amenities we needed like robes and slippers and high-quality body wash and shampoo. The free breakfast had a nice omelette selection made fresh and the cappuccino was fantastic. The location could not be any better. In a very private place yet very close to all the major sites for walking and also a nice short walk to a nearby subway. All in all this hotel exceeded my expectations.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Srs144a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
135 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Our 4 night stay at this small boutique Hotel was, from beginning to end, a terrific experience. It is rated a 4 star hotel (perhaps because it has a very small lobby, and not quite the amenities of a 5 star hotel), but in all respects, it acted like a 5 star hotel.

Where to begin- the room, although a bit small, was very nicely appointed and well organized, the bathroom was elegant and spacious, the bed was very comfortable, and there were always small extras that made each return to it, special- a fruit basket upon arrival, bed turn downs, and a small dish of pastries with a good bye note for our last night. And everything was super clean, too.

The staff- exceptional- 6 star, from beginning to end- from desk staff to breakfast staff to everyone else- always friendly, always helpful and always going the extra mile. For example- at our last breakfast, when my wife ordered cappuccino, they delivered it with a heart and smiley face made of foam, on it- a small gesture but the sort of extra effort that makes a meal memorable.

The breakfast buffet- my wife and I are regular travelers around the world for 30 years and simply put, the Hotel's breakfast experience was literally the best we've ever had- and it was included in our price. The buffet was very wide ranging, and you also got to order egg dishes (including omelet choices) and coffee variations from a menu, as part of the buffet. The breakfast space was was very welcoming, the wait staff so friendly, and the place settings on the tables, elegant and beautiful- what a great way to start every day.

Location- excellent- near the Trevi Fountain and Spanish Steps, and the Metro. And by the way, they offered (and did for us) arrange a taxi to pick us up at the airport, to bring us to the hotel, too.

In case you think I am going too overboard, to be fair, let me state 3 small criticisms- in part because of its location, some of the rooms might be a bit noisy (ours was not though), there is only 1 elevator, and when crowded, this might create some log jams, and because of the room size, there was no small couch or chair to sit and read (so I used our very spacious and comfortable bed to do so). That's it though.

Would we go back- 100% yes, with great enthusiasm! We went off season (right before Christmas) so I do not know if anything would be different at peak times, but from reading other reviews, I believe not.

Thank you Hotel Barocco.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the front entrance (like ours)- probably quieter than those facing the piazza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CurtM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

My girlfriend & I came to Rome for a marriage proposal vacation and chose hotel Barocco after a long consideration.

The stay was absolutely wonderful. The staff was amazing, helped us with anything - from choosing a restaurant to leave surprises in our room for the special event.

the hotel location is great, and the room itself was much more than we expected.
the beds were comfort, even the bath was enjoyable.

I recommend staying at Hotel Barocco for everyone who come to Rome, no doubt.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lior2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

I went to the hotel because my uncle was visiting Rome and he wanted me to visit him and my aunt. So I only stayed one night with my chihuahua. All I can say is I loved it. The staff was very nice when I arrived with my chihuahua and even offered to surprise my aunt and uncle of my arrival, which I ruined because I already told them I was there. My room was charming and cozy. I stayed in the single bed room and loved it, I wish I could have stayed more. Other thing I absolutely loved was my mini panettone and a plate of fruits they left with a greeting card from the managers of the hotel saying marry Christmas! What a detail! Also, the robe and the sleepers were great, I just loved everything about it.

The bathroom was so clean and beautiful.. I strongly recommend this hotel... Amazing hotel.


Congratulations to the staff for their job!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jade P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

This is a very nice small hotel in a perfect location to visit Rome. The subway station is just next door. The people at the hotel are extremely friendly and very helpful. Breakfast is very good in a nice dinning room.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bifrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,460 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#23 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,979 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,419 reviews
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barocco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barocco Hotel

Property: Barocco Hotel
Address: Piazza Barberini 9 | Entrance: Via della Purificazione, 4, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Rome
#6 Family Hotel in Rome
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#9 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barocco Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Bernini's Triton Fountain, the Barocco is a boutique hotel with just 37 rooms (and a staff of 22!) Located in an old aristocratic building in the heart of Baroque Rome. Carefully refurbished in 2010 and 2012 to offer guests superior standards of comfort and style, the Barocco has followed the example of leading international hotels, becoming 100% smoke-free.Attention to detail, absolute cleanliness, unique and highly sought-after rooms, an atmosphere from times past, and 21st-century technology, make guests' stay at the Barocco a warm Italian experience full of magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barocco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barocco Hotel Rome
Hotel Barocco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing